We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mama will make you feel like home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oudomphong Guest House
Ranked #33 of 264 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
World
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mama will make you feel like home!”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Nice guesthouse in Luang Prabang. They have nice clean rooms with excellent beds. Its cheap too. You even get free Bananas and free tea and coffee in the morning. They serve good basic breakfast. Its also very close to all the main sights in town.

The best part is the people that run the place. Mama and her daughters are very nice, helpful, funny and will keep you talking about everything so you will forget about the time.

We stayed for a few days and after a trip to the northern part of Laos we came back to Oudomphong and they were so surprised that they came running trough the alley to welcome us back.

Mama you are the best!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
24
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kolding, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2011

If you go to Luang Prabang in Laos and look for a place were you not only get value for your money, but also meet a friendly staff (owner), you should check in at Oudomphong ll Guest House (remember it has to be the new building ll ;).
The rooms are clean and nice, it's a quiet place(not a lot of party/young people). It's about 50 meters from were the marked starts and only 30 meters from the Mekong river. When entering the street, don't get "scared away" by the look of it, as soon as you enter the Guest house, you will be happy :) The owners are just so friendly and will help you if they can!! I will surtenly stay there again, if I return to Luang Prabang again. Free Tea/cold water and free WIFI, but most of all clean and super friendly place :D

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loooovedesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We found this place by chance and were really happy with it. The guesthouse is in a quiet street near the center of the town and Mekong. It has good valued rooms and probably the best price for the value in town. The rooms are clean and simple, some have bathrooms , some are with shared bathrooms. There is bananas, tea and coffee for breakfast. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is WIFI, better speed than the average in Laos.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qrabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

This guesthouse is hidden in a very nice and quiet neighbourhood but at same time close enough to all the tourist attractions. Rooms are basic but very clean and the price is just much lower than anything you can find for this quality. You have free coffee-tea and bananas in the morning.
The family who owns this place is simply lovely.
We really recommended this place for making the stay in Luang Prabang even better.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepitopulpito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Charming Place Hotel
Charming Place Hotel
#58 of 264 in Luang Prabang
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lao Lu Lodge
Lao Lu Lodge
#4 of 153 in Luang Prabang
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 264 in Luang Prabang
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mali House
Mali House
#34 of 264 in Luang Prabang
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 264 in Luang Prabang
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#49 of 264 in Luang Prabang
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oudomphong Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oudomphong Guest House

Property: Oudomphong Guest House
Address: 65 / 4 Ban Houaxieng Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homely guesthouse run by a friendly family more then a decade. The room are nice and clean. Get free coffee, tea, banana and wifi in all the rooms. Come as guest leave as friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oudomphong Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing