We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kiridara Luang Prabang
Nearby Hotels
US$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$109
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
US$136
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Maydou(Luang Prabang)
US$76
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santi Resort & Spa(Luang Prabang)
US$100
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maison Dalabua Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$76
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lao Spirit Resort(Luang Prabang)
US$88
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$154
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Apsara Rive Droite(Luang Prabang)
US$125
US$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveller rating
510
145
35
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
510
145
35
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tukin towninfinity poolthe hotel managerfree shuttlemountain viewon demandminute driveshuttle servicethe main hotelwonderful hotelthe hotel offersrooms are spaciousgreat poolhotel shuttlelate checkbalcony overlooking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 707 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is sadly lacking in most areas. It is pitched as a retreat, nestled in the hills outside the busy main thoroughfare of Luang Prabang’s central district. However, it’s really just a poorly located hotel set only marginally above the main road and surrounded by construction sites. It is far more peaceful in town as large lorries and big building work are not allowed. Outside the Kiridara, construction seems to be happening day and night, which completely ruins both the ambience and the view. In addition, the hotels neighbours seem to enjoy blasting out Cantopop music day and night. Its REALLY loud – it actually made the floor vibrate one day and it is impossible to rest/sleep when it goes on (most of the time). This all means that you can’t enjoy sitting on the balcony, although you probably wouldn’t anyway as the “private balcony” is right next to your neighbours so there is absolutely no privacy – its like you share the space.
The hotel is also a poor attempt at boutique. Unlike the beautifully restored villas in town, this is a purpose built “boutique” place which is too large to feel intimate and too small to be a resort. The rooms look okay on first glance but as you start to use things, you soon learn that they have been very cheaply put together. The fixtures and fittings are all ageing, a lot of the electrical outputs are dangerously ill-fitting or don’t work – I got an electric shock from one and a spark flew out of one of the plugs when I tried to use the socket. Even the doors are warped and require guests to slam them if they want them shut properly (noisy and affects other guests). Rooms are arranged badly – there are about four to a block (two up and two down) with a very annoyingly positioned room at the centre of all four containing LOUD air-conditioning outlets. Expect to hear mechanical noises all night. The wifi doesn’t work – very annoying when you are trying to plan your day-trips etc. And worst of all the “rain shower” is a trickle. Its impossible to have a good wash, so I felt positively unclean for the days I was there – horrible when you are in 30c heat.

Breakfast was okay, but poorly stocked. I went down at 9am (they run it until 1030am) and almost everything had gone (no fruit left, many other items very low or had gone). I had to ask if I wanted anything to be replenished which was embarrassing. Despite asking for basic plain eggs (no additions), they made them with cream and cheese, so I couldn’t eat them. Little things like this really put me in a bad mood most days.

The hotel runs an “on demand” shuttle (i.e. it goes whenever you need it). This is handy to get into town but useless to get home as unless you make an internationally charged phone call from your mobile there is no way to contact the hotel and ask them to pick you up. Inevitably you have to take a tuk tuk – which isn’t the end of the world at $3 a trip, but if making 2 or 3 trips to town a day, it adds up.

Worst of all, I complained multiple times to the staff who did nothing. I asked to check out a day early and was almost in tears as I’d had no sleep. I asked the hotel to refund me for one nights accommodation in view of the early departure and they refused. They said it was because I booked via a third party (Otel.com) but I contacted Otel.com who said they would happily refund me the money if the hotel agreed. The hotel wouldn’t and basically left me to have a miserable time. It was truly awful.

Luang Prabang is a tranquil and quite authentic place/experience. Do yourself a favour and find somewhere that echoes that feeling – the Kiridara is definitely not it! The only saving grace was that the bed was at least comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alicetravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara Luang Prabang, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for you comments in TripAdvisor, my sincere apologies in regards to all your experiences which were not met by us as per your expectations.
Hope and look forward to welcoming you again, will make sure everything will be fine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We extended our 3nt stay to 6 nts as it was the perfect place to properly relax. The Kiridara staff are friendly and professional. The breakfast, restaurant and room service was amazing and reasonably priced. It was a real haven to retreat back to each day after sight seeing in the heat (38C in April). I would recommend this property to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed 2 nts in a standard room before upgrading to a suite rooms for 4nts. The suites are well worth the extra money as the views over Luang Prabang were lovely to wake up to. I particularly recommend the suites to couples as they are a little further from the pool therefore a more private.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara Luang Prabang, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you so much alex m for sharing your wonderful experience in TripAdvisor, Also, thank you for your lovely note on our friendly and professional staffs and service.
Thank you once again, and from today, we look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We just spent a week in Luang Prabang with our three children (11,9,6) and had an absolutely wonderful time at the Kiridara! The entire staff was incredible, and we were so well cared for by everyone there. The manager, Francis, could not be more professional and was ready to assist us with anything we needed, from sight seeing tours to restaurant suggestions and more. We have a child with challenging food allergies and Francis helped us meet with the head Chef at the hotel, who proceeded to take impeccable care of her (and us) throughout our stay. We spent hours in the pool due to scorching temperatures, and met so many great families with children - the hotel felt like a small, warm community within just a few days of being there. Like a real home away from home! Free shuttle service into town was a snap, and it was easy and cheap to take tuk tusk back to the hotel after wandering the lovely streets of Luang Prabang. Spa services were incredible, including the free 10 minute poolside massages! The rooms were comfortable and lovely, best beds we've slept in for some time now. We could not be more pleased with our time there. Thank you, Kiridara, for a wonderful week!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blair d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara Luang Prabang, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you so much blair d for sharing your lovely experience in TripAdvisor, Also, thank you for your lovely note on our helpful staffs who took care of you all.
Also, happy to hear that you felt like a small community being here, like a home away from home.
Thank you once again, and from today, we look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I spent four days in Kiridara Hotel, Luang Prabang, Laos. I find the hotel very nice, each room with a veranda and those of the ground floor with a little private garden as well (all the building is two stories). Great swimming pool, very good breakfast and cuisine. Very professional staff. It is two kilometers from downtown, but the hotel provides bicycles or a tuc-tuc. Recomendable.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms not too close to the swimming pool are the best.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara Luang Prabang, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you so much Eduardo L for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We just stayed at Kiridara Hotel at Luang Prabang ( 14-18 April 2014 ) for 4 days 3 nights. Wonderful hotel with warm & friendly staff provided excellent service from arrival pick up until departure drop off. Breakfast was delicious , amenities & facilities are 5 star. Not only shuttle us to town center many times but also moved us to Kiridara Villa in town on the 3rd night which enable us to experience early morning alm offering to monks. Villa was absolutely delightful with super efficient Butler & Housekeeping. GM Mr.Fernandez & SM Khun Phongphan were perfect hosts. Would reccomend to all our dear friends of our memorable experience. Thanks to everyone at Kiridara Hotel & Kiridara Villa ! Sabaidi Pi Mai !

Room Tip: Our room # 8 is very spacious & has a courtyard facing the pool Villa is a memorable experience !
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara Luang Prabang, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you so much Moe Z for sharing your wonderful experience in TripAdvisor, Also, thank you for your lovely note on our warm and friendly staffs and excellent service.
Also, thank you for your kind note on our villas with efficient Butler and Housekeeping staff.
Thank you once again, and from today, we look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews