We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and food, not ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
My Dream Boutique Resort
Ranked #4 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
149 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and food, not ideal location”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2014.
The rooms are nice and quiet with good amenities.
Breakfast has a good selection. Other food generally is of a high standard, we only ate the local dishes which were very good.
The pool is a little small when the hotel is busy as the sunbeds can be taken up if you get down too late.
The location is not ideal as a bit out of town. In dry season it would be easier when the temporary bridge is there but not in rainy season. They do have free shuttles to the centre which are helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claphamaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    204
    32
    11
    2
See reviews for
177
499
101
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

If you are lucky enough to stay at this lovely place, you are in for a treat. The staff is phenomenal and can't do enough for its guests. Great breakfasts and coffee too. They include a free airport pickup and drop off which we didn't even know about but learned when I emailed to confirm from Cambodia. Our flight was late and their staff waited for us for two hours! What service!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julestoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We (family of 5 with children aged 8, 10, 13) have chosen the hotel mainly because of its one of the few places in Luang Prabang that has a pool. The location of the hotel is a bit outside the main city, but getting back-and-forth is easy either by bike (free) or by tuk tuk. We spent wonderful 3 nights in the hotel that lived up to all its promises. The staff is super friendly and gives great advice on restaurants, things to do outside the city and many more. There is plentiful breakfast buffet with Lao and Western dishes and also the other meals (snacks) were good value for money. The airport is just around the corner (not big deal as there is not much air traffic, hence no disturbance). The wifi is on the slow end but free.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thkohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have been staying in My Dream for two nights and have another night to go before we depart on a two day boat trip down the Mekong on our way to Thailand. If you are looking for peace and quiet in a restful environment this is the place. The staff are very welcoming and friendly but as in almost the whole of Laos their English is quite limited. The restaurant is very pleasant and offers a reasonable variety and the deluxe room we had overlooked the pool and had its own balcony.

Room Tip: Deluxe room overlooking the pool are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbod26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This place is absolutely amazing. Staff, food, rooms, amenities. I can't wait to go back. They have free bikes to take to town and reasonably prices drinks and food. The owner and staff are extremely friendly. We travel frequently and this is by far our favorite place!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Skibb1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
224 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights. it was our first time in Laos and we loved it. The staff at My Dream are very attentive, always smiling and you are always warmly greeted. For us when staff are so happy they must be well treated and was a pleasure to stay here.
Breakfast is great with a good variety, one highlight for us was a "real coffee machine" . They had a Gaggia coffee maker, the first time we have seen one in our travels through Asia, we love coffee so it was a good bonus to have a nice cup of coffee in the morning.
We ate dinner at the hotel on one night. Food was good and service once again fantastic. Some reviewers have mentioned a young girl. Her name is Kea and she is amazing. She has a beautiful nature and is always smiling. We really enjoyed talking to her as she bought our food at dinner. The next morning she greeted us like friends. Kea is such an asset to the hotel. All the staff are fantastic, but Kea stands out we felt like we were saying goodbye to a friend when leaving.
The rooms are beautiful, although not quite as big as they look on the website, but still very nice. There is a ceiling fans as well as air con and the room cools down very quickly. Great views over the river. They are very clean and well maintained. One morning we accidentally put do not disturb not he door instead of make up my room. When we asked if our room could be made up, it was promptly done. We were in the pool and could see how thorough the cleaning staff were.

The only thing they we did not like was the distance to town. It is a short walk over the Bamboo bridge, however that is only there 6 months of the year. I am scared of heights and could not walk across the old bridge. Tuk Tuk is about $4 USD, which gets a little expensive going in and out of town. There is a shuttle service, my suggestion to the hotel would be for it to run more frequently and maybe when they go to town have a pick up to go back to the hotel. One day we mixed up the time and it had left already. They quickly organised for us to be taken to town, which was very nice of them as it was our mistake. We knew that it was out of town when booking, I just didn't quite expect the bridges to be so daunting. In the end when I overcome my fear of the bamboo bridge it wasn't such a bad thing. The service, quality and quietness makes up for the distance. They also have free pick up and drop off to the Airport.
We would definitely stay here again if in Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor for good river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnda667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here in the last week of June & enjoyed our time here. We had a deluxe room above the reception area. Considering what you pay here you get great value for your $. The room was clean, bathroom shower had great pressure. The pool a reasonable size for the amount of rooms at this resort & kept spotlessly clean. The garden area is really lovely & spreads right down to the river. The bamboo bridge was still there which made it about a 7 or 8 minute walk from hotel to town. If the shuttle time doesn't it's only about $5 so no big deal. The cost of food & drinks both at the hotel & in town was extremely cheap, we honestly found it hard to spend our money here. The only fault we could find, which is possibly due to the terrain is the poor internet connection. There were occasional misunderstandings due to the language barrier but nothing that wasn't easily rectified. Staff need not feel bad if they aren't sure they have understood the guest, we felt bad that we couldn't speak any of their language! Visiting the waterfalls was our highlight of the stay. The owner allowed us to use the bathroom of an empty room the day we left as we had a late flight & the room we were in was booked, we were extremely grateful for this courtesy. They refused extra payment for this even though staff had to then re-clean the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netteTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
744 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
0.6 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
774 reviews
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Dream Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Dream Boutique Resort

Property: My Dream Boutique Resort
Address: Ban Mougga Village, Mougaga Street, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — My Dream Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful garden, leading down to an uninterrupted view of the Nam Khan river, My Dream is an oasis of tranquility, just minutes from Luang Prabang's bustling town centre. Rooms and furnishings of natural woods and woven Lao fabrics blend seamlessly into lush surroundings. Sunshine streams through floor-to-ceiling glass doors, which open out to private balconies. You may choose a room in Sala, Chandara, or Latsana, or select your own bungalow – or bungalow suite. All are light, airy, and a reflection of Lao culture and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your My Dream Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing