We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good night out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ethnik Fashion Show - CLOSED

Ethnik Fashion Show
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than 49 different ethnic groups can be found living in Laos. Most of these groups continue to dress in traditional costumes passed down by their ancestors.To showcase these colorful creations, Hive Bar and Smokehouse, is presenting a live Ethnic Fashion Show in Luang Prabang.Twenty Lao models parade down the catwalk over 95 different outfits with intricate designs including traditional jewelry, headwear, and ceremonial outfits, basketry and baby carriers used by the different ethnicities. The show is held at Hive Bar & Restaurant starting at 7pm, Tuesday through Saturday, in a beautiful outdoor garden setting. On hand at the Hive Bar, the staff are ready to answer any questions you might have. Afterwards, guests are welcome to stay and soak up the atmosphere of the premier nightspot of Luang Prabang, Hive bar & Restaurant.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really good night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The fashion show is really fun and interesting, and was followed by some break dancers who were amazing! I went on quite a busy night so it was great fun and the food was also good which helps. I would definitely recommend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    31
    2
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“A must! Not about fashion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

It isn't a fashion thing but a cultural one. The ethnic fashion show is a great chance to see many of the local customs with good music and beer in the background. I highly recommend it to anyone in LPB.

Helpful?
Thank Nir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My ethnicity is Hmong, and seeing my people highlighted in this show was amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I was born in America, and being able to come back to my roots in Northern Laos and see this fashion show was amazing. It really made me feel proud to be recognized with a show like this. It has been by far the best Hmong Fashion show that I've ever seen, being that I've seen many in America and also recently Australia.

Whether you understand the intricacy of the designs and the meaning behind the woven patters or not, this details of the show from the music, to the simple but effective choreography, to the lighting and facade of the environment are all well worth it.

Before going I didn't know what to expect but still mentioned it to other travelers on the street and in my hostel. I was really happy to see that half of the crowd were all people that i suggested it to.

Although the show is free, please donate at the end and help with the performers in their time and exchange of culture :) It's a high quality show for free and you'd feel horrible if you didn't donate :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hmong509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ethnik Fashion show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

What a great way to understand the many cultures that made up the Lao population. The show is free and is featured at the Hive Bar/restaurant. Definitely worth checking out.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was fabulous and fun! It was awesome to see so many ethnic costumes and the university student models were so happy! We loved the blend of very old and very new. The hiphop dancers were great to watch. The mojitos and pizzas were a nice way to end the day. EVen our 11-year old son had a good time! I cannot stress how cool it was to bring the traditional dress to the catwalk. You had to smile!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kimerly10i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ethnik Fashion Show also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Ban Xieng Lom, Luang Prabang
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing