We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great attitude at this hotel”
Review of Vangsavath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vangsavath Hotel
Ranked #15 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
vnuver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great attitude at this hotel”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Nice people and the owners were there to bend over backwards for the guests.
I loved using the bikes and all tours were easily managed at front desk. Fre tuk tuk every night givesvthis place a 10 for location.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    95
    23
    16
    14
See reviews for
57
161
51
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed two nights at Vangsavath Hotel, and highly reccommend to any traveller. Breakfast was superb, beds were super comfy, free wifi a bonus! Even though we were set a little further out from the city, the free tuk tuk made it easy - sono issue at all. Run by mother and son, so friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Pon even booked a flight for us which helped us out tremedously, we are very grateful. Wish we could stay longer! Overall, very enjoyable stay and recommend to those seeking comfort, style and warm welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibstock, leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Even though a little out of town, this hotel did not present any problems. It takes 5 minutes by tuk tuk which was free anyway. It is run by Porn and his mother who made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very dark but clean. Breakfast was fresh with cooking done to order straight to the table. The management did like guests to be back in the hotel by 11.30 which was a bit odd but again after a days travelling we were back before then anyway finishing off with a beer back at the hotel. All in all very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummertonShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We had a few choices of where to stay in LP, but eventually settled on this based on booking.com and trip advisor reviews, we (a group of 4 friends) are sure glad we did.
Although it is a wee bit on far from city center, the tuk tuk ride/ bike ride is short and let us see in to the lives of the locals and more of LP. Bonus!

We arrived one dreary rainy evening, but were so warmly welcomed by this mother and son who runs this hotel. We were given welcome drinks and a quick lowdown of LP and were oriented quickly to the city.
Tuk Tuk down the street into town is free by the hotel, and it was how we met a wonderful Australian couple who introduced us to some fantastic Lao massage and eats.
We also were able to rent some GREAT bikes with zip up baskets (courtesy of our hotel mom) for a day ride around town. The bikes had headlights, and were just such a fantastic way to see the town. Hospitality here is second to none, any questions we had were knowledgeably answered.
The guy's room had a wonky shower, and they were without any problems given a new room.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room, for a good balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We had a really enjoyable stay at this well run family property. Nothing was ever too much for the owners (run by mother and son) breakfast was lovely and the free wifi and bicycles were a bonus! The property was a short tuk tuk ride from the night market and tours, day trips were always recommended by the owners- great for those who are travelling with no plans! Room was really nice and I would highly recommend this boutique hotel for anyone travelling to Luang Prabang. The owners were always very smiley and seemed genuinely happy to help you. Great service and value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for four nights We had booked a deluxe room and the owner's son admitted he didn't have one available. We were shown two rooms. One was smelly and not very clean and the other was slightly better but right next to the building work that another reviewer mentioned. The room was dark and grubby. Nothing worked as it should and in order to get to the toilet I had to squeeze past the bed. I knocked myself every time on the bed corner. We said the room was unsuitable the next morning and we were moved to a slightly better one but although it had a little terrace it was impossible to sit outside as there was a mosquito infested pond just in front of us. Perhaps the people who give this hotel a glowing review stayed on the first floor but we cannot recommend it and we heard others complaining while we were staying so it is odd that there are all these glowing reports on trip adviser. We regretted not staying in the historic centre of Luang Prabang and yes he does offer free tuktuks but it is a pain being out of town. The breakfast is ok and the family is friendly but there is no way that this is a three star establishment.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank michPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Staff are lovely, incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about things to do in the area. We didn't have a booking, and when we showed up the staff greeted us warmly, offered a welcoming drinks and took the time to show us their types of rooms. Rooms and very clean and there's a nice garden in the back of the hotel to stroll in, if you're into that kind of thing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil-fromCanadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 69 in Luang Prabang
303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
753 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 261 in Luang Prabang
646 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thongbay Guesthouse
Thongbay Guesthouse
#1 of 261 in Luang Prabang
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vangsavath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsavath Hotel

Property: Vangsavath Hotel
Address: Phetsarath road | Ban Nongkham, Luang Prabang 60000, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vangsavath Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsavath hotel is a colonial building architecture, the hotel which consist 3 building of room types. Running family hotel business. The hotel is beautiful, cleaning and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. Behind the hotel have a nice garden environment by natural of many kind of flowers with pond the guest can relaxing. From the hotel distance into the night market just 6 minutes 2.2 KM by hotel shuttle bus if the guest who can riding a bicycle the hotel prefer free bicycles into downtown from the hotel cycling go to the night market only 10 minutes by bicycles. Vangsavath hotel is nearly phosy market and ock pop tok weaving centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vangsavath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing