We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Luang Say Residence
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Rooms and Service”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We spent 20 days in Southeast Asia and the was the most accommodating and genuine staff we experienced. We were sad to say goodbye after only two nights. The setting of the gardens, pool and buildings of guest rooms provides an oasis in the beautiful town of Luang Prabang. Our room was very large with a porch and well appointed bath. Housekeeping was immaculate. Pick up at the airport with chilled water and a chilled face cloth was a great way to cool off. The hotel has free bikes and this is the way to see the town. It is just 10 to 15 minutes by bike to the sites of town. Breakfast pastries and fruits were fresh. I am an eggs benedict connoisseur and these are the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denalitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    65
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
114
280
28
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We had the chance to stay at the Luang Say Residence Hotel during our first time trip to Laos.

The Luang Say Residence is a great hotel in general, with attention to detail and great service.

The Breakfast was delicious, please do try the Eggs Benedict ! It was the first time of my life i have ever tasted these kind of eggs, i promised myself to try another breakfast style but couldn't resist so i did order them twice on my stay !

The room and bathroom was large and equipped with complete set of manenities.

Internet connection was very fast for this kind of poor country.

This is a wonderful 5 stars service hotel and please do try the Lao Tasting Menu that is recommended in the La Belle Epoque Restaurant of the Luang Say Hotel, you can get a full taste of many local specialties while just staying in the hotel.

Even if the hotel is located a little outside the main city, please do request the free shuttle service provided, they will drop you right in the middle of the town near the night market !

Room Tip: Higher Floors have a more beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKongkaew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed at Luang Say for five nights after reading some very positive reviews on trip advisor. The rooms are nice, a good size, with  good amenities, but the overall service, attention to detail and the quality of the breakfast was disappointing, certainly not what we would expect in this class of hotel. It really spoilt out overall experience at the hotel.

A few examples:

- the breakfast was a la carte, limited,  ordinary, horrible bread  with no choice, poorly cooked eggs and accompaniments 
- pressure placed on us to eat in the hotel restaraunt was unpleasant
- we did not eat at the hotel restaraunt as it was very expensive and we had no interest in trying it after our breakfast experiences. There are terrific choices in town  for a fraction of the price -  see our other reviews
-provisions in the room were not replaced until they had run out. Consequently we ran out of  tissues and toilet paper. Of course you can ask for more but this is not what we expect in this class of hotel
- on a few occasions we could not find towels at the pool and had to wander around the grounds to draw this to their attention. We were not given any drinking water at the pool. Disappointing as it is a nice pool.

The are all little things, but not expected in this class and price range.
 
Luang Say is a little out of town but the hotel has a drop off service which runs to a timetable and are reasonably flexible other times. They have bikes available and there is much to see in Luandg Prabang by bike, we recommend it whenever you stay.

We would not return to ls as it was not good value for money and we think 5 stars overrates it for service and attention to detail..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fitzroytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Luang Say Residence, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear Annajosh 92,

Thank you for having chosen The Luang Say Residence during your recent 5 nights stay in Luang Prabang. In our quest for excellence we are committed to providing you with the highest quality service and your feedback is extremely important to us, so thank you for sharing your comments with us today.

We have not had any complaints previously with regards to the quality of our breakfast, on the contrary our guests constantly praise our high food quality and the fact that we serve an “ A la carte breakfast “ which enable us to offer high quality and fresh dishes at a decent price since breakfast is included in the room price.

We are here to serve you and make your stay the most enjoyable.
It was a shame that you did not bring this comment about the breakfast to the attention of someone so that it could have been rectified right away for you to enjoy it.

Please feel free to contact me directly (gm@luangsayresidence.com) to give me further details on your overall stay as we did not get direct comments from you during your stay even though we provide our guests with a dedicated guest comment form.

Your comments will help us to improve and ensure the comfort and enjoyment of future guests is kept up to a high standard.

I am sorry that some of the amenities we offered were not to your expectations; we will look at these to see where improvement can be made.

Thank you again for your candid comments.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Luang Say Residence on your next trip to Luang Prabang.

Warm regards,

Rodolphe Gay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Just returned from a wonderful stay (4 nights) in Luang Prabang at the Luang Say Residence. This is a fairly new property (one plus years), however, it was built to look like an old estate. We were picked up at the airport by the hotel - very friendly and knowledgeable staff, as well as a nice car. Once at the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff - my only complaint would be that they did not recognize us as SLH members and we did not receive an upgrade even though we were one of 2 or 3 guests.

Our room was very spacious, clean, and bright. There are no complaints of anything. The bathroom was large and had everything you needed. And the internet connection was very fast (and free)!

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful - lots of tropical plants and flowers. And the pool is lovely set amongst the beautiful landscape.

The breakfast at the hotel has a large variety and the quality of the food is excellent - especially the fresh carrot juice with ginger.

The location of the hotel is about a 10 min. bike ride (bikes provided for free), they also have a free shuttle service in the evenings, or a short tuktuk ride.

The guest service manager (sorry I forgot her name) was extremely friendly and helpful, as were the rest of the staff.

This is a great place to stay when visiting Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysgoneFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We were in this hotel for the second time recently. This is a very nice hotel, well-managed, with outstanding service. Satisfaction on all aspects: very comfortable with a nice swimming pool, a nice and well maintained garden. Best breakfasts…best service . Staff are highly professional and very friendly, calm, efficient with great care and always with a smile and could not do enough to advise and help. The room is beautiful ,well-furnished and spacious . Amenities are excellent. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much.

A special thank to the Luang Say management team for making our stay both memorable and special.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Sarawak
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Our family of 4 stayed for 4 nights at the Luang Say Residence and had a wonderful time, what a beautiful hotel. Our room was beautiful, the staff were courteous and responsive, the breakfasts amazing - and we loved the bikes on offer to cycle into town. We had a really special vacation at Luang Prabang and the Luang Say Residence and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The good news - the facility is lovely, the gardens are lush, the pool is exquisite and even though artfully designed is still very long and suitable for lap swimming. The food in the restaurant is the best in town, and the service in the restaurant is excellent. They have insect repellent in the room. The location is a little out of town, so you need to take their shuttle or a touk touk or ride a bike, which we didn't mind because the location is quite and it's only a 5 minute drive or bike ride.

The bad - no alarm clock in room which makes it really bad when your wake-up call doesn't come. If you leave a wake up call, do it in person and watch them write it down. One lap top computer is the only computer in the hotel available to be borrowed by the residents and they expect you to use it in the lobby or bar, both of which are hot and not air conditioned. They charge you several dollars a minute if you make collect calls. The front staff is not well informed and their English is not great. The map they give you on arrival is a piece of advertising that has a few advertisers listed, and is missing most of the information you would need. For a tiny sum - I think about 20 cents equivalent - you can buy a great map in town, which I think the hotel should provide for free. Instead of providing separate shampoo and conditioner, they give you a combination product which is poor in quality and leaves your hair feeling like straw. The attitude of front office staff is okay but not nearly as caring and service oriented as other less expensive hotel, they seem very good at saying no and not so good at saying yes!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelerxowkety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodolpheGay, General Manager at The Luang Say Residence, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Traveller 1011,

Thank you for having chosen The Luang Say Residence during your recent stay in Luang Prabang. In our quest for excellence we are committed to providing you with the highest quality service and your feedback is extremely important to us.

I am sorry that some of the amenities we offered were not to your expectations; we will look at these to see where improvement can be made.

We have addressed the service issues that you mentioned and assure you that through training we endeavor to eradicate similar incidences in the future.
In addition our seasonal English classes have recently started and this will indeed increase the level of communication tremendously.

We thank you for your praising comments regarding your fine gastronomic experience as well as our location, landscape and pool.

Thank you again for your candid comments.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Luang Say Residence on your next trip to Luang Prabang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
622 reviews
1.5 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#5 of 69 in Luang Prabang
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luang Say Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luang Say Residence

Property: The Luang Say Residence
Address: 4 - 5 Ban Phonepheng | Phou Vao Road, Luang Prabang 856, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Luang Say Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly located in a lush landscaped garden, this luxurious property provides 5 colonial style buildings that include this fully decorated boutique resort. Other than leisure travelers, this property is also a perfect base for guests on transit since it’s only a short drive away from the airport and downtown. All the 24 suites are fully equipped with a flat screen television, personal mini bar, in-room safe and WiFi internet access. Featuring numerous onsite facilities such as a large swimming pool, dining room, library, foreign exchange service and laundry service. For explorations, guests can walk down the tree lined streets where you will find a wide range of restaurants, cafes, vibrant handicraft markets and the famous, Mekong River. The city also boasts its 32 protected temples and the famous attraction, Haw Kham Royal Palace Museum – which you should not miss. The Luang Say Residence awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luang Say Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luang Say Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing