We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location, beautiful view at breakfast”
Review of Villa Somphong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Somphong
Ranked #21 of 266 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel is priced right for quality. Rooms are basic but comfortable. On a quiet street off the bustle yet close to the main temples, museum, and on the river.
The staff is very helpful with trip planning and taxis.
Breakfast is good and has some nice options.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Emmy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Villa Somphong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Luang Prabang has changed a lot since my last visit in 2008: Lots of luxury resorts, villas and gourmet restaurants have sprung up like mushrooms - to the extent that the UNESCO at one point thought about cancelling Luang Prabang from its list.
Villa Somphong's location is what you pay for, because it is a three-minute walk from famous Wat Xieng Thong and right by the peacefully flowing Nam Khan river. And away from the hustle and bustle of night bars and clubs around Phousi (mountain).
We paid $ 45 for a simple double room even though the website states $ 38. And we were slightly disappointed by the room. There's not enough space to put your belongings and our bathroom/shower didn't have a curtain, so everything wet all the time.
The room size is not much more than 10 or 11 square metres, excluding the bathroom. And one window couldn't open because the bed obstructed it, the other one faced the common balcony that you share with three other rooms.
The breakfast is being served right by the river outside, nice place. But in the mornings still very cold. So take a jacket.
The manager Noy is a super-friendly young mother who will in her travel agency arrange any trip you want to make.
The place is just a perfect location and good for light sleepers.
But $ 45 is a little bit too much.
The bicycles (20.000 kip per day) you can rent from a little shop downstairs. Good quality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobst56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Villa Somphong for two nights during our visit to Luang Prabang. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us. On the day of check out I became very ill and the staff offered to let me stay in the room until my flight, which was several hours after check out since they were not full that night.

They also arranged a half day trip to ride elephants and see the caves. The elephant ride was one of the highlights from our South East Asia vacation. They also have the ability to change money to the local currency which saved us another stop.

Breakfast is across the street from the hotel on a patio over looking the river. It is mostly western foods (eggs and pancakes) but the setting is perfect.

As mentioned, it is a no frills hotel. The shower is part of the bathroom just separated by a curtain but the water is hot so we didn't mind. The walls seem a bit thin and you can hear people coming and going but it never bothered us much.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed having breakfast outside overlooking Nam Khan River. Room was a bit small (2nd floor) but comfortable. Staff were very helpful and it was a short walk of about 10 minutes to main street and night market. The lady running the travel desk was very helpful booking our airline tickets for Thailand and telling us about events in the city. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed here in early December for a week and it really was a great experience. The BnB is nestled along the Nam Khan river and it is about a 10minute walk from the hustle and bustle of the main street with its night market and cafes. The BnB is run by an amicable lady named Noy. She is helpful and really attentive to the needs of her patrons. She is an awesome person to talk to and will be more than happy assist you in any possible way. I stayed in a triple-sharing room and it was really clean and well taken care of. Morning breakfasts include a selection of fruit, pancakes and hot beverages among other things. The drums of the alms giving can be heard in he morning. It's a magical experience! The Bnb is neatly tucked away from the busy town area but no worries, it is within walking distance to some really nice cafe, like Joma. Also, do venture across the Nam Khan river to the other side where the Ayen Sabai and Garden of Eden are at. It is worth the 5000 Kips spent on the walk across the stilt bridge.

Will certainly head back to Luang Prabang sometime soon. Hope this helps! :D

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salienturges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at villa somphong. The room is comfortable clean and quiet. The breakfast area is on the Nam Khan river, beautiful scenery and good breakfast.
The owner lady is very friendly and helpful.
Location is great as this area , near the Nam Khan was our favorite in luang prabang, next to awesome restaurants.

Finally it is good value. We stayed in another guesthouse at the same price and villa somphomg was better by far.(we also stayed in an amazing but more expensive boutique hotel, which is the only reason why I cannot rate this guesthouse 5/5 but 4/5)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picbibi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A lovely little villa, away from the main night market area but on the river and close to where the monks begin their alms walk.

The rooms are perfectly adequate, but the best thing is the considerate and helpful woman who runs it.

Only downside was on the first night we were in the downstairs room next to reception and it was noisy in the morning with breakfast being prepared. We asked to be moved and were put upstairs where there was no noise at all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.5 mi away
Namkhan Riverside
Namkhan Riverside
#17 of 266 in Luang Prabang
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 266 in Luang Prabang
647 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 266 in Luang Prabang
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa
Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa
#12 of 266 in Luang Prabang
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaluenxay Villa
Chaluenxay Villa
#10 of 266 in Luang Prabang
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 266 in Luang Prabang
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Somphong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Somphong

Address: Soukkaseum Road | Ban Khili, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £19 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Somphong 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Somphong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing