We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria
lrolens
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and Staff”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This was reasonable, served a solid breakfast, had rooms that were more than adequate, and the staff was excllent and very helpful. Across the street from the Mekong and away from the shuck and jive of the main tourist street (but a several minute walk from important sites, morning & niht markets and more), the views were good. Big rooms and nice western bathrooms and a host of riverside restaurants (not across the street which is reserved by the owner of this hotel) within a couple of minute walk. Nice to have coffee, tea and fruit out all day; staff helped us arrange things that were not with the usual tourist herds which would have been very difficult on our own. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 204 & 205 have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrolens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    24
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
29
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, great location and very friendly and helpful receptionist. I thought 55$ is too expensive considering there are so many cheaper options with the same standards. WiFi didn't work in the room or even downstairs in the lobby. We used the computer next to reception instead. Breakfast ok and quick.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteWe_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I booked a double room but was given a family room with fantastic view of the river. Unlike other budget accommodations dotting the river, the view of the river was not obstructed by any stalls at the river bank. There are tree stumps at the river bank for one to enjoy the view with your own beverages.

Although it is located on a main road, traffic is not much at this part of town. There are also double window shutters to block of the noise and light. Although the corridor for upstairs are made of wooden floorboards, I couldn't really hear the neighbours.

Although breakfast is pre-fixed according to the day, they only cook them when you are seated. Therefore, it can take awhile to be served. If you are in a hurry, do allocate 30 minutes for all the food to be served.

Morning market is just behind the hotel, while night market and the temples are just slightly further down.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
660 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

Nice quaint little guesthouse by the river with 10 small rooms. Clean and pleasant with a very friendly young staff. Only objection I have is for the ants that are ubiquitously crawling around. Included breakfast begins only at 7:30 which can be quite late if you have an 8am appt with a travel agency. Nothing special either... 2 pieces of bacon, eggs sunny side up, and French toast. Supposedly alternate between Lao and western every other day but we had this same twice in a row. Coffee is only Nescafé as well. There are many guesthouses out there for 1/2 the pice but at ~$30 per night not much to complain about here

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The hotel is located in the old quarter of Luang Prabang and its walking distance to the museum,Phu Si temple and night market. Most of the restaurants are also close by. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The wooden floorboards and ceiling add a touch of charm. A double bedded room is spacious enough to accommodate big luggage and tall people :) . The bathroom was clean too. The staff speak English and are very warm, friendly and informative.Oh yes, there's free internet in the "lobby" too.

Room Tip: Try taking a room with the view of Mekong river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
303 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hotel was excellent value for money and ideally located opposite the river and a short stroll to the night markets and main areas. The staff were exceptional, especially Felix who seemed to be there most of the time. The smile went a long way in making us feel at home. Initially we were going to stay there 2 nights, but ended up staying there five., The showers were great and I loved being able to make a cup of tea in the lobby anytime night or day. would stay there again.

Room Tip: choose an upstairs room as sometimes noise travels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

It is a great hotel in great location. Staff personal is very friendly and helpful. No problems, no issues. Wi-Fi was okay. Could be better, but I didn't expect Wi-Fi to be presented at all. Two PCs in the lobby have Internet access. Hot water was off for 15 mins in two mornings of four I stayed. That was inconvenient. In the instructions sheet they ask to take shoes off in the lobby when go to the second floor... That was new to me. And it didn't seem like it was a cultural request (Lao take shoes off at the entrance). I guess, they are trying to save the floors. I did take my shoes off when it was raining outside. No breakfast. Overall, if I was coming back to Luang Prabang, I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 69w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
743 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
774 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
869 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria

Property: Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria
Address: Mekong River Road (next to museum), Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Hotel Class:3 star — Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mekong Holiday Villa is just right at the center of Luang Prabang, the world heritage town, next to Royal Palace. It's 3 minutes by walking to night market and post office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing