We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”
Review of Kiridara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kiridara
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

A two night stay during a three week trip with friends to south east Asia.. Very nice facility in a fabulous location above the downtown area of Luang Prabang. Professional staff, good food and an excellent and friendly manager who is working hard to keep the hotel a cut above the competition. No complaints.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hbr95404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor. we look forward to welcoming you back in not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    126
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
128
266
65
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed 4 nights and and had a great time, would stay there again without any doubt!
Hotel and rooms are relatively new (< 2 years), clean throughout, spacious and comfortable rooms with private balconies. Our room had a connection door to the next room and we could sometimes hear our neighbours, so probably ask for a room without connection door.
The hotel is built on a hill on the outskirts of Luang Prabang. A great mixture of traditional style and modern comfort. There are many steps which lies in the nature of the location and did not bother us at all. Pool and breakfast terrace overlook a road and a small building yard in some distance, but no dirt or noise affected our stay at any time
Very reliable complimentary tuk-tuk service incl. pick-up in town is provided.
Staff are very friendly and helpful, Restaurant has a good wine list (for Laos).

Room Tip: Our room had a connection door to the next room and we could sometimes hear our neighbours, so proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor. we look forward to welcoming you back in not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed in hotel Kiridara from March 1st - March 4th and we enjoyed it very much. The rooms are excellent: large, clean, trendy and the beds are like clouds. The staff is very nice and helpful and they do their utmost to keep you happy. When we stayed in Kiridara free refreshing drinks and fruit skewers were served at the pool, and the wellness staff offered free 5 minutes massages. Breakfast was nice, partly à la carte, partly buffet. The hotel offers free internet, free bikes and there is also free transportation from the hotel to the night market and back to the hotel, any time! I'll recommend Kiridara to everyone who is going to visit this serene World Heritage site. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor. we look forward to welcoming you back in not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I had a great stay here. the staff were wonderfull. My lugage did not arrive with me, so a staff member went with me to find a pair or shorts. The spa was great had a great steam and massage. The food was excellent by the pool. I loved the bamboo chicked. I would stay here again. Oh it is just a short walk to town, but they will drive you, free and no waiting

Room Tip: near the top of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank humboldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor. we look forward to welcoming you back in not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I have just returned from a stay at the Kiridara Hotel and feel compelled to write about what a fantastic stay we had. This was my seventh trip to Luang Prabang and my first stay at the Kiridara. From being met at the airport with a cool lemon scented towel and bottle of water to our departure transfer the service we received was faultless. The rooms were lovely and the made to order breakfast was excellent. We also had one dinner n the restaurant and it was delicious with a selection of Lao and Western food.They also offer a complimentary shuttle service into town when ever you need it, not at fixed times like most other hotels and we never had to wait any longer than 5 minutes. Francois, the manger is very visible, coming to breakfast in the mornings to talk to the guests and all the hotel staff could not do enough to help us. I will definitely be returning when next I am in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACEinLaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor. we look forward to welcoming you back in not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMBelgium
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Kiridara is a very nice hotel, beautifully set on the hills overlooking Luang Prabang. It takes almost no time to adjust to the peacefulness and tranquility of this hotel. Laying around at the pool makes you feel very spoiled and so does having breakfast at the pool while seeing the fog over the hills in Luang Prabang fade away.

Staff are very friendly and the manager, Francis, makes sure everyone has a good time. In my opinion the hotel deserves a five-star rating because every little detail is looked after. There are for example, the complimentary small refreshments and the 5-minute massages at the pool.

While it may not be in the cosy city center of Luang Prabang, it is much more tranquile and very easy to get to the city. You can use the bikes or the tuktuk can bring you (3 minutes).

I'd highly recommend it to anyone who loves Asian boutique hotels as well as being spoiled!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBelMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments on our property and staffs which will motivate them to strive for perfection.

Once again thank you, we look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

4th of 5 Hotels in a 2 week visit to Cambodia and Laos.

Unique and spectacular design and layout. Cantilevered into a hillside you MUST be able to negotiate the many well built/ well illuminated concrete steps. Hidden Buddha's and flower designs in water basins amongst surprisingly mature and lush tropical multicolor foliage make every stroll around the maze like layout a delightful adventure of discovery. Picture suggest it is isolated on a hillside...be aware it is not but with minor outside noise does come off as a private enclave.

Stylish rooms with the most comfortable beds on my trip. Down pillows and duvets. Generous and appreciated upgrade (I booked on their site far in advance and did pay rack rate). Some rooms may not offer the same privacy as others. All windows have translucent and black out shades.

Mini massages poolside a great promotional treat. 2 hr SPA package (check out specials before jumping for the a la carte) was truly blissful, professionally delivered in a terrific setting. Sure it's cheaper in town but here you are steps away from your own shower, bed or the pool.

Dinner outdoors lovely with very good service and a friendly waiter eager to exercise his command of English. All dishes were beautifully garnished. Outdoor buffet breakfast with an ordered dish was a nice wake up but on a colder misty morning (when occupancy was low) it was served a la carte in the stylish/ modern indoor restaurant and it quickly became clear that communication skills were not as good as with the evening staff : you had to be very specific about what you wanted (i.e. juice, fruit and breads were not provided until requested ). The trendy glass window to the kitchen is a nice touch but perhaps the staff needs to be remember the guests are watching!

The swimming pool is a brisk refreshing treat, a bit slippery and while there are no leaves or debris I think it needed a little more vigorous surface cleaning. Not much sun hits those 6 loungers but there are 4 more on the dining deck if direct sun is what you seek. I think at full occupancy there may not be enough and replacing some underutilized dining table with loungers may be a good idea. Staff always eager and ready to provide another towel or move an umbrella.

Turn down and the citronella oil incense lamp is a nice feature. Not enough bath hooks. While I'm environmentally conscientious I think the wet bath mat should be replaced at that time. With such nice LED lighting in the room the single bedside lamp in our two bedded room looked like an afterthought. And while mirror side vanity lights are nice, they are fluorescent and harsh. The wooden slats make it challenging to us the remote control for the A/C and pointing this out on arrival might have avoided a 2 AM call when it wasn't cooling and I couldn't get it to change. Closet lights are great but the one on the left didn't work and the one on the right required

The readily available shuttle to town makes up for not being centrally located but a fixed policy of informing the front desk of where and when to pick up guest might have avoided my 20 minutes in the sun and heat waiting and subsequent confusion about the tuk tuk price from town (we both said 14,000 kip several times, not 40,000.....my mistake for not using hand gestures or writing it down ?!?!?).

There is construction immediately across the street in front, slightly lower on the hill and to the right of the resort.... a new hotel about to add a second (of who knows how many) floors.....but no work went on for the 4 days there and I could not get any more information.

Yes some nightclub next door is noisy (quiet Monday and Tuesday nights though) but with the A/C on we didn't hear anything. Our solid back wall and not the windows faced it directly.

FYI: fixed price taxi from mosquito infested Luang Prabang old terminal where you are unpleasantly treated and then charged a $1 service fee on top of the $35 arrival VISA, was $8 and it is unclear why it the driver went 5 mph, on cell phone constantly and it took almost 25 minutes for a 5 minute drive!?!?!?! Glad to let Kiridara take me back!

Bottom line: I would most likely return to this beautiful property that needs a little fine tuning if it wants to be competitive with La Residence and The Luang Say. There will always be the extensive stairs.

Room Tip: How many reviews have to indicate there are lots of STAIRS ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwsmd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you so much for your kind note and for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments and will look into it to get it resolved where ever possible at the earliest.
Thank you we look forward to welcoming you soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
763 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
598 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiridara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiridara

Property: Kiridara
Address: 22 / 13 North Road | Ban Naviengkham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiridara 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiridara is an elegant, contemporary and luxurious boutique hotel located in the mystical city of Luang Prabang. Our 24 room contemporary boutique hotel scaled on a hillside and surrounded by native teak forests, offers panoramic views of Mount Phou Si, with easy access to central Luang Prabang and Luang Prabang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kiridara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiridara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing