We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind owner, nice rooms”
Review of Villa Somphong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Somphong
Ranked #21 of 267 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for four nights, and loved every minute of it. It is about a ten minute walk from the "downtown" area, but is located on the riverside. The owner is very friendly, speaks good
English, and has lots of tips and recommendations of things to do, places to go, and how to beat the crowds The breakfast was really good, too. We had banana pancakes and fresh fruit every morning. The rooms were clean and bright, and we got the rooms with a patio, so had a little table and chairs outside of the room to sit and play card games or just hang out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Villa Somphong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

After a week at the Villa Somphong, I can recommend the hotel very highly. My room was spacious and very clean. Same for the bathroom. The outdoor breakfast by the river was one of the highlights of the stay. The location is convenient, just a short walk to the center of town and to the night market, and also even closer to a wonderful French bakery. Management is very friendly and helpful. A great place for a visit to a marvelous city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piccadilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stay in March 2013 , nice manner staff , guest house over look Namkhan river I reckond on the best road in Luang Prabang , close to everything ....
Breakfast was basic Laos bread and coffee is the best ...Money exchange and arrange tour at the office , other restautant close by , have fun to eat once at night market for 10000 kip all you can eat .
Morning walk from there to That Phusi , Wat xiengthong , National Museum ...
A getaway for busy people from city daily life to enjoy nice and quite life in Luangprabang..
Wifi was update to stronger connection on our last day trip ...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gumtree_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I have been to Vientienne before and it is a good place to visit. Now that I have been to Luang Prabang, I must recommend that you put it on your bucket list of places to visit. I am so glad that UNESCO put it on their list of heritage sites back i1995. We found Villa Somphong on an Internet search and it has turned out to be a very good place to stay for a small price. It is very clean, the staff, much like most of the locals, are all very nice and friendly, and it is on the Nam Khan river which flows into the Mekong. Breakfast is included in the price and it is a cooked to order. We used the staff to book motorbike rentals and other excursions and it went on without a hitch. We are here for four nights but I feel it should be longer. The only down point was the size of the room. Since the price was so reasonable, I will still give it four stars!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwb6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Villa Somphong is a fantastic option for an affordable guesthouse in pricey Old City of Luang Prabang. Good rooms. Location close enough to everything but not to close! The owner is wonderfully friendly and helpful (excellent travel agent also). Breakfast is very good, and served on a lovely patio across the road overlooking the Nam Khan river. And the best wifi I have had in Laos.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

As others have mentioned the staff is great - good source of information and willing to help with anything, whether or not it's directly related to the guesthouse.

We stayed on the groundfloor for one night and the upper floor for 5 (even extended our stay by a day). I would recommend paying the extra $5 for the deluxe upper floor since the rooms get much more light and it's a bit off the (not very busy) street. From the balcony (not private) outside the rooms on the upper floor you can sit at your table and watch the river - you can even buy a cold Beerlao from the store downstairs.

Breakfast was included, but pretty mediocre. We ended up going to local cafes after a couple days for something different.

Airccon worked great and the location is awesome - close enough to walk to everything, but still quiet. It's great to be able to escape to your room in the afternoon when it's very hot out. The rooms were very clean - if you give your key to the staff when you head out in the morning the room will be cleaned when you return.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights....
Great little hotel on the banks of the river. Breakfast is actually served outside next to the river which was great :)
Staff very helpful and can book any travel/trips direct with them at competitive rates.
Would stay here again.......easy to get to any central place

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.5 mi away
Namkhan Riverside
Namkhan Riverside
#17 of 267 in Luang Prabang
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 267 in Luang Prabang
646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 267 in Luang Prabang
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa
Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa
#12 of 267 in Luang Prabang
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaluenxay Villa
Chaluenxay Villa
#10 of 267 in Luang Prabang
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 267 in Luang Prabang
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Somphong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Somphong

Address: Soukkaseum Road | Ban Khili, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £19 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Somphong 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Somphong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing