We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil hotel with great pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Palais Juliana Luang Prabang
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel outside Luang Prabang as part of a small tour group and enjoyed the peace, the pool and the air conditioning as the weather was very hot and sunny. Our ground floor room had a small sitting out area and direct access to the pool. The restaurant was good, the staff very pleasant and we can recommend this hotel for people looking for a comfortable stay away from the bustle of Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms may suffer from damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anpatlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

We loved the tranquil setting. The hotel is about 10 min by tuk tuk outside of Luang Prabang and having spent our last night at a hotel directly in LL we appreciate the tranquility and quietness even more.

The staff was very friendly. The breakfast buffet plenty, mix of Western/Asian food with a chef who would make you eggs to order and another one to make noodle soup. If you are lucky you catch a table at the terrace. One day we ate lunch at the restaurant and enjoyed our food very much. Well prepared and very flavorful.

The room was spacious, had a day bed in there (which was great to put all our stuff there). The bed was very comfortable and we both slept really well. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath tub and the water pressure was great.

Pool area was very nice (there are not many hotels with pools) and we enjoyed a massage at the outdoor spa.

The downside was that this hotel is used by some tour groups (which is okay) but we had experienced on two days that our room neighbors got picked up very early (at 5am and at 6am).

Getting into town takes some planing as the hotel shuttle only leaves four times during the day to drive to downtown (also four return trips). A tuk tuk costs 50,000 kids, which can add up. However we prefer a tuk tuk ride over the noisy downtown area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs (or a villa), which views the pool area. Downstair rooms face the pool walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFOMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

An odd hotel. The swimming pool is georgeous and the room we had fine , with all that you would expect in a luxury hotel except no western TV channels. But there were very few people there - we stayed three nights and the first night it was almost empty but there were a few more on our final night. There are also very few staff - they manage and are very nice , and service is OK but only just. The restaurant is small and could not cater for all the guests if the hotel was busy. The first night we had dinner there - one waiter who also manned the bar and the only other person in evidence was the receptionist although I think there were two in the kitchen. The menu is very limited and whilst the quality of what they produce is OK don't expect any great culinary experience here. Breakfast is weak but adequate but would be better for Oriental guests. It's a ten minute Tuk Tuk drive into town but the hotel runs a (very limited) minibus service. We enjoyed the pool but the rest of the experience was somewhat colourless. No fitness centre that we could find and no spa but these are things we didn't come here for. Come here for the pool and the views from the garden , also it's very quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CinnamonLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Le Palais Juliana is a spacious Garden property. It has a excellent pool area and the "Hill Station" type weather is very nice. In December January it was aound 28C during the day but with very little humidity. But Evenings are cold - so take a wrap or a Jacket for evenings out.
I echo the comments of the helvetic traveller - they give a fair summary.
The staff are delightful - but be careful they fully understand your requirements.
I stayed in A pool view room which was nice and comfortable with a balcony.
Nothing for anyone with Children but then again Luang prabang is not catering for a family market. Would i stay here again? Yes - most definately.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest away from Reception will be quieter as less people with early morning check out will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northender71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

stayed there for 5 nights in villa-bungalow. Clean and nice hotel with friendly staff. The villas are settled nicely around some sort of lake on stelts and completely made out of wood. The hotel is, as mentioned earlier, about 10min by tuk tuk outside the city center. The fare is around 40 to 50'000 Kip (4-5 $). Breakfast is ok. the hotel is catering a lot of group travelers, another reason to stay in one of the villas to get away from them. Free wifi. Rooms are very clean. Villas are very calm, in Dec/Jan you don't need A/C, just the mosquito nets and open windows -> excellent sleep.

many nice restaurants in down town.

Room Tip: get a villa, if you don't want to spend that money, stay away from this hotel, as you will be bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helveticTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed three nights at this beautiful hotel and would highly recommend it!
Its location is stunning ,just outside LUANG PRABANG, with gorgeous views of the mountains.
Genuinely impressed with the extensive grounds and the swimming pool. Tasty breakfast and dinners at the lovely restaurant. Attentive service at all times!We hired the hotel bicycles to get us to town and back-a forty minute cycle ride .

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the pool with views of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEITH608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in November in a villa to chill out for a few days after a week of sightseeing in HCMC and Vientiane. Hotel is located about 10 mins drive from Luang Prabang town in a stunning location overlooking the mountains. The hotel runs shuttle service into the town and back which was excellent, pick up and drop off on the main street outside the hotel’s restaurant.

The villa was about a minutes’ walk from the main hotel buildings reached by a raised walkway over an ornamental lake/pond, the villa itself was large with separate WC and bathroom, nicely set out and decorated with a very comfortable bed and large flat screen TV. Wifi worked fine in the public areas but was a little problematic in the room (reception did indicate that the router for the villas was being replaced).

One of the best things about the hotel is the pool which is large and clean and pool area nicely designed with a fantastic backdrop - a great place to relax.

Breakfast buffet is large with indoor/outdoor seating and a good selection of Asian and European food as well as eggs cooked to order and fruit smoothes again to order. We also ate in the restaurant a couple of times which was excellent.

We checked out at noon but didn’t leave for the airport until 6pm and reception allowed us to go back into our room to shower and get ready which was good of them.

The only disappointing aspect of the stay was getting back to the airport. We paid $10 to get to the hotel (fixed price I think) in an Airport Taxi. The hotel car back to the airport was at quoted at $20 which in comparison was expensive so asked reception to call a local cab. As the young gentleman who made the call from reception carried our bags out to the car he said that the local cabs were cheaper than the hotel car at and would charge $15. Didn’t say anything at the time but queried the fare when the driver did in fact ask for $15 when we got to the airport, indicating that the fare was set by the hotel. He phoned (or appeared to) somebody and then returned and reduced the fare to $11 blaming the hotel – I doubt very much if the hotel had any idea of this probably just a porter with a taxi driver mate but beware ! It wasn’t about the money at the end of the day its only a couple of dollars, it was a principle thing.
Other than that a wonderful hotel to relax in and would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yo_spuddie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.6 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
313 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 71 in Luang Prabang
667 reviews
3.1 mi away
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
#17 of 71 in Luang Prabang
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#25 of 71 in Luang Prabang
190 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 71 in Luang Prabang
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palais Juliana Luang Prabang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palais Juliana Luang Prabang

Address: Tcho Phetsalath Street | Ban-Sangkalok, Khet-Sangkalok, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £72 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Palais Juliana Luang Prabang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet with mountain view. Only 10 minutes to town center with scheduled free shuttles. One of the largest swimming pools in Luang Prabang with gym next to the pool. Also caters to meetings/conferences. With 50 hotel rooms and 9 villa units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Palais Juliana Luang Prabang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais Juliana Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing