We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice and quiet place, good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khoum Xiengthong Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Khoum Xiengthong Guest House
Ranked #70 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“very nice and quiet place, good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

we had a family room, really big on ground floor. The house is typical colonial style and is sourrounded by a beautiful garden and banana tree. Bathroom is ok. little old but ok and clean.
Location is very good (next to one of the monks temple), near the centrum but far enough (5 min walk) to do not get the noise of the night market. They have bikes for free. The owner is a very kind person. Breakfast is ok. Start at 07.30 so if you have plan to go early for a trip somwhere be ready to go our also for breakfast.
But I really suggest this place beside the magic of Lunag Prabang itself!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tafi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    24
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
23
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had a lovely large room on ground floor, with French doors that opened up onto a lovely quaint garden. Great for unwinding after a busy day sightseeing. Breakfast was sufficient. But overall thought that the rooms could of been cleaner. We had to ask for complimentary tea/coffee, our dirty cups were not changed for clean. Also sheets were never not changed throughout our 6 day stay. Owner also forget we were leaving at 6 am and we had to wake him up, as a result there was no car available to take us to airport, and we had to rush and find a tuk tuk. Think you can find better for the price. There is a huge range of places to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

A nice little guest house/hotel with new and spacious rooms. But if it's cold (it was when we were there -- 4 deg C, 39F) it'll be cool in the rooms too. When we arrived the owner was not well set up as there was only solar water heating, so morning showers were tolerable at best. But, to his credit, he listened and installed an electric, auxiliary heater so that problem got solved. Rooms are very nice, like many in LP, but with a garden and in a quiet area -- near the tip of the peninsula formed by Mekong and Nam Khan rivers. Western breakfast with some choices. WiFi and cleaning was ok. Owner's English is a bit limited but he's friendly and very involved in all -- serving breakfast

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 6 are at the end, tho if you're in 3 and noisy people are in 6 above you, you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puteaux, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Owner is really Nice and keep discret. We had a room at the 1st floor (view is better than ground floor).
We could see Monks living from our windows.
Of course WE eard gong at 4 am then 6am but it is really quiet and you feel like living with monks.
It is 10min from city center by feet.
Breakfast is a basic one with bref, eggs and fruit. Juices and tea are not good, anyway it was a lovely place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Oasis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Located in the lovely quiet area of luang prabang we stayed 3 nights there. The family is nice and they have a nice room in a hut in the midle of the garden. You can here the prayers from the monks and the little garden is lovely. Price is good and the room was clean and well decorated. We felt like at home!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyCParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This guesthouse is located about a 3 minute bike ride from the tourist center of LP. It's nice and quiet, but you can get where you need to be quickly. The room was large with AC, nice sheets and towels, a great rain shower and attractive decor. It is a smaller guest house, but with personalized attention. If breakfast is included, you have to go down the street just a bit to where they serve it. This was a bit of an inconvenience. You can rent bicycles from the restaurant across the street from a really nice lady who makes great shakes, food and baskets. Recommended!!

Room Tip: I did not see them, but the rooms upstairs have little balconies where you can see the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greengirle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed in the room for 4 adults - the beds are huge and it was ok for sharing between two couples for three days.

Nice breakfast, beautiful surroundings, clean and well maintained room.

Location is good, very close to the main temple in LP. A short walk from the main stretch of restaurants, but that made this place very peaceful.

I would stay again, and I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 111111_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
6.1 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#26 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chang Inn
Chang Inn
#44 of 70 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#24 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sackarinh Guest Room
Sackarinh Guest Room
#160 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sayo Naga Guesthouse
Sayo Naga Guesthouse
#78 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khoum Xiengthong Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khoum Xiengthong Guest House

Property: Khoum Xiengthong Guest House
Address: Sisalenrmsak Road | Ban Phone Houang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Khoum Xiengthong Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Khoum Xiengthong Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing