We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Vangsavath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vangsavath Hotel
Ranked #13 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Charming hotel in Luang Prabang Laos. Very clean, and the food is delicious. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating, regardless of the time of day or night. Very pleasant stay of 3-4 days!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaosland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    95
    23
    16
    14
See reviews for
57
161
51
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The vangsavath hotel is a charming hotel located a short tuk tuk ride from the city centre. We stayed in a triple room, which was clean and fit our needs. The only issue we had was the floor of the shower wasn't really separated from the floor of the rest of the bathroom but this was not a major concern.
We were impressed by the set up of the hotel with it's multiple nooks and crannies outside the rooms where there were tables to sit and read or just relax when choosing a slow morning and by the service we were given. The staff were very attentive and always pleasant. Breakfast was delicious and certainly the best of the six hotels we stayed in during our time in Asia.
The location of the hotel was also a positive in that it was far enough from the city centre to be spacious and quiet but had bicycles and free tuk tuks to be able to access the city as needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

OK If you could give a mark out of 10 for service you would give it 15. They are incrediable. The hotel is very clean. It is a long way out of the town centre but they run a tuk tuk service to and from so that helps.

Our bathroom had plumbing problems which meant a quick shower or the water poured out into your room. You wade your way out of the shower.

It is spotless. The mother and son who run it are just deligthful and can't do enough for you.

So how do I rate it? It is a bit expensive for what you get but certainly fun to stay here. They have big groups come and stay so that says something.

If they could fix the plumbing it would be so much better

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2013

As a family we stayed at the Vangsavath for 6 nights. The owners were so helpful, cheerful and just made our stay fantastic. There was a free tuk tuk which dropped us wherever we needed to go for dinner and always found us to pick up at night.
They made reservations for us for activities and dinner when we needed it, did all the laundry for a very small charge, provided bicycles which are washed daily and everything is kept immaculate.They even helped suggest a school for our children to visit. (we recommend bringing football kits as the children are really into the sport).
It is worth staying at a place like this instead of a hotel if you want to know what it is really like in Laos with a native's guidance.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFamilywithboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Very nice family owned hotel with great service level.
The location is a bit outside the center of LP but due to their free of charge tuk tuk service to the center this does not cause any inconvenience.
The rooms were ok, the bathroom could have been cleaner.
Breakfast is good and incuded in the rate.
The hotel service is outstanding, very nice and helpful. We arrived at 4.30h in the morning by bus and the staff got up for us and gave us a room to get some more sleep. Very nice!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTK700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I had a great time at Vangsavath Hotel. All of the staff were so welcoming, polite, and helpful. And the accommodations were great as well. Very nice rooms, with great room service. The staff cleaned our room and gave us fresh towels every day. And the breakfast was probably my favorite thing! So many delicious dishes. I always went back for seconds. Overall, this is a great hotel with great services and staff. I would definitely go back if I was ever in the area again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raemaeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel in December and we had a very nice stay. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and the free tuk tuk service and bikes make the short commute into town very pleasant. The staff were very courteous and went out of their way to help us and gave us a warm welcome. We always woke up to a lovely breakfast. The quality of food was fantastic. It was rare to find an omelette station in our stays in Asia but this hotel offered this option. The hotel is quite large as it is a bit away from the center and has beautiful landscaping with lots of greenery and a pond. As the hotel has such a relaxed atmosphere, you have the opportunity to stay at the hotel if you want a lazy day. We would definitely stay there again on another visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WimK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.1 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vangsavath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsavath Hotel

Property: Vangsavath Hotel
Address: Phetsarath road | Ban Nongkham, Luang Prabang 60000, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vangsavath Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsavath hotel is a colonial building architecture, the hotel which consist 3 building of room types. Running family hotel business. The hotel is beautiful, cleaning and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. Behind the hotel have a nice garden environment by natural of many kind of flowers with pond the guest can relaxing. From the hotel distance into the night market just 6 minutes 2.2 KM by hotel shuttle bus if the guest who can riding a bicycle the hotel prefer free bicycles into downtown from the hotel cycling go to the night market only 10 minutes by bicycles. Vangsavath hotel is nearly phosy market and ock pop tok weaving centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vangsavath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing