We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Shinta Mani at the end of March. We had already stayed three nights in the village, prior to moving to the Shinta with the intention of escaping some of the noise of the city. Upon our arrival we were advised that we were the only guests in the hotel. We were shown to our room, and had been upgraded to a pool villa.

The room was beautiful and looked exactly like the images on the hotel website. They were modern and sleek with lovely wood floors and a fantastic view. We had just settled into our lounge chairs by our private pool and helped ourselves to a drink from our free mini bar when we heard the sound of an electric saw. I discovered there was construction not more than a few feet below our villa, with a worker sawing and planning wood. This continued until 6:30 pm.

Additionally there is a huge project at the base of the hill and the back up beepers from the construction equipment joined in chorus with the construction sounds from the hotel. I complained to the employee at the desk and was told nothing could be done. We ate dinner at the hotel, having it delivered to out outdoor dining table. The food was wonderful and my daughter ate more than I had seen her eat on our entire vacation!

The next morning we had breakfast delivered to our room as we were advised the restaurant was closed. The food was cold by the time it arrived. The construction began at 7:00 a.m. We were out for the day on a drive to the waterfall and decided we would only stay one more night.

After writing to the manager, he requested to meet with me. After expressing my concerns he apologized and we negotiated what I felt was a very fair price for our stay. I do believe this hotel will be wonderful at a future time, it was just not ready for guests at the time we were there!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank koebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Luang Prabang View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2011

We have recently spent four nights at Shinta Mani and this is a potentially splendid hotel let down by what one hopes are teething problems.
The staff are the resort's strongest point; delightful, helpful and ever at ones service. They are just wonderful.
Rooms are very well equipped and very well thought out and designed. They are let down by the air con system which was very efficient and very noisy to the extent that it disturbed sleeep. Wi Fi did not work in our room and was erratic elsewhere in the hotel.
The location of the resort and its design atop a hill is impressive. The pool area is exceptional. But and it is a huge BUT. The pool area invites peace and tranquility but they have an automatic music system which starts up when one walks around the pool side and blares out a sort of fusion eastern pop -so loudly one can even hear it in ones room. It absolutely destroys the whole point of the place, crass.
The serious limitation for the independent tourist is transport into town. The hotel is located some way out of town in a location not easy to find. The hotel advertises a half hour shuttle service BUT does not provide one. They will willingly transport one into town and pick you up at an agreed time. However one usually does not know what time one wants to return when setting out for the day. This means hiring a tuc tuc for the return trip. We did this four times. NONE OF THE FOUR TUC TUC DRIVERS KNEW WHERE THE HOTEL WAS LOCATED. That indicates how difficult the journey can be. This is a problem which needs sorting quickly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidMcNBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimLP, Sales & Marketing Manager at Luang Prabang View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

We would like to thank you very much for staying with us at Shinta Mani Luang Prabang, and for your very constructive and helpful comments.
We do acknowledge that as the newest hotel in Luang Prabang we are working our way through some soft opening teething challenges and that there is some room for improvement in some areas.

We are aware of the Internet connection problem, and recently we have upgraded to new provider. Concerning the music at the swimming pool area, your message is well noted and we have adjusted volume levels. We are reaching out to the local Tuk Tuk drivers, in order to familiarize them with the hotel and will include the hotel address in Lao on our key card.
Our free shuttle service to the Village Center will improved very soon with an additional new van.

Following your comments, we found there’s an error in the AC installation.We will reinstall very soon. Many thanks for the valuable feedback.

Once again, on behalf of the whole Shinta Mani team, I thank you for you comments and hope that you will return to beautiful Luang Prabang in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Wonderful hotel of a well reputed chain, stayed here for few nights, very nice rooms, mine with a terrace and and astonishing valley view.
Magnificent pool on top of the hill with amazing view, wifi not really working properly it shall improve anyway they still in soft opening than I guess they will make it faster soon.
Top service and care, pricey but worth all they charging

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimHudgens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimLP, Sales & Marketing Manager at Luang Prabang View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

On the behalf of the whole Shinta Mani team, I would like to thank you very much for staying with us and for your review.
Our Wifi connection is indeed under reviewing with our engineer team in order to improve it and make it more reliable. I trust the problem should be fixed very soon.
We look forward to seeing you again if you wish to spend some more time in the magnificent city of Luang Prabang, or in our sister property in Siem Reap.

Very best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

I have lived in Luang Prabang for over three years. Last week I began looking at the luxury hotels in town for my wife and me to celebrate our anniversary. I visited all of the top end hotels in Luang Prabang looking for the perfect accommodation and chose Shinta Mani and am so glad I did. We stayed in a beautiful villa with a private pool. Our room had unbelievable views of the city and because the hotel is situated on a hill in town I'm sure all the rooms would have great views. One of our favorite features in the room was a massive day bed in front of a huge window. The main swimming pool is wonderful and because of its location gives you a 360 degree view of the surrounding mountains and town. The complimentary mini-bar is a nice touch and the breakfast was outstanding. I'm sure this brand new hotel will only get better after the official opening and once all the amenities (spa and gym) are up and running. It will be our hotel of choice for special occasions.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonmford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We had stayed in Shinta Mani in Siaem Reap a year ago, and were very satisfied. So when we found out that Shinta Mani was opening a new hotel in Luang Prabang, we did not think twice. And we were not disappointed. This hotel was truly spectacular!

The location - This hotel is set on top of a hill approx. 15 min. from town, with a 360 degree view of Luang Prabang and the surrounding mountains. Fabulous! You can see the sunrise, hearing the roosters and the morning chants in the early morning, and see the sunset as well. At the very top of the hill, they have built a beautiful, large pool, where you can sit and enjoy the view as well. They have plenty of deck chairs for relaxing, sunbathing, and even enjoy a foot massage! And although they are not located in the center of town, their complimentary shuttle service to and from town was very efficient.

The rooms - The hotel is still under construction, but during this soft opening period they already have more than 30 rooms available. They are very slick modern, clean, with very comfortable beds and luxurious bathrooms. Each room is like a small villa, very bright and spacious. We had a room with a large terrace overlooking the mountains, which was great for relaxing at the end of a day of trekking. Just like in Siaem Reap, the minibar is included in the rate at no extra charge, which is a very nice feature.

The service - top notch! Since the Shinta Mani Siaem Reap is currently under renovation, most of the staff from Siaem Reap is now working here in Luang Prabang, training the local staff. It was very nice to see some familiar faces! They are all very friendly, and always willing to go above and beyond the call of duty to please the customers. It is also nice to know that part of the profit the hotel makes goes to support their school of hospitality. I tried a foot massage one afternoon, and cannot say it was great. You can get a much better foot massage in town for a fraction of the price. There is free WiFi throughout the hotel, but the signal is pretty weak and the service is intermittant. I am not sure if this is a problem in Luang Prabang in general, or a problem in the hotel, but with some patience, we eventually were able to access the Internet as needed.

The food - The complimentary breakfast was spectacular! I am not sure if they will have a buffet setup in the future, but right now you get a very wide selection of a-la-carte items that are prepared fresh and brought to your table, while you are enjoying the beautiful views of Luang Prabang from the top of the hill. They make fresh eggs, delicious crepes, fresh fruit, fresh juices, and pastries (croissants) to die for! There is also an asian menu, but we did not try it. Their coffee is fresh and delicious as well. We also had dinner at the hotel one night, and enjoyed their Lao Sampler menu, which, I have to say, was not spectacular, but nevertheless tasty.

If you are looking for a spectacular setting, top notch service and comfortable accommodations in Luang Prabang, Shinta Mani is the place for you. Truly amazing! Congratulations, Shinta Mani!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcdgjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimLP, Sales & Marketing Manager at Luang Prabang View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

Sabaidee !
Thank you very much for your review! We are glad to read that you enjoyed staying with us at Shinta Mani.
From now on, our breakfast is indeed including both "buffet" and "à la carte" items.
The Internet connection has already improved, becoming far more stable and we are now fixing the Wifi access which should be be finished very soon.
The Shinta Mani team, both from Luang Prabang and Siem Reap, send you their warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed for 5 Fantastic nights at Shinta Mani & could not recommend this place highly enough. Actually we only ended up staying because the place we had originally booked (the Mekong Estate) whilst beautiful was a nightmare with continual trucks that were (and are still) sand dredging the Mekong ALL day & thus made staying there a nightmare with dust & noise. So we searched & found Shinta Mani & in retrospect are sooooooooooo happy that they we had to move there. It's an Oasis in Luang Prabang. The rooms are super. The General Manager Adi Jayer has a wonderful welcoming personality to have around & the staff he has chosen will do their utmost to make your stay memorable. Gee, with the amazing pool on the hill top it'll be hard to take yourself away to see the sights in the historic town. Or at the very least you can look forward to extreme comfort on your arrival back after a day out. This is billed as a 4 star hotel but I'd say it's definitely worthy of an extra one 5*. There's free mini bar, a shuttle service in & out of the old town & 'trek' European mountain bikes at your disposal & great massage services which you can take by the pool. We LOVED it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danjolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimLP, Sales & Marketing Manager at Luang Prabang View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

Dear danjolie,

Thank you very much for your support to Shinta Mani ! We were really glad to meet you and moreover to know that you had a great experience.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again in Luang Prabang or in our sister property in Siem Reap.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Great Staff and Infinity Pool with the best view! View is the best in town. Maximum use was made of this beautiful mountain in the town of Luang Prabang. Villas are the best we've seen in Southeast Asia!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LP7Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimLP, Sales & Marketing Manager at Luang Prabang View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

Dear LP7Michael,
Thanks a lot for taking the time to review Shinta Mani. We are happy to read that you enjoy our location, and indeed, the hill top swimming pool and our rooms provides a very nice view on Luang Prabang valley.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.9 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
771 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 68 in Luang Prabang
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
706 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 68 in Luang Prabang
798 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 68 in Luang Prabang
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luang Prabang View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luang Prabang View Hotel

Address: Phou Meo, Thai Lao Friendship Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos (Formerly Shinta Mani)
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#17 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#18 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £65 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luang Prabang View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming hideaway of Luang Prabang is one of Indochina’s gems and the showpiece of Laos. Designated a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1995, the well preserved city is more of a sleepy backwater than a modern metropolis. Wedged into the confluence of the mighty Mekong and lesser Khan river, Luang Prabang's peaceful location sets the pace for the unhurried way of life in the second largest city in Laos. Its grid-like road network makes it virtually impossible to get lost, and the entire town can be covered on foot in a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Luang Prabang View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinta Mani Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing