We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit of France in Laos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Banneton Cafe

Le Banneton Cafe
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Excellant french bakery which also has a branck in Vientiane. Has over 30 types of bread & pastaries. Open from 6.30AM to about 9PM. Very good coffee. I am a regular there for my morning coffee & pastry. I can upload a photo.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in Laos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We came here several times during our stay, either to eat or simply grab one of there delicious french baguette. The breakfasts are good, salads and sandwiches are excellent. It is a bit expensive for Luang Prabang, but is worth it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leClanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    237
    72
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best baguettes I've had in SE Asia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Try the baguette sandwiches, or get one to go. They are chewy and tough and my favorite meal in Luang Prabang. The pastries are pretty good too, but the baguettes are the star. The homemade ice-cream is also worth a go, and the coffee's pretty good. In all, a must-visit in LP

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dolkun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious crepe, French style cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I had a surprisingly delicious baguette here while my friend had the club sandwich--all very filling and nourishing, complemented nicely by a fresh side salad. The dessert was the highlight as they had an array of crepes, not to mention homemade icecream as a topping. Definitely worth a meal here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jhau727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome french cafe, great pastries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I would have gone to this place every day if I stayed longer in LP. Great food with fresh sandwiches, quiches, and pastries. Really delicious and friend service. For good french pastry in South East asia, I found the prices quite reasonable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Burma85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“everyone must visit this cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

you must stop by this cafe! it is absolutely adorable and is on the quaint end of the street. my friend and i shared a croissant and a chocolate croissant. these are both delectable. we also tried a scoop of their fresh strawberry ice cream, which was more like sorbet or gelato. incredible and i highly recommend it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Banneton Cafe also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Le Banneton Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing