We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel : tradition and design.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hotel : tradition and design.”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really perfect. Large rooms, very good service, quiet and very central to discover the beautiful city of Luang Prabang. The personnel is always helpful and the facilities are top level. One of the best place I have ever been to. The pool is amazing.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Carole W,

Sabaidee from beautiful Luang Prabang.

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed not only staying with us but visiting one of Asia's true gems.

I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team, such kind feedback is always appreciated.

Our pool certainly is amazing, I must agree. The black and pearled tiles make a stunning combination. Not to mention the slightly submerged platform where you can just sit and relax, soaking up the sun and cooling in the water simultaneously. If there weren’t so many spectacular things to do and see in Luang Prabang, one might be tempted never to get out.

Thank you for choosing Hotel de la Paix during your visit to Laos, please do feel free to return anytime.

Until then, safe travels

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    107
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
107
319
37
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel was amazing. Truly one of the best I have stayed in the world. The food was outstanding, the room lovely, the bed so comfy, and the service perfect. But what was very special was property itself. The layout makes it feel huge and yet intimate at the same time. The place is magnificient. It was as nice as the Aman resort down the road but 1/5th the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zac E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Zac E,

What can I say? Wow, thank you. Naturally we can’t agree with you more and it is always wonderful to here such lovely comments.

We’re so glad you walked away with great memories of our hotel and that we could contribute to your time in our amazing country. There aren’t too many of us that don’t eagerly anticipate our holidays so when they are good, they are really good, and gives you all the more reason to explore the world.

Feel free to come back any time, we would love to have stay with us again.

Until then, safe travels and very best regards

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This gorgeous fortress was a prison until 2005!!! The former exercise yard is now a tranquil garden with a beautiful pool. The former cells transformed into luxurious suites with outdoor bathrooms, gardens, patios and comfortable beds with crisp white linens and cushy pillows. It's just cool. Simple (in the best way). They don't even have a sign out front which just feels classy and special. Loved it.

There's a beautiful 'library' that serves as in interior seating for the restaurant. You can also sit outside and enjoy the gardens. The food is very tasty.

The location is quite good. It's a short walk or a shorter tuk tuk ride to the center of town with the night market and restaurants.

Finally, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. We felt very safe and at home here. I would definitely return.

GO. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear AndyCali74,

Sabaidee from serene Luang Prabang! Thank you for your review of our ‘fortress”. We do like to think of ourselves as a little pleasure oasis. Guarded and private and the perfect retreat to vivificate the soul.

I am very proud to say we have a wonderful team all of whom possess a disposition that is genuinely friendly and caring – this is Laos and that is in general the nature of the country, no wonder it is such a fabulous place to visit.

Should you indeed return, please do contact us, we would love to welcome you back.

Until then, safe travels and very best regards

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a lovely resort in the old jail of Luang Prabang. The rooms are huge and beautiful and the whole property has a very serene luxurious feel.

Breakfast is served in the Library and whilst they are trying very hard, there was nothing that could be done to ensure the food would come to the table other than stone cold. Even once it was sent back it was still returned icy.

The outdoor shower rooms were beautiful but the mosquito population that lived in them was a bit trying after a couple of days. Ask for a can of fly spray and remember your 80% DEET.

A bit of work on their food and I think they will have it all together.

Room Tip: Insist on your food being served hot and remember your DEET
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear MJ9999,

Sabaidee and thank you for your kind review. Firstly may I apologize that we could not seem to get your breakfast to you piping hot. I will certainly discuss this issue with our Chef, I promise our intention and usual standard is always highly regarded and it disappoints me to know we did not realize your expectation.

As for the DEET, yes it is necessary especially in this season when we often need to delay our fogging due to the weather. We generally fog every week and that keeps the mosquitoes at bay, however during periods of consistent rain we are not able to under take this weekly spray. The joy of living in paradise occasionally has a down side.

Thank you again for taking the time to post.

Safe travels always - Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Wonderful peaceful property with a very zen atmosphere but still very close to the centre of town only 10 min walk. Beautifully kept grounds and my Garden suite was very large with an own private garden huge bedroom large bathroom with big marble tub and separate shower room and toilet. The staff is highly attentive and willing to do its utmost to accommodate your needs.

. The manager is really keen on making it a great place to stay and she has succeeded. The spa is also nice and luxurious much better than the back packer places in town but also 3-4 x the price but as all is very cheap it is well worth it compared to any other 5 star property good value
The restaurant has a good wine selection and food is good. It is actually a very romantic hotel as they light candles in the room every night ... Highly recommended! It would have had five points in terms of location would it have been on the river. I gave 4 points for fitness but I mean spa it still could use a steam room.

Room Tip: Garden suites are large and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmourey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Imourey,

Sabaidee and thank you from all of us for your very kind review. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. The team really does do all they can to make sure you walk away not just enjoying our hotel but also to ensure that our guests make the most of just how special Luang Prabang really is.

Great to hear you experienced the Spa, it is the premier Spa in Luang Prabang and our therapists are masters in their craft. As for the steam room, watch this space, we are working on it.

Romantic, tranquil, individual luxury is what we aim to offer all guests and I am pleased to hear we did exactly that for you.

Thank you for staying with us.

Very best regards - Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I thought we found a sanctuary in Luang Prabang. It is like a sanctuary because of its tranquility, gentle pace and peaceful Buddistic practicses. Hotel De La Paix was another sanctuary within the bigger sanctuary, or an extension of it. We absolutely think that this is one of the best hotels to chill out and relax for those who need a totally relaxing hotel. The moment we stepped into the hotel, we felt the calmness. This was a result of the warm welcome given to us by the hotel staff and the whole ambience of the hotel. !

Every single member of staff was extremely courteous and friendly. Their attention to detail and standard of service is one of the highest quality we have seen. Our room was spacious and our beds were so comfortable, it was hard to roll out of it in the morning. We only had the weekend there but the staff were very accommdating. They organised the alms giving for the monks at dawn and athough Chef Hongly couldn't do the normal cooking class in the morning with us, he came back in the evening to have one with us. The food he taught us to cook needless to say was scrumptiously delicious. We managed to squeeze in two massages at the SPA - we had one of the best massages ever! There is nothing that we can fault with this hotel and it deserves every gold star it can get.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Masie88,

Sabaidee and a very big thank you from all the team at Hotel de la Paix for your wonderful review of our little treasure. We are indeed a sanctuary and I could not have described our ambiance better and it is easy for our team to translate this in their day to day work as we are constantly surrounded by the warmth and positivity that the hotel projects – yes even given it’s former life.

Chef Hongly has a way of bring out the natural chef in everyone that joins him for a cooking class, so not surprised to hear your food was delicious, the best thing being you have your cookbook so you can make it home.

As for the Spa, Pookie and her team really do deliver a Spa experience that parallels some of the best in the world, and that is no small claim that I will hand on my heart herald to the world.

We are always here, so whenever you have a chance to break away for the weekend we will welcome you back with open arms.

Until then safe travels - Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in! I could stop there but it wouldn't do the team at the hotel justice.

First, the reception staff. To a man and woman they go out of their way to make your stay in Luang Prabang memorable. Nothing is too much trouble: they're helpful and polite; they know the town and they give the benefit of their knowledge. We stayed in a pool suite. It was fantastic with a private pool and courtyard. The high "prison" wall gives total seclusion. The bed is large and comfortable and the bathroom is sensational. The doors to the outside area fold back so you can shower or bathe with the light flooding in.

The turndown service provides real atmosphere as they light candles and an MP3 player plays soft Laotian music.

Breakfast is amazing. The choice is wide and the quality of the food and its presentation is first class. I'm betting the prisoners didn't enjoy their stay as much as we did. We will look forward to coming back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RomaPHILE33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear RomaPHILE33,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our very unique and special hotel. Luang Prabang is a pretty special place in itself but we know being able to stay in our UNESCO protected and rather fabulous hotel makes it that much better.
Our team is passionate about our treasure, their town, hence being so willing to lend their knowledge. For sure they gave you all the best tips and places to see.
The pool suite is actually my favourite suite in the house, bravo for choosing that category in particular, though all the suites are just as private and each has it’s own garden courtyard area. Showering with the doors open is mildly decadent and certainly what holidays are made for.
Do feel free to come back and “do time” with us again.
With very best regards - Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
760 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel

Property: Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Address: Ban Mano, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the French Governor's Fort, the "all-suite" Sofitel Luang Prabang now oozes colonial style and splendour fused with contemporary elegance in one of the finest resorts in the region. Situated on a heritage site in the former royal capital of Laos, the hotel is close to the major tourist attractions. Large courtyards, landscaped gardens, a reflecting pool and fireplaces provide a welcome retreat in all seasons. Individually designed suites create sanctuaries of private space and sumptuous comfort, revitalising the soul. Natural LeSpa therapies and gourmet dining at the Governor's Grill capture the essence of Laos, drawing on its culinary and wellness traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing