We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wide menu but a little disappointing”
Review of Coconut Garden

Coconut Garden
Ranked #24 of 203 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Wide menu but a little disappointing”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This restaurant is well situated on the main street in Luang Prabang and is surprisingly spacious. The staff generally speak some form of English, but that said, they were not that attentive and often forgot to deliver an order. The menu was extensive including a range of local specialities. One of our group tried the Luang Prabang sausage and said it was acceptable, whereas I opted for the Pork Stew. The quality of the meat was somewhat questionable, and the stew itself seemed to have more inedible ingredients added for flavour than it had elements to provide substance. There was a fair amount of heat in the soup, but this was provided by 2 or 3 chillis. The price was higher than many of the competition, perhaps a result of the location and the general clean décor. Don't be fooled though, there are better restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    469
    173
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great place for a nice lunch”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stop in for a tasty lunch. Menu is huge - so many options.

I had a nice salad and a veggie pizza. Others in our group had a Laotian feast - 4 courses or so of deliciousness!

We loved the decor, felt like we were at a beach resort's restaurant.

Service was prompt.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smep013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good food and central in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very good restaurant situated in the heart of Luang Prabang. NB! Do not mix ut with the other restaurant called coconut restaurant!

Restaurant has plenty of waitors so don't fear long waiting at your chair. Good cocktails served and not long waiting for the local specialites served at this restaurant.

Roof covered with fans so you can get your core temparature back down after walking in Luang Prabang :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A nice spot”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We went to the night market and this was handily located at the river end. There were Loatian and Western menu's both quite extensive. We sat at the front of the restaurant although there is a upstairs as well as what looked like a pretty garden area out the back. Service and ambience were both quite good. We had the fusion chicken curry with spagethi and a Hawaiian pizza - both were quite nice and well priced. It sort of caters to all and is family friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sijaamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good local food and service”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I walked by this restaurant a few times and saw many people eating there so I decided to have dinner there one night. I sat in the dining hall facing the street.

The menu had a lot of items. The young man was very polite and informative about the items in the menu. Per his recommendation, I chose a local curry and asked him to make it medium spicy. It was delicious. The coconut ice cream was very pleasant.

The place was well kept and clean.The décor of the dining area was nice and the crockery used for serving food was nice.

The price was moderate. The quantity could be more if you are only having the main course.

If I return to Luang Prabang, I would definitely try some other items from the menu here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Midcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coconut Garden also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Coconut Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing