We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Perfect Spa”
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed at a different property but were directed to Alila Luang Prabang as the classiest Spa Treatment in Luang Prabang, Restored traditional Laos Houses are the romantic setting, and a professional and experienced team of staff advised on the appropriate massage choice along with suggested olis to accompany. The Hotel also looked nice, very spacious which seemed rare in Luang Prabang, quiet and peaceful, will definitely consider if we can return here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKW255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear SKW255100,

Thank you for this kind comment.

We are happy to see that you appreciated you experience at the Spa Indochine.

W hope to see you at the spa or at the hotel

Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    106
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
104
314
35
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Our hotel room (deluxe heritage double, as I recall) was huge and very impressive - our own private garden, big screen TV, double sinks, and one of the best showers I've ever been in, though it had the usual designer hotel issue of not enough clothes (or towel) hanging space. The lovely outdoor pool was a few steps away, in a picturesque courtyard surrounded by lowrise buildings with corner towers (it was originally the city's prison). The whole ambience was relaxed and low-key, and the free bicycle hire was extremely welcome. Staff were relaxed and friendly. It's a 15 minute walk from the centre of town but that's not really an issue as it's an interesting walk (and you get to see the monks collecting alms around the local area if you get up early enough, away from the crowds following the main procession). Our only criticism, which for some people might be a positive point, is that we weren't really left alone at breakfast. At one point there were 3 waiters dealing with us, then the assistant manager wished us good morning (fine in itself), then the manager came over for a chat. I felt she was a little intrusive - we were in the middle of eating and she was trying to engage us in a conversation, having just done the same to the table next to us. It struck me as a bit artificial and inappropriate, especially given the slightly OTT number of waiters dealing with us and continuously asking if we wanted more toast/juice/coffee etc. I shouldn't really complain, but I am anyway. Overall though, great hotel, especially as we got the last few days of the special discounted period.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonysony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear tonysony,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to know that your Heritage Suite suited you.

Concerning the service, we are always training them to be as helpful as possible. So I can assure you hast since your stay the staff acts more spontaneously and naturally.

We hope to see you again soon

Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We stayed 5 nights at this LOVELY Alila Luang Prabang. Really nice room layout and 5-star service. Extremely comfortable King-size bed. Bath room was also wonderful with rain-shower option and high-top bathtub. Beautiful swimming pool. Breakfast menu was amazing, I especially loved the pancake and chocolate croissant. The staff was super nice and genuine. One of my favorite boutique hotels ever!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upsofast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear upsofast,

Thank you very much for this nice comment.

We are more than happy to see that you appreciated both your suite and the Restaurant.

We hope to see you again soon in Luang prabang,

Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

My partner and I splurged on a pool suite at Alila for our last night in Luang Prabang. The hotel itself is set in a former detention centre, which now is refurnished beautifully and as the general manager, Karin jokingly pointed out, "designed to keep guests IN the resort".

Plus points of our stay include: the AMAZING king sized bed; the excellent service in particular at the restaurant and spa; indulgent spas packages; affordable spa products - my partner and I carried home 7 tubs of the heavenly cocoa and honey body butter as Christmas presents for our loved ones; and the restaurant's excellent food.

Our stay was not perfect though. Our room's water supply system was cranky which resulted in the very noisy taps (both shower heads and wash basins) that choked and spurted water intermittently. Very disturbing, especially after a nice relaxing swim. Also, there were small but nonetheless unsightly stains on the furniture of our room, which surprised us considering the hotel was merely two months old.

Service was also very clumsy on two occasions. We were met with an empty spa reception at 11am when we wanted to purchase spa products before check-out. We were only told by the hotel reception after a few flustered phone calls that the spa attendants were on medical leave. Having no one realize this or any replacement staff placed on duty two hours after its slated opening time is quite unbecoming of a world renowned hotel group. To make things worse, the reservations staff overlooked our request for a vintage mercedes as our airport transfer. This came as a second disappointment as my partner, an avid fan of cars, was looking forward to the experience tremendously

It was a great pity that our stay was marred by the aforementioned incidents because really, my partner and I thoroughly enjoyed the rest of our time there. Service at the restaurants and the spa (when it was opened) is highly commendable and definitely one of the best that we've experienced. When this resort gets past its initial teething stage and further beefs up its service quality levels, it would be a great getaway for all who want to experience the gorgeous Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billiejeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear billiejeann,

Thank you for this review.

We are happy to know that you appreciated staying in one of our four pool suites.
The hotel has a unique history. As you mentioned, it has been a jail once. But more than this it has been built in the 1900s as the French Governor Mansion. This exceptional fort is now UNESCO protected as World Heritage Site.

We hope to see you again in Laos,

Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Don't have a bad word to say.. Property is beautiful, food was incredible and staff was incredibly warm. Location is also great- 15 minute walk from the main drag and nighty market. If ever we're back in Laos, we look forward to a repeat visit!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapleleafboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear mapleleafboy,

Thank you so much for this nice comment.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again soon in Luang Prabang.

Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

six words : Ultimate place for relaxation and beauty

Spent 4 days in a pool suite which is around 110 sqm meter villa with big garden and pool area. it's was worth to pay more. The decoration is asian style, laos style with lots of wood and high ceiling. In the morning i just roll out of bed into our private pool. bliss. The bed had mosquitoe nets around it, which makes it quite exotic.

When we went, it was very hot, so we spent most of our time in coffee shops and temples or in our villa suite. They have bicycle (with gears) you can use for free to ride around the city which is quite small. You need a bicyle with gear since it's quite hilly in luangprabang. The temples are nice and the small coffee shop in luangprabang is charming woth to visit and ride along the mekong river.

The hotel itself looks like in an asian aristocrat palace surrounded by big walls, with big garden in the middle. decorate modern style.

On the way back we also got sent back in a vintage car. Quite the charm.

This is good place if you like relaxation and just swim around your private pool, and read a book

like most luxury hotels, the bed is soft. Some people may like. The shower and bath opens into the garden. Service is attentive. On one night we had the whole hotel to ourselves since we were only guest. There were 3 staff at reception looking after us, and 5 staff in restaurant just for us. Quite rare event in my traveling days.

There is also free wifi in the rooms, which is a must these days for all hotels.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Profiterole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Profiterole,

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed one of our four pool suites.

We take a special care of the design of each room to offer a unique and typical design.

Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We were suposed to stay at this new Alila Resort but unfortunately the opening was delayed and alternative hotel was arranged for us. While in Luang Prabang we were invited by a manager to visit this resort and Karin (manager) showed us arround. When we were there they were getting ready for the opening. Of course, I cannot say anything about service, food but we saw enough to say that resort is truly charming and beautiful! The rooms we saw are spacious, with huge bathrooms, some with swimming pool and nicely decorated. Beautiful swimming pool and beautiful spa. Luang Prabang is a charming place and this new resort is a great addition to Luang Praban's hotel scene!
We already booked a stay for next year to experience the full package...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Arturas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Arturas,

Thank you for this good comment.

We are happy to know that you appreciated what you saw.

We hope to see you soon at the hotel for a stay so you can give us your opinion about the service and the food.

Best regards,
Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
754 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
573 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel

Property: Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Address: Ban Mano, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the French Governor's Fort, the "all-suite" Sofitel Luang Prabang now oozes colonial style and splendour fused with contemporary elegance in one of the finest resorts in the region. Situated on a heritage site in the former royal capital of Laos, the hotel is close to the major tourist attractions. Large courtyards, landscaped gardens, a reflecting pool and fireplaces provide a welcome retreat in all seasons. Individually designed suites create sanctuaries of private space and sumptuous comfort, revitalising the soul. Natural LeSpa therapies and gourmet dining at the Governor's Grill capture the essence of Laos, drawing on its culinary and wellness traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing