We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant day!!!”

Elephant Village Sanctuary & Resort
Book In Advance
More Info
US$94.00*
and up
Explore Luang Prabang Backroads Biking Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Elephant Village in Luang Prabang, Laos was set up in 2003 and is now owned by a group of passioante Lao nationals. Our sales office is located on the main street in town close to the National Museum and our beautiful elephant camp is located next to the village Ban Xieng Lom. Elephant Village focuses on three objectives:1. Saving Elephants 2. Community Support 3. Nature Preservation. We take elephants out of the very dangerous logging industry and provide them with an alternative way of earning their income. We try to help the elephants which desperately need help the most such as older elephants and elephants which have injuries due to accidents. We currently have 14 elephants in our care including 2 baby elephants which will never have to work in the logging industry. We are also home to a female elephant called Mae Uak, who was injured when she stepped on a 'UXO' (Un-Exploded Ordinance) some time ago, before we rescued her. She is now happily living in our herd.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elephant V, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Village Sanctuary & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"baby elephants"
in 36 reviews
"love elephants"
in 8 reviews
"logging industry"
in 13 reviews
"these gentle giants"
in 7 reviews
"happy elephants"
in 11 reviews
"guide mr"
in 11 reviews
"across the river"
in 24 reviews
"elephant's neck"
in 6 reviews
"half day tour"
in 16 reviews
"riding elephants"
in 8 reviews
"boat ride"
in 18 reviews
"mahout training"
in 7 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 12 reviews
"tad sae waterfall"
in 12 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 7 reviews
"dry season"
in 7 reviews
"animals"
in 59 reviews
Filter

1,008 - 1,012 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife decided to go on this tour even before our departure from Brazil. As we got to the village, all our expectations were fulfilled. The guides and trainers were all nice and you have a chance not only to learn some commands as well as bathe your elephant, what is really cool. Just a warning, you get totally wet so bring appropriate clothes. One more thing, it is a good idea to stretch a little first! Riding an elephant is not as easy as it looks.

Thank Gustavo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elephant V, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Village Sanctuary & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest, we thank you for writing your review.

We are incredibly happy that you had such a great time. The mahout course is definitely one of our most popular and most people have a lot of fun learning all of the commands.

As for washing the elephants, that is some very good advise as our elephants and mahouts certainly enjoy watching guests getting wet !

Thank you once again and we hope to see again the future,

Kind Regards,

Elephant Village Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elephant V, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Village Sanctuary & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We loved our time learning to be a mahout. The group was a little large meaning some things took a while but the ride was brilliant and washing them was my favorite part by far! Maxi is awesome too and I loved that these guys are doing their best to give something back

Thank RhinoHailstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elephant V, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Village Sanctuary & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We are always happy at Elephant Village to receive reviews and we thank you for taking the time to do so.

Our mahout courses are some of our most popular, so we are very happy that you enjoyed it, especially washing your elephant. Depending on how well you washed her, you may have made a friend for life!

Maxi is doing very well and getting bigger and bigger each day as we make sure to feed her the appropriate amount of food (which is a lot!)

We hope that you will be able to visit us again and perhaps see Maxi as a teenager the next time.

Kind regards,
Elephant Village team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Took an elephant ride with Phone Travel.. The way they treat their elephants are quite alright compared to other countries that resort to clipping the elephants' ears. For a first time ride, I would say it is ok and brings you to beautiful sceneries. But if you have taken an elephant ride before, my suggestion is not to do so again.

If you really have to, buy a bunch of bananas for 5000 kip. The elephants really appreciates it. =)

Thank Koh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephant Village Sanctuary & Resort also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Elephant Village Sanctuary & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing