We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 2nd return to The Luang Say Residence and still superb stay at this stunning and best hotel in Luang Phrabang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Luang Say Residence
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This is my 2nd return to Luang Phrabang and I still prefer 'The Luang Say Residence' because of away from town only 5 minutes by bicycle. You can enjoy colonial building, elegance, wonderful staff, great food (we really enjoy your food!), good atmostphere, excellent service, superb quality of afternoon tea, huge swimming pool, charm decoration and many more.

I'm so much enjoyed during stay there (3 nights) with my best friend, we went out for try laos coffee, local food (papaya salad), gallery & museum, local market, shopping, offer food to monks early in the morning by hotel bicycles which is not far from town (only 3-5 minutes by ride bicycle). We also went to Kwang Si Waterfall, such a beautiful waterfall and could not believe the color of this waterfall.

We will definitely return to The Luang Say Residence because it's worth for our money and I still remember my best dinner with my friend at La Belle Epoque.

Can't wait for my 3rd return at suite room!

Nok

Room Tip: Strong recommend to sit and enjoy yourself at balcony of explorator suite (located on the upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PR_RuenTamarind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

A beautiful property a short ride away from the historic centre offering the ultimate of luxury, peace and tranquility in this beautiful town. The rooms are incredibly spacious and 'colonial' in style yet offer all what a discerning traveller wants. We had breakfast and dinner on two occasions - just couldn't be bothered to go into town and found the ambience perfect for the end of a strenuous day of sightseeing. The menu was international with a whole page dedicated to Lao specialities. The wine list was perfect too. If I could give an Oscar - I would and it would primarily go to to the staff who make The Luang Say and even more memorable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The Luang Say Residence is a fantastic hotel, just 10 minutes cycle ride out of the main centre of Luang Prabang.

Nothing is too much trouble here. The staff are incredibly attentive - and all deliver exceptional service.

The rooms are clean, bright and large.

Breakfasts here are plentiful (in fact, sometimes far too much and lots goes to waste). And the restaurant is outstanding for dinner too.

All in all, a fabulous place - albeit quite pricey compared to other hotels in Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have nicer views of the complex - but there are no lifts to get upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelexpertdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This hotel is excellent in all details.

The gardens are beautiful, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and great bathroom. Service was 5 stars, thanks to the availability and helpfulness with excellent recommendations for tours and activities!

The restaurant La Belle Epoque overlooks the wonderful lush garden and altogether a very peaceful environment to dine, the food is superb, local ingredients from their own organic garden.

Pool Service was outstanding with always a staff on-hand to serve you some food and drinks.

I cannot wait to go back to stay again at this wonderful property and will highly recommend it to my friends!

Room Tip: Try to get a Room at the back of the hotel which has a wonderful overlooking view on the organic gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanMichelR293916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Luang Prabang is a small town on the Mekong. The centre is still kept in the old style. The hotel is a bit out of town, but they provide free bikes- it takes 5-10 minutes to cycle to the centre. Their maps and instructions could be improved we had difficulty finding places that they directed us to and street names are spelt differently on different maps and on the streets. The hotel is small boutique style with large rooms with an old time French feel, despite being newly built. The restaurant has a lovely breakfast. We ate out otherwise. L'Hibiscus is a good massage place in town. We were there at New Year so go soaked whilst cycling as everyone throws buckets of water over you. Ok once or twice, but after a week gets a bit much. The waterfall trip is worthwhile and watching the sunset over the Mekong. Walk up the stupa in the middle of town -lots of small temples on the where are you up. Overall a good stay. The hotel could improve information about Luang Prabang and what to do/ where to go.

Room Tip: Exploratory suites are lovely. Spa should not read terrible - there was no spa in hotel- cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hotel is hard to fault, the gardens are beautiful, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and great bathroom. The restaurant overlooks the pretty gardens and altogether a very peaceful environment to dine, the food is superb, local ingredients from their garden including fresh lemongrass, basil and mint. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geranium1HongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Wow! It's hard to describe the beauty of this hotel, the decor is truly stunning and gives an old time relaxed feel. The staff are simply amazing, they organised to pick us up from the guesthouse we had been staying at in town, welcomed us with a smile and great information about the hotel. From the bell boy to the pool attendant, the waitstaff to the house maids and the beautiful front desk crew, we could not fault them or thank them enough for their efforts. Out suite was superb, large and beautiful, it featured an extremely comfortable bed and a wonderful rainwater shower. The nightly turn down service was a highlight to me with the lovely little gifts left each night. The pool is perfect, plenty of sun lounges and amazing service. The prices are high for asia yes, but the food was brilliant and we felt worth the splurge. We had lunch by the pool, a must try to see the service and a beautiful candle lite dinner with great wine to accompany our fantastic meal. The gardens here are lush, green and ensure the privacy of each pavilion. The manager was also on hand each day and willing to stop for a chat.

What a great experience and how wonderful we feel now! A must as a treat during your Luang Prabang stay, we will be back.

Thank you 'The Luang Say Residence'

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#7 of 71 in Luang Prabang
592 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luang Say Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luang Say Residence

Address: 4 - 5 Ban Phonepheng | Phou Vao Road, Luang Prabang 856, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £169 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Luang Say Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly located in a lush landscaped garden, this luxurious property provides 5 colonial style buildings that include this fully decorated boutique resort. Other than leisure travelers, this property is also a perfect base for guests on transit since it’s only a short drive away from the airport and downtown. All the 24 suites are fully equipped with a flat screen television, personal mini bar, in-room safe and WiFi internet access. Featuring numerous onsite facilities such as a large swimming pool, dining room, library, foreign exchange service and laundry service. For explorations, guests can walk down the tree lined streets where you will find a wide range of restaurants, cafes, vibrant handicraft markets and the famous, Mekong River. The city also boasts its 32 protected temples and the famous attraction, Haw Kham Royal Palace Museum – which you should not miss. The Luang Say Residence awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Luang Say Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luang Say Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing