We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, colonial and stylish”
Review of Villa Nagara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Nagara
Ranked #36 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quaint, colonial and stylish”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here overnight on our last night in Luang Prabang as a bit of a splash-out, and enjoyed it very much. The setting and location is really great - walking distance to all the wonderful sights in this part of town and overlooking the beautiful Nam Khan. The staff were nice enough and helpful but guess we didn't stay long enough to build a rapport.

LIKED - The stylish colonial building / the beautiful room (a little bit too pink for my liking though wife loved it) / many thoughtful amenities in the room / the great bathroom & shower / good quality toiletries / the nice balcony where we enjoyed reading with a coffee / plenty of reading amterial lying around

COULD BE IMPROVED - Free bicycles were good to have but were a bit bashed, could use a touch of maintenence / Breakfast location on a terrace overlooking the river was stunning but the breakfast itself was pretty basic.

Luang Prabang has to rate as one of my favourite places in Luang Prabang, and Villa Nagara is well located and comfortable if you can and want to spend a little more. Overall it gets a thumbs up.

Foodie tip: Cross the river over the bamboo bridge, go up the bank and turn left to find a great Laotion style BBQ (Sindad) place. And Beer Lao Dark is awesome...a new favourite

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKunzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    35
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
53
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Simple, but just amazing. Even with all the simplicity of the place the hotel is very welcoming and friendly. All staff are helpful and efficient. Drinking coffee in the morning looking to the Rio is rustic and very interesting. They offer bikes for free and is close to most of the temples. I recommend for anyone looking to spend a little and feel at home.

Room Tip: Rooms with river view are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Espindola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Situated on the banks of the river, and by the way you eat breakfast overlooking the river (great breakfast). The rooms and hotel are gorgeous and so clean and comfortable. The staff was beyond sweet and helpful with good english. I was said to leave and I loved Luang Prabang and Villa Nagara so very much:) Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D1223chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Villa Nagara is located along the Kan River.. 10 mins from the airport. Walking distance to the night market, morning market and the famous Phusi Hill. 7 mins at the most. Breakfast is served at the verandah overlooking the Kan River...very serene and calming environment.
Rooms are modern with colonial charm... wooden floors, old style doors... can't get any better... beds are comfortable..mini bar is free...that's a plus.. amenities is adequate and bathroom is spacious with separate shower cubicle. Highly recommended.
The service was good. Mr Som Say and Mr Vanh at the front desok gave me very good personal service and touch... thanks you...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vignesh215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I spent 2 nights there. This small hotel had only 6-7 rooms and was converted from the reserved/antique house.

LIKE

Room condition: The room had very stylish decoration and was very clean. The bath room had a rain shower. I like the water pressure. Every thing functioned well. The shower gel and shampoo were spa/aroma grade.

Location: It is very close to the town center or night market, just one block but it was in the quieter part of the town. The location was perfect for me because I could go to my room to take a quick shower or take a nap in the middle of the day.

Breakfast & Free mini bar: The breakfast itself was OK for me. You could select from the fixed menu. Nonetheless, where to have a breakfast made a huge difference. I love the atmosphere of the river-side restaurant. It was very relaxing and refreshing to start the day. For free mini bar, Loa beers were also included.

SO-SO

Service: The services at the hotel were good. However, I had a hard time contacting this hotel. I had sent an email to ask a question but had not got any response. Maybe it was the line/technical problem.

Free Bike: It would be better if the bike were better maintained. Some were good while others needed a repair. (I got a flat-tire bike once) Please check a bike when you pick a bike.

DISLIKE

In-room safe: No in-room safe. Not convenience at all to go the reception to drop your value belongings.

CONCLUSION

Although Villa Nagara was in the middle-high price range for Luangprabang, I really enjoyed my time there. It was worth to spend more to stay in Villa Nagara.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The rooms are allright, the location is fine, but for the price they are charging I was expecting a whole lot more. Furthermore I was stupid enough to hand in 1kg of laundry and by check out they charged me $7 for that. Had a discussion about it with the front desk people, but unfortunately, they hardly speak any English. To be fair, the housekeeping and breakfast staff are very friendly.
Lotus villa and some other hotels in Luang Prabang aren't cheap either, but at least they offer some value for money.
In case you decide to book it anyway, bring a google maps print with you cause for some reason you won't find a tuktuk driver that knows where it is.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwlange78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This hotel has to be one of the most charming properties we've stayed at. A french colonial style house with just 7 rooms(each done up in a different color scheme) and a lovely river side cafe (where breakfast is served), this hotel made our stay at heavenly Luang Prabang even better! We LOVED that they had a free mini bar (which stocks coke, beerlao and water) and free bicycles that residents can use.
The service was good, efficient and polite. The hotel is located on the Nam kha river away from the noise of the main street but the main street is just a 3 minute walk away. So the location is ideal. The bathroom is a little small but pretty room more than makes up for that! There are of course many similar properties (french colonial houses converted to hotels) all over Luang Prabang but we highly recommend this hotel for its location and its freebies!

Room Tip: We stayed in the standard room but the rooms with the attached balconies/sit out are larger and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#25 of 69 in Luang Prabang
390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#33 of 69 in Luang Prabang
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 260 in Luang Prabang
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Oudomlith
Villa Oudomlith
#10 of 260 in Luang Prabang
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nagara

Property: Villa Nagara
Address: 59/4 Soukkaseum Road | Baan Vatsan, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Nagara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Nagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing