We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Luang Say Residence
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

It's clean, quiet.
Big room. Comfortable bed. Nice bathroom. Everything worked.
Easy access to the airport.
Easy check in. Easy Check out.
Great service.
Great breakfast.
Nice surroundings.

Only one negative. We got a wake up call at 5:30AM which we did not make! What a bummer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    66
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
118
295
29
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Luang Say Residence is an excellent 5 stars hotel. The garden is very large with many kinds of plants and trees. There is an organic vegetables garden at the back of the hotel where they grow all sorts of vegetables and herbs and is very nice. The rooms are beautiful and the bed is so comfortable, you just don’t want to get up every morning. One of the highlights was the breakfast served a la carte. We had dinner here a couple of times and also tried other good restaurants in town. The restaurant of the Luang Say stood out with perfect quality food and service. We have even been greeted by the Lao Chef who came to check the quality of our food and if everything was fine for our dinner, as we took the Lao Tasting Menu which is served in two times with dishes to share. The combination of flavors and aromas was excellent. We have had the pleasure of being in a number of 5 star hotels in Asia, but this is an absolute favorite. We wish we could stay there much longer.

Room Tip: Suite room on top of restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chumnith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,482 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a fabulous hotel! In fact it doesn't feel like a hotel at all but a collection of large villas in a beautifully landscaped garden.
The staff are wonderful, the food is fantastic and the setting sooo tranquil.
The breakfasts are absolutely scrumpcious.
If you are looking for a hotel set in the buzz of the town, this is not it.
If you are looking for a cheap hotel, this is not it. But... if you are looking for everything good... then this is it.
They offer a free shuttle bus in and out of the town (about a 5 minute drive).
It is no wonder that they have won many awards! Well done!

Room Tip: Room 503 overlooks the pool and also has a great garden view... a good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurers049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Large suites in pretty grounds. We enjoyed the a la carte breakfast. A little way out of the centre, but there is a shuttle in the evening. The restaurant food was good, but there are more local places in town. Staff helpful, and the little bedtime gift is a nice touch.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I really liked this hotel.. Our room ( Pioneer Suite) was lovely and spacious, and considering we had a roll-away bed in there for our daughter, there was still room to move around comfortably. The 4 poster bed was so comfortable, even the roll-away bed was good. The little treats left in the room for us, always made us smile. This is one place that did actually have “milk” to use instead of that powered stuff you use instead of milk. We had a wee balcony so could sit there and have a cup tea and look at the garden. We loved the huge bathroom, the only drawback is the shower area, the water comes out into the rest of the bathroom. Put a floor mat there and it soaks it up, but a little ledge would help solve this problem. It was our birthdays (both of us) a few days before and on our first night there (we ate in the dining room) they brought out a delicious birthday cake for us. So sweet. We ate all our meals here, breakfast was part of our package and we ordered whatever we wanted for dinner. We also had cocktails in the lounge/bar. We thoroughly enjoyed all of our meals here and the service that the lovely staff gave us. The doors to the restaurant were open, but certainly no problem to close when it got cold. We found prices for all wines expensive over Thailand, Loas, Cambodia and Vietnam, but cocktails and spirits were priced reasonably, and something we were okay to pay. (Sometimes it worked out cheaper than what we would pay at home). As we had a guide and driver, we never had an issues with were the hotel is situated, I can honestly say it never seem to take long to get into town. The pool look inviting, but we never used due to the weather and so busy with tours. I don’t remember having any issues with the wifi in the room, I know there certainly no issues in the dining room. Not all the staff speak or understands English, but they certainly tried to help or would get someone who did understand. I never had an issue with this, as how is anyone meant to learn without trying. The staff were all lovely and smiling and made the start of our travelling holiday enjoyable.
We stayed here mid/Late Dec. Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

As others have said a quiet (early Sept, it was) luxury hotel. Stayed in a villa which was very comfortable and spacious, and walking though the garden a delight - even in the rain! I found it inconvenient to get to town and too far to walk, though there are other options. Food was good but too europeanised for my full enjoyment. Recommended for what it is, if you want luxury out of town, with F&B priced to match.

Room Tip: The stand alone villas in the gardens are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris5_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

As a journalist assigned to review this hotel, I would say I recommend it if you're looking for a quiet place to laze around, whiling away in a colonial style. The food is really good here and the room is very comfortable, but what I love the most were the serenity it provides and the care (like placing a little bedtime gift on your pillow each night).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chidsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luang Say Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luang Say Residence

Property: The Luang Say Residence
Address: 4 - 5 Ban Phonepheng | Phou Vao Road, Luang Prabang 856, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Luang Say Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly located in a lush landscaped garden, this luxurious property provides 5 colonial style buildings that include this fully decorated boutique resort. Other than leisure travelers, this property is also a perfect base for guests on transit since it’s only a short drive away from the airport and downtown. All the 24 suites are fully equipped with a flat screen television, personal mini bar, in-room safe and WiFi internet access. Featuring numerous onsite facilities such as a large swimming pool, dining room, library, foreign exchange service and laundry service. For explorations, guests can walk down the tree lined streets where you will find a wide range of restaurants, cafes, vibrant handicraft markets and the famous, Mekong River. The city also boasts its 32 protected temples and the famous attraction, Haw Kham Royal Palace Museum – which you should not miss. The Luang Say Residence awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Luang Say Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luang Say Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing