We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room with reasonably soft bed”
Review of Villa Somphong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Somphong
Ranked #21 of 268 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Nice room with verandah. Bed ok compared with others in asia. Staff/owner very helpful when any enquiries made. Breakfast very basic. Only western. Quite part of town, but not far to walk to get to busy area.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Agree with the other reviews here. Good, basic quality in the best location away from the noise and bustle of the main 'shopping/eating' area of Sisivangvong, which is just a short walk away. There are two properties side by side (photos show the smarter, larger option) and we were,initially, a little disappointed to find ourselves in the older, smaller property of the two. But the rooms are clean and the bed is comfy and Noy, the manager, is very helpful and friendly. We had no issues with noise and slept well. Breakfast overlooking the river is a lovely way to start the day.

Room Tip: Ensure you know which of the two locations you are booking. The better option is only a few dollar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angetom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The end of the peninsular, which is where Villa Somphong is located, is quiet, but Somphong is just up the road from Tamarind Restaurant (yum!) and just around the corner from the start of the general store/bar/restaurant/retail shop strip that is Th. Sakkarinh/Sisavangvong. It's also only a couple of minutes' stroll to the lovely little bamboo bridge which crosses the Nam Kha River just before it flows into the mighty Mekong. Head across it & up the hill & you'll come to a rural village where some weavers are at work & the chickens are out cleaning up the dusty road.The streets & backlanes on the Mekong side of Sakkarinh are worth a few hours exploring: some truly beautiful architecture both new & old, and there's the opportunity for a glimpse at the daily lives of the Luang Prabang locals.
We stayed upstairs in the part of Villa Somphong which has the balcony along the front, looking over the Nam Kha. How special it is and how privileged we felt. Our room was quite large enough, a very comfy bed with quality bedlinen, a pleasant & functional bathroom. Everything was spotless, with our room cleaned & fresh towels provided daily. The woman running the establishment is so sweet and helpful. The few requests we made of her were met promptly & smilingly. The couple of other staff members there were similarly efficient, friendly, charming and eager to please. It was a bit of an extravagance for us at $45, but worth every cent. And somehow it would have felt wrong to be staying anywhere less posh in Luang Prabang. We loved the place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Furlquists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Some rooms are better than others. In building with reception, you don't get a seating area outside and there is no sound insulation from the bathroom next door.

Nice place, good location, but get one of the rooms in the other block. Otherwise you can get better nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jman345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was our first destination at the beginning of a long trip round SE Asia and was a very welcoming happy start. The rooms overlook the picturesque smaller river in Luang Prabang in a very quiet area that is still a short walk from most restaurants and sights. The good breakfast is served on a terrace right next to the river under tropical trees. The manager Boi and staff are warm and helpful and are good English speakers. They arranged extra rooms and days for us when we twice changed our plans, once to visit a village up river (Boi stored our big luggage) and once because I was suddenly taken ill. Boi's husband took me to hospital and she arranged for a lovely quiet room nearby for me to recuperate in. Villa Somphong is a great place to stay in lovely Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annexe have a slightly better river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel is priced right for quality. Rooms are basic but comfortable. On a quiet street off the bustle yet close to the main temples, museum, and on the river.
The staff is very helpful with trip planning and taxis.
Breakfast is good and has some nice options.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Emmy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Luang Prabang has changed a lot since my last visit in 2008: Lots of luxury resorts, villas and gourmet restaurants have sprung up like mushrooms - to the extent that the UNESCO at one point thought about cancelling Luang Prabang from its list.
Villa Somphong's location is what you pay for, because it is a three-minute walk from famous Wat Xieng Thong and right by the peacefully flowing Nam Khan river. And away from the hustle and bustle of night bars and clubs around Phousi (mountain).
We paid $ 45 for a simple double room even though the website states $ 38. And we were slightly disappointed by the room. There's not enough space to put your belongings and our bathroom/shower didn't have a curtain, so everything wet all the time.
The room size is not much more than 10 or 11 square metres, excluding the bathroom. And one window couldn't open because the bed obstructed it, the other one faced the common balcony that you share with three other rooms.
The breakfast is being served right by the river outside, nice place. But in the mornings still very cold. So take a jacket.
The manager Noy is a super-friendly young mother who will in her travel agency arrange any trip you want to make.
The place is just a perfect location and good for light sleepers.
But $ 45 is a little bit too much.
The bicycles (20.000 kip per day) you can rent from a little shop downstairs. Good quality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobst56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.5 mi away
Namkhan Riverside
Namkhan Riverside
#17 of 268 in Luang Prabang
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 268 in Luang Prabang
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa
Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa
#11 of 268 in Luang Prabang
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 268 in Luang Prabang
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaluenxay Villa
Chaluenxay Villa
#10 of 268 in Luang Prabang
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Oudomlith
Villa Oudomlith
#9 of 268 in Luang Prabang
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Somphong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Somphong

Address: Soukkaseum Road | Ban Khili, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 268 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £24 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Somphong 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Somphong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing