We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personalised service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Ranked #31 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Personalised service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We traveled as a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 small children). As they did not have triple rooms, we had to divide into 2 rooms and ended up with the ground floor room (next to stairs), which was a bit dark and had poor air flow. The other room was upstairs (no Mekong view) but very quiet at night. The rooms are very clean but basic with soap dispensers in the bathroom, the room downstairs didn't have any hot water (faulty hot water system) so we basically used the upstairs bedroom for all our needs and used the ground floor room for sleeping only.

It is a very basic guesthouse but the great hospitality and personalised service made up for any shortfalls in the rooms itself. They were able to organise at very short notice a driver to take us to the Rice Farm, Waterfall and Hmong Village for the day and negotiated a very reasonable price for us. It's their willingness to assist and offer any travel advice which makes this guesthouse stand apart from the rest.

All you have to do is ask for any assistance and they are more than willing - thanks for a great stay. We fitted more into our itinerary than expected.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    48
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
91
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

With zillions of lodging options in Luang Prabang what sets this small guesthouse apart is the service-oriented staff, fluent in English and French. As for rooms, upstairs overlooking the river is the way to go. Our last night, we moved to the ground floor next to the stairs which I would not do again as we experienced late night neighborhood noise from the rear of the building. Both rooms were clean/basic with good air conditioners, small refrigerators, and firm beds and thin pillows typical of Asian guesthouses. Bathrooms were adequate and had “wet room” type shower floors. Patio across the road by the river was a nice setting for breakfast of baguette, eggs, yogurt, fruit and coffee/tea. Strongest wifi signal in the lobby. Same-day laundry service was inexpensive although we could have done without the colored-strings sewn into each item (presumably to keep our order together). All in all, good value for the price.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room in the rear was noisy late into the night. Might be a one-time fluke as other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erika363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We booked this wonderful small guest house because of the ratings here.
We travelled with two other couples, we booked and got the three upper rooms- with view to the Mekong.Simply wonderful! We had breakfast across the road, at the river bank.
Clean, comfy, and everybody was so helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doroPfalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Well, where should I start... Everything about our stay at Chitdara 2 was excellent. All of the positive feedback you hear about Mr. Vong is true. We booked this accommodation because of the high ratings on TripAdvisor, and I'm so glad we did.
Upon our arrival, we were immediately taken in as if we were family. Mr. Vong and his staff went above and beyond during our four night stay. Everything from inviting us to attend the morning alms procession with the monks to arranging a private boat ride down the Mekong, and most importantly, he helped me navigate a really difficult medical situation. He took me to two different doctors and hospitals, all the while, waiting for me outside. It was unknown territory and the language barrier made things even more difficult, so to have his assistance was tantamount. He really cared about our well-being.
The property was beautiful, clean, and well cared for and everyone working for Mr. Vong was hospitable and genuine. Our room was upstairs, with a view -- definitely worth being able to look out on the street & the Mekong River. We had breakfast every morning, sometimes out on the patio, overlooking the Mekong. The location is on a quite street, off the beaten path, but still close to everything.
I truly cannot say enough positive things about Villa Chitdara 2 and Mr. Vong. Our trip was exactly one year ago this week & we wanted to thank Mr. Vong with a positive review. We look forward to our next visit! Thanks again, Mr. Vong & staff.

Room Tip: Top floor, facing the street & Mekong River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinberzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

I can whole-heartedly recommend this guest house.
Perfect service and hospitality.
The rooms to the mekong are great and have spectacular views.
Everything is new and clean. Only downside was a ventilation problem with our bathroom, so its would smell a bit mildewy after having a shower.
But be aware that the other rooms are much smaller just rooms and there is in general lots of very good options in Luang Prabang.
The breakfast at the side of Mekong is an atmospheric event with very good coffee (though I had better in Laos) and the best baguettes in town.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuietTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I've heard great stuff about the hotel from the fellow contributors and I was a little disappointed when i told that Vong wasn't around as he is in France. But i was introduced to David, a family friend of Vong and my stay was perfect. Let's share a few things here.

Location - It's on the quieter street of Luang Prabang facing the Mekong river. The ticket counter to Pak Ou caves is 5 mins walking distance right upon exiting the guesthouse. It is approximately about 5-10mins walk to the night market. The shops here closes pretty early at about 10ish. We tried to get coffee nearby but ended up having coffee in the hotel instead.

Room - Clean sheets, towels, face towel. Most of the amenities are provided and with hot showers. The room is spotlessly clean. We stayed in the double room facing the main street and the river and we absolutely love it. It wasn't noisy as per some of the other contributors have mentioned.

Breakfast - Breakfast was amazing. Free flow of coffee, juices. We were given baguettes with butter and jam, fruits, yohgurts and a eggs of our choice. Both days we went with the omelette and it didn't go wrong.

Service - This is the most amazing part of the hotel. Even with the absence of Vong which I've heard alot about, David and the rest of the staff actually provided us with top notch services. They remember us by names, asked us about our day every morning and gave us the best advice what to do and where to eat around town. I have changed my booking from a night to 2 nights. On the day of checkout, I was supposed to take the night bus at 8pm. They are kind enough to provide me rooms and clean towels to bath before starting my long travel. The small gestures matter and I couldn't be happier.

I didn't manage to say goodbye to David for his excellent service but i came back to an email to him apologizing that he missed us by minutes and wished us well on our journey. What more can I say? I would definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincentleryee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights in January here. Our room was clean with nice Mekong view. Every morning we were served with delicious breakfast by the river. But what really made this place stood out is the excellent service from the owner, lovely Mr Vong and his staffs. Every need was well taken care of. Everyone was really kind, helpful and friendly. When we reached the hotel, we were given an overview of LP, map, directions, tips and restaurant recommendations. Mr Vong also helped us rent a motorbike and gave us direction to places that we would like to visit. The next morning we went with him for alms offering. That was really a highlight, we learnt so much about Buddhism, Lao politic and culture from him. At USD 50 per night with free breakfast and wifi, this place is value for your money. Stay here!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syllaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Chitdara
Villa Chitdara
#9 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#52 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#17 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#11 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse

Property: Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Address: Ounkham Rd, 18/02 | Mekong Riverside Ban Vatnong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing