We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is great, great room and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This hotel is great, great room and great location”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed in a few hotels in Luang Prabang last June, and of all the hotels I've stayed in, this is by far the best I've stayed in, the rooms are great, gives off a woody and villa feel. The room was great, clean and pretty big, I think it's worth more than the price it offered, felt that it's value for money.

The staffs were great, very friendly, gave us friendly smiles whenever we come down from the rooms or back to the hotel. Gave helpful tips and directions around places to visit. Nice ambience and atmosphere. It's also very near to town center, and even though near, we don't really hear any hustle and bustle of the town at all as contrary to comments by other travellers.

I would like to stay in this hotel again if I were to visit LP again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirlZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    24
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
29
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed here for three nights. This was a good basic hotel with clean rooms and bathrooms within a 2minute walking distance to the main street. The staff were quite helpful and the air conditioning in the rooms was exceptional - so much so that on the first night we had to turn it off as we were freezing! The bathrooms were clean and functional and the staff were quite accommodating when we ended up booking an extra night.
The downside of this hotel is that the beds were quite hard and there is no in-room safe here.

Room Tip: Book a room upstairs and ask for one at the front of the building as you're overlooking the Meko...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed here in April 2012.

I had booked at the Muanglao Riverside Hotel but mistakenly walked off the boat to Mekong Holiday Villa, that was no problem, they said I could choose. But I stayed in this one and I'm pleased I did for the following reasons:

The accomodation is great, the location is excellent, the hotel's private piece of land across the street is wonderful to relax and have an afternoon beer and the prices are very reasonable. The staff are friendly and attentive with a straight talking boss who is generous and fair. I would stay in any of his establishments in the future for comfort, integrity, trust and safety.

Christopher Sidney
New Zealand

Room Tip: Upstairs facing the river are the best rooms. Mine was downstairs with a window onto the courtyard w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiritopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

The room we stayed in was lovely; well decorated, comfy bed, good size. Had the staff we encountered been more pleasant and helpful, I would have rated this guesthouse as excellent.

Often, I found reception unmanned. Another time, a house keeper was behind the desk but did not speak any English so was unable to help. Other times, reception staff were too busy watching the tv in the lobby or were on the computer that they did not notice me waiting at reception and had to be called over. We stayed in room 104 which backed onto the lobby. Unfortunately, this meant that we experienced the raucous noise made by the staff.

The biggest disappointment about this place was the housekeeping staff. I found them to be unmotivated, lazy and unfriendly. One morning, we were woken up my one knocking on our door at 9am asking if we wanted our room cleaning. Additionally, they showed no consideration for guests and spoke very loudly, shouting down corridors to each other. Rooms were cleaned daily but towels and toilet rolls not replenished; I had to ask at reception for them.

Despite all this, there was one outstanding staff member who worker nights called Yeng. He spoke very good English, was very hard working and eager to please. The other staff there should observe and follow Yeng's example!

Overall decent rooms but poorly managed and unprofessional staff lets the place down.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juk2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Cant believe comments by previos reviewers..we were also re-directed from MuongLao to Mekong Holiday Villa and couldnt have been happier. The location for us was perfect and the staff at reception was great, he picked us up at the airport, took our bags up to the room and was ever so helpfull at all times. We stayed 4 nights and wished it were longerThe staff who did breakfast were lovely and polite and although no English , with a bit of sign language we managed to get what we wanted. Our rooms were serviced daily and clean towels provided. When we did visit MuongLao we sat across the road in the garden and asked for a beer..he didnt have any but went down the road and got us one! I would certainly recommend this place and will be back...perhaps travellers from Oz are easier to please ! Thanks Dan for "re-directing" us ! Sandy and Michele

Room Tip: Aske for a room upstairs facing the Mekong..simple really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gyspy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

same thing happened to us as AlexMcca wrote. We were sent to this hotel unwillingly. I had made booking at MuongLao Riverside by Villa Xandria about 30 days before but the Indian owner said same thing as AlexMcca wrote. He was not pleasant at all. This hotel is on a noisy location. It is near the morning market and night market. The room was new but facing back of other house nad dark. Staff is all so inattentive. We were charged $48 for this. If he want to send us to the other hotel then he must contact us and ask us. We had no choice as he could charge 100% cancellation charge. Terrible breakfast staff who are all so slow even we told them many times that our bus leaves 9 am since our arrival, nobody ever care maybe didn't understand. When we came back after dinner around 10pm the receptionist was browsing internet on the other side of the reception area and wasn't even interested in coming back to the desk until we called him. It was a very unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tappaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This hotel is a sister hotel to Mounglao Riverside but is vastly different. We had a delightful room with a nice bathroom with plenty of hot water in the shower. The price of $40 is more than we have paid elsewhere on our travels in Asia for better accommodation but it seems Luang Prabang gets away with higher charges all round.

The room was very clean with comfy beds, a wardrobe and dressing table.

Breakfast is served on the terrace alongside the hotel. There is a daily breakfast menu that rotates which is good but there is no choice or no chance of having any more. It was well presented and cooked.

Staff as at Mounglao were very helpful.

We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retsyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
760 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria

Property: Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria
Address: Mekong River Road (next to museum), Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 152 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Hotel Class:3 star — Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mekong Holiday Villa is just right at the center of Luang Prabang, the world heritage town, next to Royal Palace. It's 3 minutes by walking to night market and post office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing