We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff! Quiet Location! Nice Rooms!”
Review of Le Palais Juliana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Palais Juliana
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff! Quiet Location! Nice Rooms!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Excellent! My family really enjoyed our stay very much! Especially the very friendly and courteous staff.! Love, love, love the pool and the jacuzzi, could live there for days.

Great buffet breakfast with lots of choice. Free shuttle to the town center. Picturesque pond view leading to the villas.

Room Tip: I would recommend this hotel to anybody (family or couples). A must try experience. I enjoyed the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UAGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    56
    28
    15
    4
See reviews for
32
68
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Negatives:
Shuttle bus every 2 hours
No tv channel variety
Away from city
Very Slow internet
Noise starting in the middle of the night

Good stuff:
Nice buffet and fresh juice provided
Picturesque hotel
Very kind personnel
Beautiful rooms
Free internet

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andresit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel has 5-star guest rooms, facilities, pool and garden but these come with a 2-star service from most of the staff. Ensuring flawless service is a known challenge in the developing countries, however in this particular case it's not about the skills and experience of the staff, it's the lack of effort to please their guests which ruins the Le Palais Juliana experience.

Forgotten airport pickup, unavailable city shuttle bus, "no use" bicycle rental, uncleared breakfast table, unfriendly front desk and a large cockroach in the room ... we had something for each day of our stay. However hard I am thinking only the staff at the egg and noodle soup station were up to the standard, the rest were not. We changed our plans and left 2 days earlier, even if we had to pay for all the days that we booked.

Definitely not recommended at the current price level and until they invest into their staff and significantly improve their services. Once a hotel charges $200+ (Grande Deluxe room, stayed there during the holiday season) for a room I see no reason to forgive the poor service and the daily annoyances. There are better deals in Luang Prabang than this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We are an Asian couple who stayed at Le Palais Juliana for 3 nights on our honeymoon. We were delighted with our stay and it provided a wonderfully relaxing venue. We stayed in an Executive Room that offered a splendid view of the pool area. The service provided throughout the stay was superb and the staff were very friendly.  We were provided with bikes to get around town which was lovely. The buffet breakfast was very extensive and provided a great range of options (hot western, local food, pastries, fresh fruit, fresh juices). There is only one restaurant at the resort which had a nice range of Western and local food which was deliciously prepared. The food was cheaper than we would pay in Vietnam. Wifi was free of charge. Did I say that the staff were so friendly, kind and accommodating? Hard to think of any downsides to our stay. We will be recommending Le Palais Juliana to our friends and family!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa Mae I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

It's a lovely hotel with nice garden and great pool. Things look much better compared to pictures. But there are a few problems: 1) it's quite far from city center - 10-15 mins by tuk tuk; 2) there are Mosquitos in the room even though it was only 17 degree C outside, probably due to the low rise of the buildings and the trees outside; 3) hot water at shower would sometimes run out, which my bf experienced on 1 of the 3 nights we stayed there; 4) most importantly, no heating in room, which makes it unbearable when it's 15-17 degree C outside. I personally don't mind the distance too much and didn't go through the cold shower, but I was bothered a lot by the Mosquitos and non existence of heating. I probably won't come back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy_yaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is a lovely hotel. Situated outside the city and somewhat isolated. We were on tour with Grand Circle Travel so the fact that we were somewhat isolated did not bother me a bit. The tour took us to many places from the hotel. The hotel itself is very picturesque with a great pool. The grounds were beautiful. The beds are hard but you have to understand that that is the standard in this part of the world. The people believe that this is good for your bones. You get used to it after awhile. Honestly, we were so tired when we got in the bed that we didn't even notice after the first night. The staff was excellent, the views were great. A nice unique place to stay. The hotel has a somewhat unusual layout. You go up a few steps or down a few steps to get to your actual room. Might be a problem if you can't tolerate steps.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brislenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a palatial looking hotel for the area. It is very far from the activities of Luang Prabang so not fabulous for going for a stroll after dinner. Food was fine and plentiful. Rooms are adequate but very hard bed and in general, not as clean as one would hope. With the large number of truly excellent properties within the city limits of Luang Prabang, I do not actually understand what the unique niche this property was trying to fill. The service is very uneven - friendly, try hard, but there is a lack of understanding that becomes hard to bridge. Room keys were a huge issue for guests while we were there - and they have a colorful local sack of rocks to hang outside the door to not be disturbed...always something new. With the many many other options available, this property would not be on my list to endorse.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.6 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
289 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
644 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
345 reviews
7.8 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
233 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Santi Hotel
Villa Santi Hotel
#27 of 69 in Luang Prabang
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palais Juliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palais Juliana

Property: Le Palais Juliana
Address: Tcho Phetsalath Street | Ban-Sangkalok, Khet-Sangkalok, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Palais Juliana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Palais Juliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais Juliana Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing