We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in luang prabang!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Luang Say Residence
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The place to stay in luang prabang!!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Everything was perfect in our stay here.
- the a la carte menu was always tasty and delicious
- the rooms are very well decorated and confortable
- all the staff is very friendly and willing to help
- we loved the "night treat" ( different treats every night, from chocolates to local crafts)
- i asked the front desk to make a restaurant reservation as it was my husband's birthday. One hour later 5 members of staff nocked at the door with a birthday cake and singing happybirthday!!!

We really felt welcome there. We felt at home!

Even the location is perfect. Luang prabang being a small town it is nice to ride a bycicle ( hotel provides it free of charge) or take atuk tuk to see a bit more of the town.
Don't hesitate and stay here! I am very glad i did it

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    65
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
114
285
28
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We booked this hotel on a last minute deal on Agoda as part of our 3 week trip around South-East Asia and had 2 nights here. I really loved the hotel, it has a great swimming pool and friendly helpful staff. The rooms are fantastic, we had a standard room that was a huge, beautifully decorated suite. The breakfast is delicious and everynight they give you an evening gift at turn-down service - so sweet!
My only complaint (and I do mean only as everything else was perfect) is that the extras are overpriced (for example chocolate in the mini-bar costs $12!) and a 10minute journey to the airport cost $12. They also provide a shuttle bus to town in the evening but don't do pick-ups which is a bit silly, but it was only about a 15minute walk.
Overall, I'd definitely recommend this hotel for a real luxury stay, although beware that things do start to add up!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MU28traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Luang Say Residence
This is one of my very favorite Hotels in the world! I’ve stayed a little over a month. The staff are incredible, if anything too well trained… If that’s possible. I’m a writer and consultant who works ‘on the road most of the time. My month at Luang Say Residence has been one of my most creative work periods I’ve experienced. That should give you an idea of the space and energy that this resort aspires to. If Hemmingway or Steinbeck were alive today, or perhaps the great bohemian/ French period masters, they all would find a great attraction to this place.
The Pool is beautiful and long enough to swim laps, which you’ll need to do after eating a breakfast which by its’ self alone is worth 50% of the nightly rate. I highly recommend the Eggs Benedict, fantastic French Press Lao coffee, tea. Fresh fruit and juices, on top of that a large basket of freshly baked breads and A+ menu that serves all tastes and culinary needs/desires….French croissants as well as other assorted goodies!!
Great turn down service with a gift each night as well. Very tasteful French-Indochina furnishings and nice writers desk, reminiscent of the French explores who first brought the bread and wine!
The dinner menu is one of the best if not the best in town…. French/ Asian and a bit of fusion all on offer for very reasonable prices. At the time of this writing they are putting in a large garden to grow their own produce and fruits.
The General Manager , Rodolphe, is hands on every day and treats the staff as family. Often you’ll see him attending to the smallest of details that makes this place really the treasure it is. He’ll often check on you personally to make sure all your needs are being met. This detail of service also translates to all the staff. You truly feel as though you are a special guest here. I recommend spending at least a week here. Luang Prabang is a very special place, much to do and see. The pace is slow and relaxing as well as healing for those of us who live busy lives and need that “time-out” to recharge.
Mention you were recommended by Kenton and you are sure to get a smile and a big warm Heart welcome!
Kenton Bell

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We loved this hotel. Its quite new, but built in a lovely colonial style. I think there are four rooms per block in about six blocks. Grounds are nice, with plenty of space and a lovely pool.

We got a walk in deal of USD 110 per night, which is incredible value generally as the place is beautiful, but also good for Luang Prabang, which is expensive for Laos.

The suites are huge. Four poster bed, sitting area, great bathroom, polished wood floors and a nice balcony. My only criticism of the room is that the aircon isn't brilliant and quite noisy.

Service is superb. All staff are very polite and will do anything for you. There is plenty of management presence if you need anything.

Breakfast is served around an open air, covered restaurant. Again no complaints here, one of the best egg benedict I have ever had. So good, I had it every day! Didn't eat dinner, but I heard from other guests that it was very good.

The hotel is a ten min cycle from the main town. Or there are plenty of tuk tuks. The hotel also provide a free shuttle into town at certain times.

We did look at some other places closer to town while we were in Luang Prabang, and for this money, nothing comes close.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed for 5 nights at Luang Say Residence and had a wonderful time.The staff were delightful ,the rooms were impeccable and the service first class.The food was excellent and great value for money.There are many restaurant choices in Luang Prabang but the food at Luang Say Residence was by far the best in town.The pool was a welcome relief for our teenage boys who also loved the bikes .Luang Prabang is a great place to ride around and is very safe.The Architect who designed the Hotel has done a fantastic job in ensuring the buildings are in true turn of the century French style. ..... but with all the modern conveniences.The Hotel can organise tours for you and we had a great day at the new Golf Course which is just out of town.Yes, the Hotel is not right in Luang Prabang but it is only a short bike ride or tuk tuk away.We combined our stay with a magnificent all day cruise on the Mekong, a stay at their sister jungle lodge and an overland expedition back to Luang Prabang. Will be back !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aziffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airtrainandplane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

A great 3 night stay in one of the Explorateur suites at $150 per night, great space, decor, bed, bathroom, need I go on?
Pool area very clean, beautiful grounds and a short walk into town. We too had a problem with noise from the nearby nightclub but that is no fault of the hotel. I wish we had found the hotel earlier on our stay as it definitely ranks amongst one of our top 10.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxthewax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wimbledon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We booked this hotel on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews and our only disappointment was that we only stayed six nights! A wonderful team who are clearly proud of their work, chef Pittaya's food so consistently good that we found it hard to eat anywhere else. We booked well in advance and got a good discount. Loud club (see other review) only annoyed us by the pool on one evening, and you would never hear it in the suites. Lovely pool, excellent service, friendly staff, great memories. And the breakfasts!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.5 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luang Say Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luang Say Residence

Property: The Luang Say Residence
Address: 4 - 5 Ban Phonepheng | Phou Vao Road, Luang Prabang 856, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Luang Say Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly located in a lush landscaped garden, this luxurious property provides 5 colonial style buildings that include this fully decorated boutique resort. Other than leisure travelers, this property is also a perfect base for guests on transit since it’s only a short drive away from the airport and downtown. All the 24 suites are fully equipped with a flat screen television, personal mini bar, in-room safe and WiFi internet access. Featuring numerous onsite facilities such as a large swimming pool, dining room, library, foreign exchange service and laundry service. For explorations, guests can walk down the tree lined streets where you will find a wide range of restaurants, cafes, vibrant handicraft markets and the famous, Mekong River. The city also boasts its 32 protected temples and the famous attraction, Haw Kham Royal Palace Museum – which you should not miss. The Luang Say Residence awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luang Say Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luang Say Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing