We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing haven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“A relaxing haven!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is the former Alila Hotel, that has just recently been re-branded to a Hotel de la Paix. Thus taxis often cannot find it until you say Alila.

That aside, the property is magnificent. Very private, well located with great rooms. This used to be an old French fort, thus all the rooms surround the expansive inner courtyard and pool area.

We had a room with a private pool, which is on each of the four corners of the former fort. Very relaxing! Very private :-) Very worth it.

The spa is also exquisite ... both in terms of design and service/massages.

Besides the Aman, definitely the place to stay in LP. My only concern is that now that it is independently owned, I hope the quality of service won't be sacrificed.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with private pool are worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bojantercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin O, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for your positive comments of our property following your recent stay with us. You are correct that we have just re-flagged the Hotel and have experienced some challenges in communicating our new name to the local community, Tuk Tuk drivers.

We have a series of activities in hand designed to address this and so this is a thing of the past.

We pride ourselves on our standards of service and despite being an independant Hotel, we are committed to maintaining and, where possible, improving them. I know that our friends and customers will ensure that we don't fall below the required standards.

I do hope that your travels will bring you back to Luang Prabang and more especially our Hotel as I would like to show you how we have maintained our service standards. Until the next time, I remain

With all good wishes,

Kevin M. O'Hagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    107
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
107
319
37
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kenwood, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is a wonderful boutique hotel for those who want a touch of luxury in Luang Prabang. As others have mentioned it has been converted from an old colonial detention facility, but it now has clean, modern lines. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed, with lovely indoor-outdoor bathrooms and comfortable beds. Free wi-fi was reliable and fast. The staff are very friendly and are eagerly learning the ropes. The food was excellent and the cooking class fun and lively.

Room Tip: The four corner rooms have their own pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2015
Dear IngasAdventures,

Thank you for this review.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Hotel de la Paix has a unique history. It has been built in 1900s has the French Governor Mansion and now it is a UNESCO World Heritage protected site.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the Restaurant and we hope to see you again in Laos

Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We had a good time at his new hotel. The staff are trying very hard to please and to offer good service but it is still a new hotel and in time the service will seem less forced and more natural. All in all a good experience and we would like to return in 5 years to see how they people have grown in this period.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2015
Dear Jean Paul O,

Thank you very much for your interesting review.

We are currently training our staff and be sure that if you come back, gestures and attitude will be more natural.

We hope to see you again so you can measure changes and tell us your opinion.

Best regards,

Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We took a short weekend break to Luang Prabang which is one of Unesco World Heritage towns in Laos recently . We live in Bangkok which is a very cosmopolitan city so we were looking forward to this weekend getaway to a quiet little town .
After searching the internet looking for a luxury accommodation we came across Hotel De La Paix which looked stunning. Simple but luxurious .I couldn't book the Pool Suites through the booking engine as it stated that they were non available during our stay period so I wrote an email to the reservation office and was informed that the pool suites were indeed fully booked but they could offer me the Heritage Suite at a 20 % discount from the price shown on their website. ( USD 312 ++ ) which I thought was a good deal. Khun Mai was very helpful with all our bookings and enquiries including our Spa reservation .
The trip from Bangkok to Luang Prabang took 2 hours on a little propeller plane ( Bangkok Airways ) and we were greeted just outside the Arrival area by a hotel staff with a hotel sign that has our name on it. We were given cold towel and cold bottles of water during the short ride from airport to the hotel ( 10 mins ! ) .
Upon our arrival at the hotel we were greeted by Khun Pae ( Front Office Manager ) who told us that he upgraded us from the Heritage suite to the Governor Suite . JOY ! Check in was swift and we were escorted to our room . ( They accept all major credit cards as well as Thai Baht, USD, Euro and Laos KIP)
Gosh the Governor Suite is GINORMOUS ! It's has 4 separate chambers and an outdoor patio with its own garden . The bedroom has big king size 4 poster bed , the sitting room with leather sofa where you can sit and have a drink . A huge dressing room which is connected to an enormous bathroom with separate shower and bath area. The marble bathtub was very big and the whole ambience was very lovely . My only compliant ? It was a bit too dark and you have to turn on all the lights all the time when you are in the room.
We didn't have the energy to venture out as our flight was pretty early so we decided to unwind and relax at the Indochine Spa instead. We had a light lunch at the hotel restaurant before heading to the spa. The food was ok nothing amazing but the service was great.
We were greeted by the Lovely Miss Pookie at the Spa and she told us that she had given us extra 30 mins of Spa time at no extra charge . Yipee ! The Spa treatment ( we both ahd the Soul of Spice Treatments- scrubbing , wrapping and oil massage ) was wonderful and we're ready to take on the town .
I asked Khun Pae to book a table for us at 3 Nagas which is De La Paix's sister hotel . The hotel car dropped us off there and it's a nice little hotel in what I think is a touristy part of town. there were many restaurants around that area and they were full of tourists ( either old couples or backpackers ) . They wrote my name on a leaf and placed it on our designated table instead reservation sign which i thought was very sweet . The food was the 3 Nagas was great. Very tasty but the price was steep as well. The chef who is Thai came out to greet us and we complimented him on the food and the service . After dinner we took a walk around The Old Quarter and visited the Night market which was nice but you could easily find the things that they were selling in Bangkok and probably at cheaper prices. I was informed that the nightlife here was pretty non existence as everything shut by 10 pm. They are some local discos ( how retro ! ) and bars that stay open till midnight but if you decided to go you would probably have to walk back to your hotels as local Took Took ( Taxis ) tend to stop operating by 10 pm. So after a quick drink we headed back to our hotel.
The next day we had breakfast ( a la carte - Included in the price of the room + Free WiFi ) at the restaurant and it was great. After that we decided to explore the town a bit ( various temples , Mekong river etc ) but being fearful of the intense heat and sun we came back to the hotel early and just chilled out in our room. We came out and hung out by the pool late afternoon and had a swim. It was very refreshing in the dry heat ( 33 C ! ) .
Since our flight wasn't until 4 pm Khun Pae gave us a Late Check Out till 3 pm on our departure day . We went to the Spa ( again ! ) and had a relaxing time just walking around the city and sampling many tasty bakeries and Laotian cuisines.
All in all Hotel De La Paix is a nice and charming place. the Service was good. It's still very boutique-y though so don't come expecting standard of The Mandarin Oriental .
Luang Prabang is a nice little town. Very quiet and calm. It was a very relaxing getaway which was what we needed.

Room Tip: Instead of booking through the website booking engine , write an email to reservation instead .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kade9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2015
Dear kade9,

Thank you for your comment.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed or Spa and visited our rooms.

We are planning some renovations this year and we will create a Gym center.

We hope to see you again so you can give us your point of view on those new equipment.

Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed here for three enjoyable nights. This hotel was the one chosen by the company that organised our trip to Laos, they are called Destination Asia, and are a fabulous company.
We really enjoyed the fact that we were staying in a converted prison.It did not disappoint, the staff were very helpful. The Spa was really nice, and very reasonable. It was quite but we liked that.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2015
Dear mitchcole,

Thank you for this review.

We are happy to see that you learnt about our history.

Actually, the hotel was built in 1900s as the French Governor Mansion during the Indochina era. Then as you said it became a jail. And now this impressive building is a UNESCO World Heritage protected site.

We hope to see you again

Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Great location for exploring the town. Just 10 minutes walk from the main street. Big, chic rooms with high ceilings - although being a converted prison, the rooms don't have a lot of natural light. Good, fast and free WiFi.

Breakfast was reasonable enough. Friendly and generally helpful service from the front office.

The only real let down was the quality of the tour that we selected, based on the hotels recommendation, and organised by the hotels supplier, Exotissimo (all day trip by boat to the caves and waterfall). The guide lacked any real depth of knowledge. If you do book a tour take your own bottles of water, snacks etc - as they did not offer us even this most basic level of refreshment during the day. We saw other private boats passing us with customers enjoying a full refreshment service - so there is obviously better choices to be had by booking a trip in town.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeginLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear LeginLondon,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to know that you appreciated your stay and especially the location and your suite.

The hotel is unique. As you mentioned, it was a jail once. But more than this, it has been built in the 1900s as the French Governor Mansion. This site is now UNESCO World Heritage protected.

We hope to see you again in Luang Prabang.

Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Something was wrong my my booking so when I arrived two days "late" the front desk manager told me to tell the taxi driver to wait cause they were fully booked and had no rooms available. He then called the marketing manager who came and said that hotel was practically empty so no problem with a room for 2 nights. So why the lie by front desk manager ?

Then the next day the front desk clerk could care less as to helping us and was rather indifferent and not friendly to our requests to see the town and culture. Not helpful at all and just walked away without excusing himself to attend to another guest like we were a statute of some sort.

At the wine bar I ordered wine and wanted cheese but they only had one type of blue cheese.

I had wine on our porch and glasses were still there next day when I left at noon, even though I found a card that they tried to clean the room.

So I found the hotel empty with terrible service. It has potential but I feel it's run very poorly.

Suggest you stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobkru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Bobkru,

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate to have feedback from our guests because it helps us to improve our service.

Concerning the Front Office issues you had, we apologize and assure you that since your sty we did a lot of modifications on the management and also communication levels.

Concerning the restaurant, it is true that at a time we had small choice. We changed the Menu and enlarged the choice of both wine and cheeses.

We hope to see you again soon so you can measure changes done and give us your opinion.

Best regards,
Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
760 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel

Property: Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Address: Ban Mano, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the French Governor's Fort, the "all-suite" Sofitel Luang Prabang now oozes colonial style and splendour fused with contemporary elegance in one of the finest resorts in the region. Situated on a heritage site in the former royal capital of Laos, the hotel is close to the major tourist attractions. Large courtyards, landscaped gardens, a reflecting pool and fireplaces provide a welcome retreat in all seasons. Individually designed suites create sanctuaries of private space and sumptuous comfort, revitalising the soul. Natural LeSpa therapies and gourmet dining at the Governor's Grill capture the essence of Laos, drawing on its culinary and wellness traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing