We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The rooms, service and food are wonderful, exactly as in other reviews. I would definitely come here again. It is far enough out of the main area of town for it not to be inconvenient. The is a wonderful calm about this hotel and even tough I was there with my husband I would recommend it as a perfect place to visit if you were traveling on your own. I thoroughly enjoyed the massage however the pedicure treatment I had later was not so good particularly for the price, more training here as really it was just having my toenails painted. The pool is wonderful and the temperature of the water just right.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hightea9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Janet G,

Warm wishes from Luang Prabang and thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Further to your comments regarding the quality of your pedicure, you will be pleased to know we have had the opportunity to receive further professional training from our supplier of Spa products. The team has been completely re-trained with the entire process receiving an overall. To add to this we have purchased new equipment and services to add to the foot treatments.

I sincerely appreciate the comments and please know they were well received and actioned. Now you will just have to come back to our very special village and experience for yourself. ☺

Safe travels where ever you may go in future.

As ever - Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Fabulous stay in Luang Prabang. This hotel is a few blocks off the hectic main street. We stayed during the Lao New Year and it became a sanctuary after all the water festival activities outside the compound. The garden suite rooms are serene with outdoor bathtub and shower. The gardeners keep the pool and lawn area impeccable. The breakfast is fantastic with local choices as well as the usual full American breakfast. Be sure to try the Lao noodles. The staff including the hotel manager and food and beverage manager were so friendly. We went one night to the sister hotel 3 Nagas for dinner and Kirsty, the manager drove us herself because all the other drivers were busy - what service!!

The spa facilities were great - ask for Yin or the Manager - both give a great massage. We indulged every day since there is a wide variety of treatments in addition to the massages.

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so memorable. We will treasure the memories and hope to be back.

Eileen M from New York

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJqueen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear MJqueen8,

Thank you for your kind and generous review of our hotel and team. Hotel de la Paix is a haven at the best of times and when it comes to Pii Mai, no matter how much fun, it is even better to have a sanctuary to escape too, I couldn’t agree more.

I’m so glad you took the opportunity to enjoy the Spa, Ms Pookie and her team are natural care givers and you can definitely feel the attention in every treatment. Not to mention holidays are for pampering and indulgence.

New York is a little way away but if you do indeed get the chance to return, we will look forward to welcoming you with open arms. Now you have experienced fun and hectic Pii Mai, perhaps next time come back when the village is in it’s normal gentle easy day to day flow. A very different experience, both just as wonderful as the other.

I remain always, with very best regards - Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of March/beginning of April 2014. The room we had, a garden suite, was fantastic. The beds are very comfortable, the bathroom facilities excellent, and there was space both in the private garden area to the rear of our room, and the veranda area to the front, to relax. The grounds are beautifully laid out and well tended, and the hotel has a fantastic spa, a beautiful swimming pool and a lovely restaurant/bar area, where you can sit outside in the evening and hear the sound of the gekkos, birds and cicadas - very atmospheric. The staff at this hotel really help to make your stay special - they are well trained, friendly very obliging and really make the effort to ensure you have everything the way you want it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morag P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Morag P,

Sabaidee and very warm greetings from Luang Praang.

Thank you for your lovely review of Hotel de la Paix, I will be sure to pass your generous comments to all our team.

Being a self confessed Spa Junkie I cannot agree more, Spa Indochine is fantastic and I would go so far as to say, a Luang Prabang hidden treasure. We have an amazing team of therapists headed by Ms Pookie, who lives and breaths Spa and Wellness, definitely worth the indulgence….

Our team in general is as you stated very obliging. Laos is a nation of genuinely beautiful people who seem born with basic hospitality in their blood. The service provided is definitely from the heart and is actually one of the most enjoyable parts of living in this beautiful country.

You will be welcome any time, so please let us know if you have the chance to return.

Until then safe journey - Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed 4 nights here and we had a room with a private pool for the first 3;the
room was amazing,spacious,the shower outside and the outside pool just for you,
can't be better for a relaxing time;for the last night we have been upgraded in the main suite
but even if the room was bigger it was not as romantic as the other,a lot of space lost in the room
the garden outside was not enjoyable and the privacy was not as good too.
The staff is very friendly and they are always here when you need;the breakfast in the morning
is excellent and you can enjoy the sunrise lights in the garden,the perfect start for your day.

Room Tip: get the room with the private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurent503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Laurent503,

Sabaidee and very warm greetings from Hotel de la Paix.

Thank you for your comments regarding the upgraded room. It is very large and whilst the ‘best’ suite in the house, it potentially is not as intimate as the Pool Suite. I must confess I am a huge fan of our Pool Suites and would always recommend them to Honeymooners or couples in general.

I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to our team. We make a point of showcasing all our TA review for each to access and understand exactly what makes a guest stay so special. Each guest is so very different that we don’t want to miss that little something that is important or may create the ‘memory of a lifetime’.

I have no doubt the rest of your journey was as enjoyable and wish you safe travels always.

Kind regards - Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

What a lovely place to be locked up in,this is a converted prison that has been transformed into a wonderful place to stay.The old yard is now a wonderful courtyard with a pool and small water feature at the opposite side,with pristine garden area that is very well looked after.The rooms are amazing,ours had a private garden so you could open the doors and your bedroom and bath/shower area looked straight into it,with the addition of a patio area aswell.The room itself had a large bed with mosquito nets all around,and everything was spotless,the doors opened up on this side to the courtyard.Breakfast was spot on,and the evening food we tried was just the same.If you are staying in this resort there are plenty of excursions,we did the temples and the mekong trip.A great place to stay on the 3rd leg of our tour,onwards to Vietnam now for the 4th leg in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear LS9 york,

Thank you for your generous review of our hotel. We do have a very special hotel and has all the more charming simply knowing what we were and who we are now. Mind you we must have been minimum security as the old photos we have on file have the main doors wide open and everyone looking very relaxed.

All our rooms feature their own private garden. The tall walls only adding to the intimacy and providing a perfect sanctuary at the end of a day of exploring our amazing little village.

Thank you for including us in your tour of Indochina. Our gentle pace and beautiful people make us a must do destination when ever over this way. I’m sure we added some very special memories to your trip.

Very best regards - Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

As you step in for the 1st time and if you know it was a prison you get a little worried but once go enter the suite room you fall in love with it. Nice garden, comfortable rooms, nice size bathroom, very good a la carte breakfast - try the local noodle soup, and the mini bar has beer, refreshments, chocolate, juices - replenished daily. Staff very helpful and professional. Wi-fi in the room could be challenging but once properly set up works well. Food is very reasonable - room service and at restaurant. Nice pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Bonia B,

Thank you for your review and lovely words about our little ‘prison’.

My apologies that you experienced difficulty with the wifi, it is occasionally a challenge but certainly something that we are aware of and making plans to smooth over so that it is easy, accessible and sufficient at all hours of the day.

The noodle soup for breakfast is my favourite too. In fact for any time of day. Lao food is simple, clean, full of fresh flavours and difficult to have enough of. I’m so glad you enjoyed.

I do hope the rest of your trip was as enjoyable as your Lao leg.

Where ever you travel to next be safe and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Very best regards - Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We usually stay in bigger hotels so this was a shock to the senses. It is not a big chain hotel, not as slick as others we have stayed in but it is the better for it.

It is small and set around a courtyard garden. We are a family with 4 young children and I was concerned about the lack of interconnecting rooms. Our rooms connect through the garden rather than internally but it was not a problem.

We spotted other guests at meals in the garden but most of the time we felt like we had the hotel, garden and pool to ourselves.

We had a pool of our own but there is also a hotel pool.

I think that they don't have many young families as all other groups were couples and I don't know how they felt about the noises coming from our pool when they children were splashing around in the afternoon after sightseeing in the morning but the staff were great and looked after us we'll.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Claire_Dub

Sabaidee and warm greetings from Hotel de la Paix.

There were indeed all sorts of noises coming from your corner of the courtyard, but they were happy noises, so I think that only added to the atmosphere. I was sitting with guests in our Library one afternoon and they commented that the kids must have been having a fabulous time. I can assure you nobody minded at all.

Given our origins and protection listing we are not able to have interconnecting rooms as we are not allowed to change the structure of the building. Hence we have done the next best thing and provided the gate between the back garden fences.

With only 23 suites it is easy to make it seem the entire property is all yours. The hotel is a haven of tranquility and even full can feel as if you are the only guests in residence.

Thank you for taking the time to pen a review.

Wishing you and your family safe travels always - Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
616 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#6 of 71 in Luang Prabang
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
827 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
747 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel

Address: Ban Mano, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £162 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the French Governor's Fort, the "all-suite" Sofitel Luang Prabang now oozes colonial style and splendour fused with contemporary elegance in one of the finest resorts in the region. Situated on a heritage site in the former royal capital of Laos, the hotel is close to the major tourist attractions. Large courtyards, landscaped gardens, a reflecting pool and fireplaces provide a welcome retreat in all seasons. Individually designed suites create sanctuaries of private space and sumptuous comfort, revitalising the soul. Natural LeSpa therapies and gourmet dining at the Governor's Grill capture the essence of Laos, drawing on its culinary and wellness traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing