We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Kiridara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kiridara
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the kiridara. The hotel is located approximately 5-10 minutes’ drive from the centre of town, however, the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle which departs at the guests convenience. If you wish, the hotel will also collect you, although we always opted to get a tuk-tuk back to the hotel most evenings, which only cost about 30k kip. The room allocated was extremely spacious and comfortable. The staff were efficient, especially the hotel manager Francis, who always went out of his way to ensure the guests were happy.

After reading a few reviews, I am totally bemused why some guests have chosen to complain about the noise omitted from local wedding parties. On one occasion, I was particularly embarrassed to hear a guest on my return demanding to speak to the manager about the wedding noise. Please bear in mind that weddings only take place at weekends and any noise finishes at 11pm, which for most wedding I've attended is reasonably early! In my view the guest was full of hubris and his behaviour was extremely unreasonable. What could the manager be expected to do, shutdown the wedding? If the guest would have moved to another hotel, I strongly suspect the party would have still have been audible.

May I remind other travellers, it our responsibility as visitors to adapt to local customers and traditions not the other way round. Yes, we want to visit the sights and immerse ourselves in the culture, but the places we visit are living working villages, towns and cities. It is not for us to dictate to others how they should conduct their weddings, especially when the disruption is minimal.

Anyway, I’ll get down from my soap box and also apologise for my rant! Back to the review, breakfast was fantastic! Afternoon tea was a nice treat, especially when overlooking the mountains. We didn’t have dinner as so many in the town. Over all, a wonderful stay and let’s hope I have the opportunity to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topcat1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your lovely comments in TripAdvisor, especially on our efficient staffs, fantastic breakfast and afternoon tea. Also, thank you for bringing the attention on trip advisor on adapting to local cultures and wedding ceremonies.
Thank you once again, and from today, we look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    124
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
126
265
64
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

After reading many reviews and options we decide on a 4 day tour with Exotisimmo Travel which put us up here. The staff was incredibly welcoming and property in top shape. The rooms and amenities were all quite nice and well preserved. Had great head massage and body scrub in the spa. (Don't miss their chocolate and coconut products to take home.)

The staff made themselves available for quick trips into town on short notice which was great as we weren't set to any scheduled for the shuttle. Only minor things keeping this from a 5 star was while the restaurant was quite good and service fine, it wasn't 5-star caliber, service from the pool bar was quite slow, and we had been told we had a Mountain View room, which in honesty one needed to sit out on the patio to see.

Overall a great place

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor, have noted your comments about the pool bar service, which i will address it to the manager and rectify it at the soonest.
Thank you again, and from today, we look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is visually beautiful and the rooms have a contemporary feel with a wonderful local ambiance. The breakfast menu is diversified and the service was very efficient. I especially appreciated the interest shown by the hotel manager. He interacted with his guests, listened to their input and was always visible. I commend him as a person and as a manager. Well done.
The shuttle service to and from the hotel was very quick, so we didn't have to wait very long to get to the downtown area or to be picked up and brought back to the hotel.
A great hotel with beautiful views. The chaise lounges poolside were very comfortable. The pool was beautiful with interesting landscaping. But the water was too cold for me.

Room Tip: Location is scenic and quiet but not centrally located and must use their free shuttle service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhkalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your lovely comments in TripAdvisor, also, thank you for your kind note on breakfast, free shuttle to town, pool area and myself and my team, which will motivate us and help us to strive more for perfection.

Thank you again, and from today, we look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I just love the place. The architecture is impressive and unique. The designer must really have the heart of an artist because the ambiance was perfect for a stressed out person like me. I was in Luang Prabang on business but didn’t feel the pressure every time I would de-stress by the poolside. It was such a nice stay at the Kiridara that I wouldn’t mind going to Luang Prabang for business or for pleasure. The next time I visit I will definitely tag along my friends to enjoy and just have fun.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind note in TripAdvisor, we look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spent a couple of nights here in this wonderful hotel. Francis the Manager was taking care personally of his guests thank you. The provided shuttle services is great if you need to go or come back from the city any time before 10 pm as a courtesy from the hotel. Breakfast was served as a small buffett with a lot of choices you get cooked in addition in the Kitchen (with window connected to the serving area), great to have a look at it!
Only minor downsides:
The WIFI though needs improvement, but the hotel is aware of this and works on this issue. Also most of the staff goes out of the way if you ask them anything. Happy hour service though is a bit slow (or non existant).
But this are small issues and after all we are in Laos... GREAT STAY.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohmo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your lovely comments in TripAdvisor, which will motivate us and help us to strive more for perfection. Also,thank you for your comments in WiFi, which has been addressed to IT, hopefully will be rectified at the soonest.
Thank you again, and from today, we look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyprus
Level Contributor
621 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A small boutique hotel situated about 10 minutes from the centre by complimentary transport. The rooms are very spacious, best described as understated luxury. We had a lovely view to the mountains, a great room. Gleaming teak floors, clean place. There is to my mind a slight design fault as to toilet and bathroom. Both could be less minimalist if and a bit bigger and perhaps equipped with more towel hooks. Considering how huge the bedroom was it could have been possible. This is a pity but considering the whole stay and amenities it is minor thing. What I really liked was the bed! IT WAS DEVINE. I almost wanted to wake up in the middle of the night to cuddle the pillow, enjoy the super comfortable mattress and feel the soft duvet envelope me . Best this trip bar none. The room was fragrant.... The hotel is fumigated against mosquitoes regularly ...very useful as it makes for a peaceful sleep and general stay. The staff is all very young and very enthusiastic. Very nice indeed.

Room Tip: There are only very small number of rooms, all are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotraveldubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor, especially on our great room, fantastic bed and great service and enthusiastic staff, which will motivate us to strive more for perfection.
From today, we look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peyia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
675 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

On arrival the reception team was ver friendly and our room 19 right at the top and wow this room is large. I guess about 60 sqm at least. The room looked good it smelled good yes they have fragrant oils. Fantastic. The bed was by far the best on the whole trip including hotels like Shangri La Bangkok. The town is not big and you walk about 15 min to get to the centre but the hotel offers a shuttle and the service is great. The pool of the hotel is fantastic. If you are going to Luang Prabang this hotel is just amazing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigzag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your lovely comments in TripAdvisor, which will motivate us and help us to strive more for perfection.
Thank you again, and from today, we look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
743 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
774 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
568 reviews
1.3 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiridara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiridara

Property: Kiridara
Address: 22 / 13 North Road | Ban Naviengkham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiridara 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiridara is an elegant, contemporary and luxurious boutique hotel located in the mystical city of Luang Prabang. Our 24 room contemporary boutique hotel scaled on a hillside and surrounded by native teak forests, offers panoramic views of Mount Phou Si, with easy access to central Luang Prabang and Luang Prabang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kiridara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiridara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing