We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay at a charming hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiridara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kiridara
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at a charming hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I just traveled to the kiridara hotel on our honeymoon and it was wonderful. They upgraded us to a gorgeous room overlooking the mountains (we highly recommend room 23). The staff was wonderful and we had a great stay. Downsides are the slower Internet and slow draining pipes but that certainly didn't deter from our stay. The breakfast was delicious and I highly recommend the mango and sticky rice at the restaurant. Was delicious! The beds were very comfortable and luxurious.

Room Tip: Room 23 was wonderful and had gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Egg2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments in TripAdvisor, which will motivate us to strive for perfection. My apologies in regards to the slow WiFi connecting in some areas and slow draining pipes, will look into it and get it fixed it at the soonest.

Thank you again, and from today we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    122
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
121
256
59
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Spent four days at Kiridara this year between Christmas and New Year's and enjoyed our stay at this very nice property. The quality of accommodation in LP is extremely variable, but the Kiridara is clearly setting itself up as a good option for a boutique hotel somewhere between over-the-top opulent and backpacker cheap-and-cheerful. The rooms are fairly spacious (we had a mountain view king room), all have balconies with great views as well which is nice. The pool and outdoor deck area with bar was also a good set up - unfortunately it was unusually cold during our visit so we weren't able to take full advantage (although the fire pit at night was great.) Note that when it’s cold in LP it gets especially smoky as everyone’s burning fires to keep warm, so expect to smell like a campfire during your visit!

Breakfast was included and was a solid offering - a small buffet of fruits, cereals and breads were complimented by choose-from-the-menu main courses which included a good variety of Western and Asian dishes. Dinner was also very good and the wine list was surprisingly drinkable and not too expensive (although we live in Singapore where booze is expensive so everything seemed cheap to us!)

The free shuttle service to the centre of town was very handy, if a must-have: the Kiridara is a fair walk (and not a very nice one so it's not recommended) from the town centre although it takes only 10 minutes or so to get there by bicycle. We did have a few hiccups with pickups in town - one time the van drove right past us and we had to call and get them to come back - but overall it wasn't too bad. They also have free bikes to use which we took advantage of one day. However, I'd like to see some better quality bikes (they were OK, certainly ride-able but nothing flash) for a property of this calibre. All in all, a very nice and pleasant stay.

One thing to note: if you come to visit during the Christmas/New Year's holidays as we did, Laotians love to throw massive parties at night complete with karaoke played at absolutely peak volume. Unfortunately, given Kiridara's hillside position, this meant that we heard every sound system for what seemed like miles around us until late into the night. The manager was very kind and apologetic about this as he has tried to work with other hotel GM's to lobby the local government on trying to find a way to manage the noise, but as this is a local tradition there's really not much you can do about it - just bring earplugs!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the lower front of the property don't have balconies in front of them (room 5 whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcknacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind note in TripAdvisor, which will motivate us to strive more for perfection.
Thank you for your understanding in regards to the noise from the local weddings/parties around the hotel. Also have noted the hiccups with pick up transfers into town, will rectify it at the earliest.

Thank you once again, and from today we look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed at Kiridara with my family for five nights over Christmas. We all loved our stay here. The consensus of the family group was that the hotel was peaceful and beautifully appointed. We loved the view from the hotel over the hill surrounding Luang Prabang. It was very pleasant sitting on the deck beside the pool looking at the view (even though it was rather cold).

The rooms are lovely. My family group had 4 rooms: two upstairs and two downstairs. The upstairs rooms are more private and have better views but they were all beautifully furnished and large. The beds were super comfortable: the best beds we have encountered in Indochina. There is also fantastic shampoo and conditioner in the bathrooms.

What makes Kiridara special though is the service. The staff are friendly, relaxed and helpful. My 84 year old mother was truly grateful for the attention she received. The staff were also very helpful when my daughter needed to go to the doctor. They arranged the appointment and drove us to and from the surgery. My mother in law really enjoyed talking to the GM.

Kiridara is only 10 minutes from the old city by foot so it is easy to walk but there is a bus available to take you anytime - a great service. There are also bikes which you can ride anytime, which we did.

The food is good and the cocktails excellent. I loved the watermelon and basil margarita. All up a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much Peter W for your lovely comments in TripAdvisor, on friendly and helpful Staffs and Services, which will motivate us to strive more for perfection.

Thank you once again, and from today we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on our honeymoon for 5 nights. Absolutely loved it, stunning setting, wonderful views and we would definitely recommend it for couples or families.

Lovely staff and management with fantastic service and rooms. Top marks and would love to stay here again.

Lots to do and see in Luang Prabang and Kiridara was a great place to base ourselves

Overall it's hard to fault and it was clear the staff and management too great pride in the hotel and their work

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you so much David for your lovely comments on Staff and Management in TripAdvisor, which will motivate us to strive for perfection. My apologies in regards to the slow WiFi connecting in some areas.

Thank you again, and from today we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st paul mn
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Spent 5 nights at the Kiridara with a friend and had a very positive experience. The room was great, having a pool was wonderful ( even if it was cold), the setting peaceful, the food very very good, but what made it so memorable was the staff. The GM introduced himself and was engaged and offering up some great tips, the service staff were all friendly and had good senses of humor, the Spa staff were both nice and skilled, and the drivers and front desk staff made us feel appreciated. The shuttle was always available and I enjoyed being a bit out of things --and we spent our last two nights in town which was a different experience and fun but I really like the Kiridara best. The hotel is what you expect from a boutique hotel and but didn't feel fussy or too high end--just welcoming and nice!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor, happy to know that my staff experience made the difference.
we look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel and nice room. Short ride to main centre. Hotel provided complimentary transport to and from main area. Breakfast was nice. Only disappointment was the pool was not operational and we were not told this until we arrived.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you so much for your sharing you comments in TripAdvisor. My sincere apologies in regards to the swimming pool not operational during your stay in September, as we had urgent maintenance to be carried out, and has now been resolved and back in operation.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panchkula, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights . Wonderful place for a relaxing holiday from hectic schedule of city life . Hotel is beautiful . Staff excellent , always smiling and ready to help .
Breakfast is good . We didn't try rest of the meals .
Hotel van is always at your disposal . Only major drawback was slow internet . Overall a good experience .

Room Tip: Individual cottages so all must be good , we had a suite , but word of caution people with knee or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you so much for your sharing you comments in TripAdvisor, especially in regards to the slow internet, which has been addressed to IT and have resolved it.
Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#24 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiridara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiridara

Property: Kiridara
Address: 22/13 North Road | Ban Naviengkham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiridara 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiridara is an elegant, contemporary and luxurious boutique hotel located in the mystical city of Luang Prabang. Our 24 room boutique hotel scaled on a hillside and surrounded by native teak forests, offers panoramic views of Mount Phou Si, with easy access to central Luang Prabang and Luang Prabang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kiridara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiridara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing