We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luang Prabang Paradise Resort
Ranked #46 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This hotel has probably the most friendliest staff i have ever stayed at, they were always polite and so helpful, they always had a conversation with us at the restaurant, most of them came and said goodbye when we left, a special mention to Khoon who was the afternoon reception boy, he was so kind and helpful and spoke very good English, when we arrived he took us to our room and showed us how to use all the facilities, when we discovered we could only get 3 tv channels, and the Australian Network Channel was not clear, he upgraded us to a deluxe room at no extra cost, the rooms were about 40 sq mts, and so clean, i have read many reviews here about the mosquito problem, but we had none in our room, there were plenty outside and at the restaurant( it was an outdoor one with only a roof), although we did have plenty of ants when we left something sweet out, the pool was fantastic, and there are not many hotels here that have a pool, as it was so hot at this time of the year, it was the main reason we stayed here, big and clean, although it is supposed to close at 7.30 Khoon said we could swim until 10 pm, and we did with no problem, the breakfast was included but was nothing to write home about, only eggs and bread and fruit and some asian dishes NO cereal or bacon, but it was served with a smile, the worst part was the location, it was a bit far from town( about 15 minutes by tuk tuk) they had a free mini van to and from town but only at 8am 12 pm 4 pm and 8pm, so outside these hours you had to find your own way back, a tuk tuk cost us Baht 120( A$4) but you have to bargain with them, they wanted Baht200( A$7), but you have to expect this in Asia,they have free bicycles that you can use if you want to, but all in all i would recommend this hotel to anyone, we stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay. the trip from Vientiane to Luang Prabang is a NIGHTMARE, it is only about 330 klm's but takes about 9 to 10 hours, it is very mountainous and very winding road, my partner was so sick she had to use a plastic bag for most of the trip, so on the way back we paid the extra and flew the 30 minute flight, it was so much better than the bus.

Room Tip: The rooms are all little bungalows, so any would be ok, the deluxe rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmelo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    55
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
31
54
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Let me start with the good stuff because we really did enjoy our stay at the Paradise Resort. As it was the hot season in Lao, we wanted somewhere with a nice pool to return to each day. It gets full marks for the size of the pool, which is immaculately maintained, and the surrounds. There are pavilions and shaded lounging areas where you can sit back and read your holiday book while the kids splash happily away.

The staff are super friendly and helpful in a laid-back way. What they may lack in five-star hotel polish, they more than make up for in their desire to help you have a good time. Their authenticity and warmth was a memorable part of our trip to Luang Prabang.

Breakfast was adequate and kept us going for the morning but the buffet was very basic. I did, however, enjoy my custom-made omelette each day.

We stayed in the large family suite which has two air-conditioned bedrooms. The remainder of the space is not air-conditioned but we did not find that a problem in the evenings when the temperature falls. This suite could do with a really good refurb, with special attention paid to the bathroom and the curtains in all rooms. Mosquitoes lurk in the evenings but we resolved this by using insect spray and the netting over the beds.

The cost of having laundry done was outrageous. Take your bag into town and have it done somewhere there rather than using the hotel service. And here's a Tip for management: fence off the shabby car park area to the left of reception as you enter ... it really detracts from what are otherwise quite pleasant grounds.

Summary: good value place to stay if you don't want to be in central in Luang Prabang and would like somewhere with a lovely pool to relax by.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkippyHops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed here for three days in the 2 bedroom family unit. It was huge. There was air-con in the bed-rooms and a fan in the living area. The rooms were tastefully decorated with local wall-hangings and the beds had mosquito nets.
The staff are absolutely delightful and ready to help. Dorr is beautiful. Minibus service to town is helpful.
Lovely pool and gardens .
Hotel is about ten minutes by tuk-tuk from main part of Luang Prabang.
Don't miss elephant riding.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

A lovely resort made up of neat villas in pretty gardens. Our room was very large, with a similarly generous bathroom, featuring a deep tub that kept our 4 year old as happy as the swimming pool did! Fitted and furnished in wood with a huge four poster, soft white bedlinen and all necessary mod cons (kettle, fridge, TV, safe). Staff were charming, friendly and very helpful. We borrowed bikes for the 10 minute ride into Luang Prabang, or took the hotel's free shuttle, which runs back and forth four times daily. Fresh fruit and salads, eggs cooked to order and delicious bread on the breakfast buffet. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Paradise Resort really made our vacation memorable. Appeasing Staff. Clean rooms,excellent breakfast,free shuttle to/from airport and downtown. Free bicycles,lovely pool and Restaurant.
Highly recommended for Families.

Room Tip: Lovely Cottages in a Tropical setting on River Nam Khan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This was our first trip to LPB for 6 years and so we were ready for a shock but it was a really nice place. Not over priced and good staff to make us feel friendly. We liked the food and Laos is not renowned for food so we were happy. The place is close enough in a small town to get about. The only negative thing was a noisy honeymoon couple in the room next to us and we asked to be moved the next day but that can happen anywhere and we hope they enjoyed themselves after we had moved!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Try the place if you come here and ask for a quiet non smoking room.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at this resort for 6 nights. We arrived late in the evening and were greeted by a friendly member of staff. We liked our room (riverside view). It was clean and had everything we needed. We ate a delicious meal at the restaurant which was open until late. The breakfasts were substantial and we rarely needed lunch. Being close to a local Wat or being under the flight path was never a problem with regards to noise. The TV reception was fine except one night. There was free wifi which was hit and miss but we were also able to use a PC at reception for internet browsing. We met the owner who was most happy to show us around. The staff were friendly and courteous and always willing to please. We used the free shuttle a few times which was very handy. When we walked into town it took us about 20 minutes via the bamboo bridge. Everything is within walking distance and we especially enjoyed visiting Wat Xieng Thong. We mainly ate at a restaurant called Xieng Muan because their curries were delicious. Opposite was a place called "I Like Sweetie" which served delicious home made ice cream and pastries. The best ATM we found was BFL (2 million kip withdrawal for 30,000kip fee). We arranged a bus to Phonsavan and a flight from Vientiane to Pakse through a company called LuangChith (opposite BFL bank) who we found to be reliable and efficient. We thoroughly enjoyed Luang Prabang and were really able to chill out at the Paradise Resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Munbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
345 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrab...
#41 of 69 in Luang Prabang
55 reviews
5.8 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Dream Boutique Resort
My Dream Boutique Resort
#4 of 261 in Luang Prabang
1,033 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison Dalabua Hotel
Maison Dalabua Hotel
#6 of 261 in Luang Prabang
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luang Prabang Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luang Prabang Paradise Resort

Property: Luang Prabang Paradise Resort
Address: Khan River Side - 13 North Road - Ban Meuang Nga, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luang Prabang Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Luang Prabang Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing