We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place near the mekong”
Review of Thida Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thida Guesthouse
Ranked #170 of 271 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed at Thida Guesthouse in November and had a very well furnished and spotlessly clean room. Also the bathroom was spacious and clean. There is a cosy veranda-area on the first floor, where you can drink a coffee or tea (complementary) and relax while reading a book. Breakfast was not available during our stay, but there are lots of great cafés just around the corner where you will find your favourite easily. We rented once bicycles and once a motorbike from the guesthouse which was a good possibility to see the city and its surroundings. Very friendly and helpful staff!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

We ended up staying at Thida Guesthouse for a week, the room was spacious, bed comfortable and they had the best shower (really appreciated after the river boat trip down from Nong Khiaw). There were also coffee and tea making facilities just outside our room.

The guesthouse is in a brilliant location, minutes walk from the main street and night market and very close to La Banneton with its delightful croissants.

Staff were friendly and helped us to organise our tickets for onward travel. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steeeeve_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We decided to stay at Thida guesthouse after reading the 5 reviews on trip advisor...we are so glad we did. It is an attractive old guesthouse with polished wood, the price was great, the welcome was very friendly and the room and bathroom very clean. The owner and his young assistant were very helpful in every way. Great location, short walk to both rivers and the nightlife. No breakfast but went to Saffron cafe round the corner every day for a great breakfast and they do the most amazing pancakes too ! We would definately recommend staying here......

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We arrived in Luang Prabang at 6 AM with no prior arrangements. After checking out multiple places in the backpacker hub we headed toward the peninsula. Just as we were about to give up a friendly face appeared and asked un-aggressively if we might need a room. A quick walk through and we fell in love with this place!

Thida is run by a WONDERFUL family who does everything in their ability to make you feel welcome and taken care of. The rooms beautiful, immaculate, and absolutely secure, and the complimentary coffee, tea, and fruit on the upstairs terrace is a charming detail. The location turned out to be perfect; off the backpacker path but very convenient proximity to everything else. There is also free wifi- whenever it would disconnect they were right on top of getting it back up and running.

While slightly more (100,000 kip/room) than the mattress-in-a-box places on the other side of town, it is absolutely worth it, as the quality surpasses those places exponentially. We intended on staying 2 nights, but extended up to 4.

Overall, a lovely place to stay in a beautiful town.

*They originally put us in a room upstairs, then apologized and insisted we move to a bigger one downstairs because they were concerned the construction next door would be a bother. Very thoughtful people.

Room Tip: * They will give it to you! See above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I was very happy with my stay at Thida's. The quiet and relaxed guesthouse is located right on the peninsula in footwalking distance to the mainstreet, a host of restaurants and temples. The manager speaks excellent French and English, was friendly and helpful! The rooms are big, clean and have a very nice atmosphere with wooden furniture. If you agree not to use the air-con you can get a cheaper rate (low season). Free Wi-Fi in the rooms. The guesthouse also rents bycicles and has laundry service for decent rates.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettinaCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We booked elsewhere but the reservation was mistakenly cancelled. After the embarrassed host and I had visited four full places I was very happy when he arranged for us to stay here. We needed two rooms and I was a little anxious when I heard that this place was almost empty but figured beggars cant be choosers. In the end it was fantastic. My son (9) and I shared a huge room with king and single beds, mosquito nets, beautiful shuttered windows that could be opened wide and leant out of (and from which we could see the procession of the monks just up the street). My mother had an adjacent room with a queen (?) bed. Two great bathrooms, hot hot water, coffee and tea, an internal balcony with a few books and a lounging spot and a cheerful student at the desk with excellent English. A great location steps from the Mekong and around the corner from restaurants.
Any drawbacks? No internet or wifi (but we didnt need it), the shower is a bit wayward in direction.
Cost $25 for one room and $30 for the other. Still can't figure out why they were not full.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneXena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

A lovely, laid-back, quiet, pleasant, family-operated guesthouse. Talking with the owner is like getting sage family advice ... and he gave me a nice deal on the room rate as well. The wooden interiors have a calming effect from the moment you step in, and the guesthouse itself is on a very quiet street. I usually don't write reviews in such warm and fuzzy tones, but my stay at Thida was so cozy that I can't help it!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSchnitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
252 reviews
0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
856 reviews
0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 71 in Luang Prabang
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
289 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#10 of 71 in Luang Prabang
875 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#33 of 71 in Luang Prabang
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thida Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thida Guesthouse

Address: Ban Phone Heuang | Phaya Luang-Muang Chanh, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 271 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £18 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thida Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thida Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing