We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't understand the bad comments”

Restaurant Luang Prabang Bakery
Ranked #137 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: US$1 - US$48
Cuisines: Asian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Don't understand the bad comments”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I don't understand all the negative comments about this place. We have eaten here twice now in the last week.
Service has been quick and polite. Ok not the most talkative waiters but smiling all the same.
We had pizza on both occasions. Ok it isn't Domino's it Pizza Hut but come on, it is perfectly fine and tasty.

I would agree it is not the cheapest place to eat in LP but it's certainly not the most expensive. 200,000 kip for a pizza and 2 glasses of wine.

Would happily return if we fancied pizza again.

Helpful?
Thank Mad_Man_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    47
    36
    29
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berlin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“rather disgusting”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have not had engough time to check the reviews in advance, which would have saved us from that bad expirience! Location is nice, the restaurant is in the center of the old village and looks rather cozy.
But that it is about it. Service was incredible poor, the young man seemed to be not able to say any friendly word at all, he was completely uninterested.
Food was nearly cold and not good at all. Prices are much to high. It is a shame because this restaurant only can survive because of its situated in the center of everything. There are enough people walking by and only see the nice location.

At the end we are a little bit satisfied because we were asked about the quality of food and service by a group of other tourists. So we could warn them in advance. Better safe your money and your nerves for all those really beautiful places you have in Laos.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dirk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great burgers and fries”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were surprised by the negative comments written by others. We stayed at the Guesthouse and had breakfast there each morning which we enjoyed except for the coffee which we certainly did not enjoy as much as we had the Vietnamese coffee. We had been traveling for 3 weeks and ready for some western food. Both their hamburgers and fish sandwiches were wonderful. We had dinner there one evening though and the Spaghetti with meat sauce was sweet and certainly not to our taste. The setting is great with wonderful people watching. Early morning diners (7:30) get to see the young monks traveling by. The fruit smoothies are definitely over priced compared to the options on the street. Contrary to another reviewer, we paid in dollars with no problem.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best location but very expensive”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This restaurant is right at the middle of downtown. We have stop here for the first meal in Luang Prabang. The food price is very expensive compare to the street food in the same menu.And long time to wait for the food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy_Sineepun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No concept of Service, and don't pay in USD”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Allthough an inviting place passing on the street, you quickly find that this place haven't found their style yet. Is it a sportsbar? bakery? hamburger joint? hotel? Restaurant?

When looking through the meny, you'll find that their house specialities are everything from western cuisine to local which doesn't make sense. Their are to wide spread to do anything any good.

I had a very dry hamburger with something that resembled french fries and my wife had a local stew which were gray and tasteless at best.

Highlight of the visit: Beer from bottle
Lowlight of the visit: Trying to pay in USD. Their exchange rate is taken from the private bank across the street which was a rip-off! aprox 15-20% more expensive than local currencty. I tried to pay with mastercard, bu then they would add 8% of card fee. Make sure to bring local currency to this place.

Not worth a visit. There are so many other nice places in this city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Luang Prabang Bakery also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Restaurant Luang Prabang Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing