We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Lovely Stay! Excellence all round!”
Review of Vangsavath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vangsavath Hotel
Ranked #16 of 264 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Absolutely Lovely Stay! Excellence all round!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We picked this hotel for its good price/quality ratio and based on the reviews.
And we were not disappointed!!!! On the contrary!!!!

We were very warmly greeted by Paul (manager, son of owner), who provided us with enough information to get our bearings, without being too much.
Yes, the hotel is a distance away from the 'old town' but the free shuttle solves that. It is actually only about a 25-30 minute walk.

We booked the 'deluxe' room and loved it. It wasn't overly big, but not small either. The way the bathroom is open into the room makes everything more spacious. The toilet is seperate anyway, so no issues there ;). The warm dark wood furnishing were tasteful.
The hotel has several outside areas for guests to sit and relax, including the spacious breakfast area (where free coffee, tea, water and bananas are served throughout the day).
Breakfast was very nice: fruit, cereal, yoghurt, eggs cooked to order, bread, rice, juice,.... and a lot of it.

The whole place is well kept and well maintained, so very clean and comfy.

So all that is very positive and lovely. But the best thing is the service and assistance we received from Paul. To make a long story short-ish: we were there with our own overland car, which decided to develop a potentially trip-ending issue, at the beginning of the 4-day New Year and Water Festival National Holiday. So all services (like garages) just shut down for that period. Paul went out of his way to help us in anyway he could: making calls for us, giving us his phone to make and receive calls, driving around town looking for a garage that would open and then helping us with translations,.... and lots more things like this.
It was a very stressful few days for us but Paul kept an eye on us, making sure we had breakfast, had a snack during the day, sat down for a break with coffee....... Words cannot describe how nice he was to us and how he literally helped us through these days.
And it didn't stop there: after we'd left and moved on, Paul was instrumental in making sure the spare parts we'd ordered made it into our hands eventually!!!!!

I have worked in the Hospitality sector myself and what we experienced here was more than 'beyond the call of duty'!!!!!! It was one of the best customer service experiences I have ever had, and it was all done with a smile and warm feeling.

Thank you very much!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    96
    23
    16
    14
See reviews for
58
162
51
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was greeted right away by the owners son, and he was sooo nice and took so much time explaining everything I needed to know about Luang Brabang. I really appreciated it! My room was simple but very clean, and comfy bed! The breakfast included was nice!
The hotel is out of the way, but they have free shuttle service to the market, which is super convenient. Plus they have free bike rentals, which I used the whole time I was there.
I recommend this place, its very quaint and quiet and good value!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights this April. The staff here are very welcoming and went out of their way to be helpful. Accommodation lovely and clean. Breakfast was limited in choice, but very fresh. It's 2km out of the centre, but the free shuttle bus and bikes don't make this a problem. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Visited this Hotel last November(2013) with two female friends. We stayed in a nice 3 bed room with a belcony over looking the gardens. The staff were absolutly wonderful, they greeted us with enthusiasm and made the stay very enjoyable. We were able to utilese the free shuttle service and bikes and were offered information about local activities. I would stay here again, breakfast is expensive and the staff go out oft their way to help you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We only had two days in Laos but it was a memorable stay. The owners were friendly and helpful. The rooms were welcoming and clean. We very much enjoyed our experience. Location was great and had a free shuttle to the main strip.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank khowrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The best part of this hotel was the amazing service I got from the staff. I was travelling alone, and they really took their time with me, explaining everything I needed to know about Luang Prabang, and planned some awesome tours. They were very friendly, and accommodating, and it honestly felt like I was staying an a friends house rather than a hotel!
The breakfast was included, it was basic but very good. The rooms were nice and clean, and good AC! Plus they offered you free drives to town! That was super nice, especially cause they even picked you up at night.
It was a very nice, quiet place to stay, and I definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Good hotel in convenient location. Good breakfast, clean rooms, striking style. In interesting part of tow near phousi market and ock pop tok (another place worth a visit). Best thing is the staff. Every need is dispatched immediately and cheerfully. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeffS904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 69 in Luang Prabang
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
760 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 69 in Luang Prabang
215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 264 in Luang Prabang
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vangsavath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsavath Hotel

Property: Vangsavath Hotel
Address: Phetsarath road | Ban Nongkham, Luang Prabang 60000, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vangsavath Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsavath hotel is a colonial building architecture, the hotel which consist 3 building of room types. Running family hotel business. The hotel is beautiful, cleaning and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. Behind the hotel have a nice garden environment by natural of many kind of flowers with pond the guest can relaxing. From the hotel distance into the night market just 6 minutes 2.2 KM by hotel shuttle bus if the guest who can riding a bicycle the hotel prefer free bicycles into downtown from the hotel cycling go to the night market only 10 minutes by bicycles. Vangsavath hotel is nearly phosy market and ock pop tok weaving centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vangsavath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing