We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable beds, hot shower, iffy wifi”
Review of Thida Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thida Guesthouse
Ranked #150 of 267 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The place is located in the area where there are some of the highest end hotels, so to get a charming room for 35 USD a night is a steal. Thida is just a 30 second walk to the riverside sidewalk, so of course, the location is fantastic. Lots of great restaurants are available within walking distance.

The shower was amazing - great water pressure and hot. We were there during a cold spell, so I was using the shower several times a day to warm up.

We were in the room just beside the reception, which, due to the positioning, was quite dark, but that was welcome in the morning as it encouraged us to sleep in.

The staff (family run perhaps) were all very sweet. I think I dealt with the father and son of the guesthouse, and both had me convinced that Lao people are some of the kindest I've encounted.

There was also plenty of room to spread out for us - we had an extra single bed and plenty of hooks on the wall to hang things up. Laundry service was fine at 10000kip/kg.

Now the cons: the wifi was so slow it was almost unusable. There was (don't be alarmed here) a mouse under the large comforter on the chair beside the bed when we arrived. If it was a rat, I would have been upset, but given the age of the place and that they've kept the charming wooden structure of the house, it is understandable that a mouse might be able to squeeze through the baseboards in search of warmth. Not a big deal at all, and in fact, a fun first few minutes in our room.

Overall, a great find in Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: The rooms up top will likely offer more natural light, but the one below across from reception (not...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Thida Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

With clean and comfortable rooms, hot shower, wifi works but little bit slow. Excellent located near main street, night market, wat and amazing restaurant named L’elephant.

The staff was lovely and I recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro_Neves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Very unassuming and cute place. Staff is very gentle and helpful even though not very available. Overall a really charming little place bang in the centre of luang probing. i would go back and stay for longer

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed at Thida Guesthouse in late November 2013, booking online. The location was excellent, being a 30 second walk from the river bank and a 5 minute walk to the main street. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and rooms clean. The AC definitely worked a treat! Almost too well. The wifi worked maybe half the times we attempted over our 4 night stay. The staff were good, helpful when asked. Would stay here again! Sho

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrownThongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Made a booking in advance via Thida's website. Arrived at 7pm to find that our booking was either never made or that our room had been given away (despite me providing plane arrival time). The lady offered us a room downstairs just off the foyer for the night and then said we could move upstairs to our room the next day. We accepted - big mistake! Rooms 1 and 2 are obviously only used when the guest house is full. They are very small, very noisy and obviously not cleaned often.
The next day we were informed that we couldn't move upstairs as the people staying in our room had decided to stay an extra night. So we stayed in the small room another night. In retrospect we should have just moved to another guest house.
When we finally got to move upstairs we found the room to be very large and quiet.
We found that most of the time it was impossible to find someone who worked there if you wanted any assistance. The older lady was very friendly, but overall the staff didn't seem to care.
The best thing about this guest house is it's location. If you get offered rooms 1 or 2, I would leave and find somewhere else to stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ellpell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Owned by the local pediatrician in Luang Prabang, we not just had a relaxing stay and amazing service but felt safe and sound. Beautiful wooden older place, so it had some creaking but we stayed on the top floor. AC worked like a dream in the hot and humid temperature too. They had great bikes to rent or it's a short walk from the town center which I'm glad we didn't stay by since there's really one major street in and out. The young boy who worked the front during our stay was so sweet and all smiles. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else for my next visit, thanks again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

For Laos, this guesthouse ranked about average in our experience. The strong points are that it is clean, the rooms fairly spacious, it was well-priced at around $35 per night and it is well-located in the old city. The weaker points had to do with the darkness of the rooms (which is actually fairly common in Laos). The door/windows were louvered shut and there were no screens. So to open the doors and windows to let light in, you had to have the doors and windows wide open with no screens. Our room had plenty of windows, but we were unable to open them due to the lack of screens and the heat. There was an air conditioner, but it was not particularly strong and we had to leave it on almost constantly to keep our room cool enough for sleeping. The breakfast in the morning was quite basic: eggs, fresh baguette and juice. Instant coffee and tea are available in the lobby round the clock. The room had a queen and a single bed, and the room was big enough for us to put an additional mat on the floor for our youngest. The bath was large, but we couldn't get the faucet to work in the tub and we often showered without hot water if it was later in the day. While not our best stay in Laos, it was quiet, comfortable, and well-situated as we had planned to stop for about 6 days in LP. Given what we heard about some of the other guest houses, we considered ourselves lucky to be staying here at the price we paid.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Maly
Villa Maly
#10 of 68 in Luang Prabang
779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thida Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thida Guesthouse

Address: Ban Phone Heuang | Phaya Luang-Muang Chanh, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £11 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thida Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thida Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing