We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint place close to center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa
Ranked #12 of 267 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had a lovely large room on ground floor, with French doors that opened up onto a lovely quaint garden. Great for unwinding after a busy day sightseeing. Breakfast was sufficient. But overall thought that the rooms could of been cleaner. We had to ask for complimentary tea/coffee, our dirty cups were not changed for clean. Also sheets were never not changed throughout our 6 day stay. Owner also forget we were leaving at 6 am and we had to wake him up, as a result there was no car available to take us to airport, and we had to rush and find a tuk tuk. Think you can find better for the price. There is a huge range of places to choose from.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

A nice little guest house/hotel with new and spacious rooms. But if it's cold (it was when we were there -- 4 deg C, 39F) it'll be cool in the rooms too. When we arrived the owner was not well set up as there was only solar water heating, so morning showers were tolerable at best. But, to his credit, he listened and installed an electric, auxiliary heater so that problem got solved. Rooms are very nice, like many in LP, but with a garden and in a quiet area -- near the tip of the peninsula formed by Mekong and Nam Khan rivers. Western breakfast with some choices. WiFi and cleaning was ok. Owner's English is a bit limited but he's friendly and very involved in all -- serving breakfast

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 6 are at the end, tho if you're in 3 and noisy people are in 6 above you, you'll...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Owner is really Nice and keep discret. We had a room at the 1st floor (view is better than ground floor).
We could see Monks living from our windows.
Of course WE eard gong at 4 am then 6am but it is really quiet and you feel like living with monks.
It is 10min from city center by feet.
Breakfast is a basic one with bref, eggs and fruit. Juices and tea are not good, anyway it was a lovely place.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Oasis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Located in the lovely quiet area of luang prabang we stayed 3 nights there. The family is nice and they have a nice room in a hut in the midle of the garden. You can here the prayers from the monks and the little garden is lovely. Price is good and the room was clean and well decorated. We felt like at home!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyCParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This guesthouse is located about a 3 minute bike ride from the tourist center of LP. It's nice and quiet, but you can get where you need to be quickly. The room was large with AC, nice sheets and towels, a great rain shower and attractive decor. It is a smaller guest house, but with personalized attention. If breakfast is included, you have to go down the street just a bit to where they serve it. This was a bit of an inconvenience. You can rent bicycles from the restaurant across the street from a really nice lady who makes great shakes, food and baskets. Recommended!!

Room Tip: I did not see them, but the rooms upstairs have little balconies where you can see the street.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greengirle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed in the room for 4 adults - the beds are huge and it was ok for sharing between two couples for three days.

Nice breakfast, beautiful surroundings, clean and well maintained room.

Location is good, very close to the main temple in LP. A short walk from the main stretch of restaurants, but that made this place very peaceful.

I would stay again, and I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 111111_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Spent 5 nights here with my family of four. Organized with the owner to pick us up at the airport and for kip50,000 it was worth it to arrive hassle free. We stayed in the only family room which has two queen size canopy beds, wardrobe, dressing table, mini fridge and flatscreen tv. Great size and plenty of room. Bathroom is a little dated but functional. Clean towels everyday and linen changed while we were there on day 3. It is located on the second floor and there are only six rooms in total, three upstairs and three down. There are also some small bungalows which are the super cheap rooms. The owners live in the main house at the front where the reception desk is. My kids loved the two cute fluffy dogs, two rabbits and fish that are in the lovely garden between the guest house and main house. Breakfast is served in the garden each morning and the tables are set for the house guests. You tick your choices and the owner serves you. Free bike hire is included which we made use of on a couple of days and LP is a great place to ride around. Location if great, as you are right next door to one of the many monasteries where you can watch the Alms giving procession in the morning at around 6.30am and then jump back into bed and have a later breakfast. We walked to the night market every night which is 10minutes down the road. Easy walk to the river to catch slow boat to caves. Great local restaurant just on the main road at the corner which servies pork noodle soup for kip8000 and yummy rice cakes for kip1000. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Family room is great size with two queen sized beds in it and located on the second floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingTeacher011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chaluenxay Villa
Chaluenxay Villa
#10 of 267 in Luang Prabang
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 267 in Luang Prabang
647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 267 in Luang Prabang
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa

Address: Sisaleumsak Road | Ban Phone Houang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £15 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering guests comfortable and clean rooms in the Luang Prabang area, this 3-star property is a perfect place for leisure and business travelers as well as the honeymooners. All the rooms are fully equipped with comfortable beds, a desk, and bathroom with fully stocked amenities. Guests will be able to explore magnificent temples, mesmerizing Pak Ou caves, the Centre market, and memorable scenes of the Mekhong River while you stroll through the cafes that align the river. Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa provides a peaceful and calm ambience for those who wish to spend some time away from the busy world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing