We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guesthouse does not honor confirmed reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Ranked #28 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Guesthouse does not honor confirmed reservation”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

In May , 2013, my wife and I booked a 3 night stay in a double room for November with a request to upgrade to a river view room if one became available. Yae at Chitdara 2 confirmed the booking the same day. On Sept. 24, I sent a 2nd email to confirm the reservation and again request the river view room. Xai responded that Yae was no longer in their employ and had failed to enter my booking and that no rooms were now available. I replied back that I should not have to pay for Yae's mistake, that they were responsible for their employee, that our booking must be reinstated and that they should cancel the booking that replaced ours in line. Xai would not agree to this. This would have been the honorable thing for them to do. We were extremely disappointed by their actions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian1941Nv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    50
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
91
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bamaga, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights recently. It was a mostly pleasant stay & I really have no complaints.

Mai greeted us with a welcome drink on our arrival & showed us to our room overlooking the Mekong River. He certainly made our stay excellent as he was always on hand to assist/recommend/advise!

The room was spacious & well appointed including a fridge. The location was good. We liked the quiet location & the fact that we could easily walk to most places. There are also plenty of restaurants nearby. Breakfast was simple but adequate.

A few minor negative things were the wifi was a bit hit & miss (randomly worked, weak signal), the shower never got really hot & our air conditioner made some funny sounds during the night so we turned it off.

I would still stay at Chitdara 2 again though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeganMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed at Villa Chitdara 2 for four nights in Luang Prabang. It had good trip advisor reviews, so I booked a room. To be honest, I found the place to be a little dark and musty. My bathroom had a terrible smell to it, so I kept the door open as much as I could to get some air circulating. The room was alright. It had a tv, air con and a bed that overlooked the road. You couldn't really see the river as it was hidden by some trees, but I didn't mind. As mentioned earlier, the staff don't speak much English, but they really tried hard to accommodate whenever I had a question, so I really can't fault them for it. The wifi was terrible and did not work while I was there. You could pick up a signal from next door when you were in the main lobby. Ultimately, I think that you could find something a little better for the price in Luang Prabang. I give it am average rating because it didn't really make an impression.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmarti123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I was the only one in the hotel when i arrived for two night and that sould have been a sign. but anyway agoda cancellaton policy is too hard to cancel.
the room was overpriced for the type of room.
there was no safe in the room.
when i took a shower, i saw a used soap in the soap holder which made me question the whole place on its cleanliness.
the worst is the staff. totally useless to answer your questions as the guy as the reception didnt understand english if your question wasn't about where can i eat breakfast or cani have a tuktuk for the airport. i had question about alms procedure or where to find things and he had no clue what i was talking about. i felt very lonely and like i missed some parts of The city that would have been cool if someone could have been introducing me to it.
this place is definitely the worst quality/price hotel of my trip.

Room Tip: be prepared for no safe in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchieCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nishinomiya, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This guesthouse is well situated right by the bank of the Mekong river and a short walk to the main street and markets. The breakfast is very good, and will fill you up for a long time. The staff is very helpful and friendly and the owner is amazing. I felt that he made great efforts to give me a valuable experience and understanding of the place. Having the chance to speak to him and to join him in the morning alms with the monks was a highlight of my trip to Laos. I had a beautiful, clean, front room overlooking the river and felt at home (despite not being able to turn on the AC). My very best recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelkorkaOlafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

I don't have a bad thing to say about this place. The rooms were clean and very nice, with hardwood floors and a really comfortable bed. The price of $35 was very reasonable (breakfast included) for the quality, if had a room on the second floor in the back. It was situated in a great location right on the Mekong, where you eat breakfast overlooking the river. Finally the staff was very friendly and arranged everything for me, from airport drop off to trips to the sites.

The owner was out of town and showed up the last day I was there. Greeted me very warmly with a huge smile, if you have a chance to spend time talking to him, he's very interesting. In my 4 weeks in SE Asia so far this was the best place for the $ by far!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldJesstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woorim, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This place was simply great to stay in, clean, comfortable and great staff service. We stayed there because of the previous tripa advisor reports and they were spot on. We did have a down stairs room and no problems with noise. Mr. Vong was very helpfdul and so interesting, if you get the chance go to alms with him. The guys on the desk were very helpful, and like everyone on Laos happy and firendly. Breakfast was really good, we had it across the road on the riverfront, it was the best way to start the day. Location is close to everything, yet quiet compared to places back and clsoer to the night markets. Would defnitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Chitdara
Villa Chitdara
#9 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#57 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#19 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#11 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse

Property: Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Address: Ounkham Rd, 18/02 | Mekong Riverside Ban Vatnong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing