We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
34
30
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
30
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstreet foodclean bathroomgreat locationnight marketnext morningdouble bedmount phousitvguesthousewifitemplepharmacyriverasianammotorcyclealms
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We wanted a place right in the middle of Luang Prabang that was not going to be too expensive but still nice and comfortable and charming. We found all of that at the Phounsab Guesthouse. The staff is extremely accommodating, and anytime there was an issue with anything the staff was right there to take care of the problem with a smile. Love the DIY coffee station and the location is unbeatable. Will definitely come back to this enchanting little guesthouse that is only a few amenities away from being a high-end boutique five-star.

Room Tip: The rates are affordable enough to take a large room, which we did. Loved it.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

$30 a night and great location and great staff. My room was 204 on 2nd floor with 2 double bed. Since it was very cold during my stay the hot shower was very helpful. Only coffee was included but so many street food and so cheap in front. Bed was comfortable and clean bathroom. It has a separating area with the shower. In Asia you usually shower where you do your “business”. This place is very well maintain. WiFi was ok. Would go back. Also, you can get a taxi to airport at 60000kip.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Big_Daddy_OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Spent 8 nights here. Lovely place, great location, helpful staff. Great value - would definitely recommend. Free tea, coffee and snacks. Had 3 large loads of laundry washed for free. All needs covered.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Eimsbuettel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

We spent 5 nights at the Phousab Guesthouse. The location is about the best you can do: a short walk to the Palace and to Mount Phousi stairs, and within reasonable walking distance to Wat’s northeast along the main road. Close to many restaurants and most of the key tour company offices. Quiet. Room was great: nice bed, nice shower and bathroom (lots of hot water), great wifi, good TV (including CNN and other English channels). No breakfast but lots of places near by. Room was safe and secure. No safe.

Staff were wonderful: answered all questions, and helped us with whatever we needed. Only one small glitch – overnight power outage, that they addressed the next morning. We’d definitely stay there again if in Luang Prabang!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Canuck2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We LOVED this place. For one thing, it was QUIET, which is hard to find in LP. (There's a building between the street and your room which blocks all the noise.) It's located right in the heart of the action- You walk outside and there's the Night Market! Room was comfortable and nice enough. Staff was friendly as can be. And the place was CHEAP for LP- around $38. We started out at a $100 hotel and weren't half as happy as we were here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockmktgenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews