We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, amazing aircon and fan”
Review of Villa Somphong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Somphong
Ranked #21 of 265 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We had a perfect stay, all the staff we so friendly and really helpful. The included breakfast was great, there was a big choice of what to have and it filled us up till dinner. It was beautiful having breakfast overlooking the river. It has been our favourite place so far and we have been away for 2 months! The rooms were perfect relatively small but very clean, the shower was great, we had aircon and a fan which was amazing! there isn't really anything negative to say apart from it was a bit pricey but we are travelling on a budget! also we booked to go to the waterfalls with them which worked out more expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeAsia_explorer_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Worst AC and wi-fi that I have experienced in my travels. The bed is also a brick. I tried to complain about the AC and the owner just told me that I was operating it wrong and she would come up and have a look at it later. Well, I know how to operate an AC and she never showed.

I went down to cancel the remainder of my reservation and the owner said I would have to go through Agoda. I contact Agoda and they say she's been paid and I need to go through her. She seems nice, but she's very shrewd. I also noted that she had the worst exchange rates in town.
The place is quiet and clean though, and the free breakfast was adequate. It is definitely not worth what they charge though. That brings me back to Agoda. I seem to get a crappy room whenever I book through them.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank halekido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We only stayed at villa Somphong for 2 nights in February but I would highly recommended this lovely B&B, the owner Noy was very helpful and friendly, she helped us with day trips, laundry and even got us a taxi to another hotel where our friends were staying, breakfast was excellent and I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shutch108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst travelling a few months in Asia. It's a beautiful town, the location is idyllic you are just down the road from one of the 'must see' wats, lovely cafés bars and a wonderful relaxing amazing place. The staff here were brilliant, there was money exchange, you could book onward travel and breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking the Mekong wow. Also good room service every day. Unfortunately I was unwell during my stay with a throat infection, the staff were very concerned and gave advice, and wanted to help as much as they could. This place was excellent service and value for money. Stay here is my advice!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_MiniMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were fortunate to stay at Villa Somphong for a week in December, 2013. The staff were all particularly friendly and caring. The rooms were very clean and tasteful. We enjoyed the view of the street and river from the verandah. Breakfasts were most enjoyable, being served on the banks of the river. The hotel is in a very quiet location, but close to all attractions. The room rates are very good for a hotel of this high quality. We felt so sad to leave and are eagerly looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveBenalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Nice room with verandah. Bed ok compared with others in asia. Staff/owner very helpful when any enquiries made. Breakfast very basic. Only western. Quite part of town, but not far to walk to get to busy area.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Agree with the other reviews here. Good, basic quality in the best location away from the noise and bustle of the main 'shopping/eating' area of Sisivangvong, which is just a short walk away. There are two properties side by side (photos show the smarter, larger option) and we were,initially, a little disappointed to find ourselves in the older, smaller property of the two. But the rooms are clean and the bed is comfy and Noy, the manager, is very helpful and friendly. We had no issues with noise and slept well. Breakfast overlooking the river is a lovely way to start the day.

Room Tip: Ensure you know which of the two locations you are booking. The better option is only a few dollar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angetom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.5 mi away
Namkhan Riverside
Namkhan Riverside
#18 of 265 in Luang Prabang
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 265 in Luang Prabang
653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 265 in Luang Prabang
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Oudomlith
Villa Oudomlith
#8 of 265 in Luang Prabang
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa
Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa
#13 of 265 in Luang Prabang
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaluenxay Villa
Chaluenxay Villa
#10 of 265 in Luang Prabang
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Somphong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Somphong

Address: Soukkaseum Road | Ban Khili, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £25 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Somphong 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Villa Somphong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing