We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic relaxing countryside resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nam Ou Riverside Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nam Ou Riverside Hotel & Resort
Ranked #41 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic relaxing countryside resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I just feel bad that I waited a year to write this review but this place is amazing. I was here a year ago on my honeymoon for 3 nights in LP. The manager and service is great. The cabin rooms are great. Food is great. Location is beautiful. It is very secluded about 20 minutes outside of Luang Prabang in a very tiny country village along the river. You get a very different experience staying here rather than in Luang Prabang and they will still drive you into Luang Prabang and take you back so you get best of both worlds. If you want to be somewhere more centrally located however and want to be able to go out at night then you may prefer in LP. Here there is really nothing around in the evening but it is very relaxing and you can see the local village life too. The owner of the hotel owns elephants and he brought his elephant to the hotel for feeding time and let us feed it...was really cool. Five stars!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    15
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
49
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were picked up on time and transferred to Nam Ou and met by the manager. Our room was immaculate, comfortable and spacious. And a lovely terrace to relax on. Nam Ou is a little remote so once you are there......but that is what we wanted. The restaurant was understandably limited in its offering but we did enjoy all the meals. Very reasonable too. Staff were lovely, very accommodating. We took advantage of the bikes to ride down towards the caves. One of them got a flat so we tried to get a message to the hotel. In the end we set off on one bike, to be met by two motor bikes and the manager and staff to take care of the bikes and to chauffeur us back to the resort. What wonderful service. You must also take a trip on the elephants, great fun!! Thoroughly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grumpy554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This resort is a must-do for anyone visiting the Luang Prabang Area. My boyfriend and I visited here and spent 2 nights in the suite. The suite is very beautifully and tastefully done, with your own private terrace and a huge king size comfortable bed. The shower also has excellent pressure and hot water. From your terrace you have views of the river and the mountains, and it is a very quiet place to relax and breathe in the fresh air. There is also a small infinity pool overlooking the river and the mountains at the resort which is a welcome and beautiful thing to swim in during the hot afternoons. The manager is really friendly and can speak English as well as French, and he really goes out of his way to arrange activities for you. There are caves, villages, and an Elephant camp next door to the resort. We took a private boat ride to a small village up the river where they make local Lao Lao (whiskey from laos) and we were the only foreigners there. The children were chasing us around the village and smiling and trying to play soccer with us. A very cute experience.
The resort is located 30-45 mins out of Luang Prabang but it's definitely worth it it visit to see the countryside of Laos and it's lovely people. The food is limited on what you can order but it's very delicious and good value for what you spend. Will recommend this place to everyone I know visiting Luang Prabang, and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilmisadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Positives:
-Beauty of the beauty of the site, really small exclusive boutique hotel, big rooms.
-Great service and a really very good cooker, the food is mostly lao, but just excellent.
-The manager is great and very professional, trying to help you for everything, he is fluent in french also.
-Activities as biking cayaking and of course riding and bathing elephant if you want to, are nice and
exclusive, this elephant reserve is small and there are not so many tourists coming every day so it is really great value for money.(50meters from the resort)
- Your are at 30 mn of Luang Prabang near by a river where there is not contamination neither no noise because of a dam just up in the river, so there are almost no boats arounds.
-perfect with kids.
Negatives ????

Room Tip: les bungalows are really lovely they are all on the riverside with a nice vue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familiacebolleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We spent a few days here a couple of weeks ago and really loved it - it was the highlight of our trip to Laos. The staff were wonderful - they couldn't do enough for us and we so enjoyed the peaceful, beautiful location, the fab infinity pool and the activities. The elephants were a special treat - the baby one is sooo cute but naughty! They have some new rooms and villas that are about to open and the lovely manager Mr Souvannasing explained that they are about to offer a free shuttle to Luang Prabang because it is a distance from the centre. Loved it!

Room Tip: All the villas have great river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whynotgoeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The brochure describes this resort as a 'nice' place to stay, but this does not do it justice. It is a beautiful place to stay with luxurious chalets each of which has a magnificent view of the mountains and river, the new chalets with the jacuzzi bath and outdoor shower are very special. We were given a warm welcome by the manger and his staff, introduced to the elephants, we loved the baby. Our trip to the local village was extremely memorable. Thank you for a delightful stay..

Room Tip: The new chalets are very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The nam ou is located about 30min far from Luang Prabang and then, is more suited to travelers looking for a relaxing, laid-back experience, than people looking for an active trip.
My girlfriend and I took the biggest suite, located the furthest from the entrance, reception/restaurant, swimming-pool, to celebrate an early Valentine's day and recent achievements.
The good points:
The room was almost perfect. Very spacious, with a huge and comfy bed in the middle, minimally furnished with a small coffee table, a desk and a closet. A large terrace with an outdoor bed, a table, and a nice view on the river. The room is very clean and amenities provided sufficient (toothbrush, cotton buds, etc...)
The swimming pool is awesome. infinity pool with a view on the river, a couple of long chairs with sunshades and not crowded as the resort is rather small (but they plan to open many more suites and rooms this year).
The food provided in the resort's restaurant is very good (which is important because you wont have the possibility to eat anywhere else during your stay as the resort is far from everything), with a limited choice of international and local dishes. Some products are however on the menu but never available.
The bad points and room for improvement:
The resort is far from everything so you have to eat at the resort's restaurant, take the resort's excursions and enjoy the activities offered by the resort and there's not a lot to do apart from the visit of a local village across from the river (which was overall a very nice experience, mostly because we were the only tourists there), the visit of a cave (and once you have seen a few caves in Asia, you have seen them all) and a boat trip on the river. You can do a small promenade on elephants with the local elephant reserve developed by the resort.
The bathroom could use a bathtub even though the shower is okay.
The resort lacks of English-speaking staffs so if the manager isn't around, you wont get anything from the staff. it leads to a global bad level of service (knowing the price you pay for the suite), such as if you want a drink by the swimming pool or if u re facing trouble ordering something in the restaurant or organizing your excursions at the reception.

Overall a very very nice place to stay and chill-out for a couple of days with your loved one, but could turn into a very average experience in case of bad weather for example. Thanks for the wine and for everything, my girlfriend and I had a very lovely time !

Room Tip: choose one of the suites, with a river view. the small rooms dont look great and offer nothing speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmandVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
14.5 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
15.1 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#21 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
15.0 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#4 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hillside - Nature Lifestyle Lodge
Hillside - Nature Lifestyle Lodg...
#1 of 135 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
15.0 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nam Ou Riverside Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nam Ou Riverside Hotel & Resort

Property: Nam Ou Riverside Hotel & Resort
Address: Ban Vanglae | Pak Ou district, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nam Ou Riverside Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Nam Ou Riverside Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing