We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria
toronto
Level Contributor
86 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great relaxing stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Mekong River Villas for 5 nights. The hotel has a great, central location along the river and is less than a 2-5min walk to the temples and main street. We took a taxi from the airport as it was later in the evening and the price was fair. Check in/out was efficient and quick. The staff were very friendly, helpful and the manager speaks excellent English (currently studying uni.) and assistant manager does as well but not as fluid. We had great conversations about LP, the people and the changes that have occurred since we last visited LP. LP is a great place to bike around as the traffic is low and it is pretty flat. Beautiful place with great people.

Pros: Excellent staff. A few are pretty good singers, too! Lol. Our twin room (two beds pushed together) was very spacious, beds comfy, mini-fridge, a/c, and bathrooms have great shower pressure and hot water. Very quiet. Clean but worn towels. Free tea, bananas on the main floor. 2 computer terminals at reception. Wish there was a chair in the room. Per usual towels refreshed when requested. Room price: found a great deal online and you can beat the location (prev. we stayed off the main area as it was less expensive). No brainer really. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that.

Cons: The traditional wood décor is beautiful but it can get a bit dark and the wood floors do creak (not a big deal, just request a 2nd floor room. Since it was summer and raining a lot, there were small ants in the bathroom, again not a big deal, make sure no food is left on the table as you’ll get them coming into the room. Spotty wifi for the first 2 days (weather related I assume).

All in all would definitely stay again. Keep your eye out for a deal online, it was a steal. The staff are sweethearts, say hello from Canada for me!

Room Tip: if you can afford it, book the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    24
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
29
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The location is very convenience for shopping, eating, and sightseeing, very near to night market. I stayed there for 4 nights. Reception staff is nice and friendly but they don't know much about the attractions.

Wifi - is quite slow and not stable. Some ants are in the room, towel is not clean so we use ourselves. Drinking water is not refilled, we have to ask for. I stay on 1st floor and hear a walking noise from guest on 2nd wooden floor.

It would be great if hotel will use the space at riverfront by putting tables and chairs for guest to sit and relax. Overall is the good experience in LPB.

Room Tip: Rent a bicycle to ride around the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koiky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Point, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Great little villa right on the riverside. Well appointed rooms and comfortable. The wifi was on again off again but that seems to be a feature of Laos. The outstanding feature of this hotel was the smiling, friendly English speaking receptionist. Having come from a hotel in Vientiene where we were literally ignored by the staff, this was a real treat.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank djdcns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We originally booked 1 night, but ended up staying here 2 nights. On our first night we had a room on the 2nd floor, but because we booked our 2nd night last minute they only had rooms available on the 1st floor. The rooms on the 2nd floor much bigger than the rooms downstairs… although they sell them for 2 people, it seems you can easily fit more as there is a queen bed in addition to a twin bed!

We liked our stay here as the place was clean and the AC worked well! The location is ideal as it just one block down from the main street of Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ckleinbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

I am totally satisfied with the location and the overall presentation and services given by the hotel. This is one of the rare hotel in Laos whereby staffs can speak English fluently. The hotel is next to the palace and 5 minutes walk to Wat Xiengthong. The jetty is right in front if you plan to take a slow boat ride to Pak ou caves upstream.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaunesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Saen, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

The hotel is in a great location on the river road, with large comfy beds in large clean rooms. Breakfast was adequate and wi-fi OK. I have stayed 4 different times now and the hotel is good value and like a home from home.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 59Thunderbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at this pleasant hotel though had booked 7. Unfortunately, the internet was not working upstairs and needed repaired. They were so kind and understanding when we asked to check out after only one night. They even gave us a $5 discount.
The breakfast included was pleasant and served on the outdoor patio. They offer complimentary bananas, tea and coffee 24/7.
Request a room not overlooking the Mekong as there is a street in between the river and the hotel. The traffic dies down at 11:30pm and is then fairly quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whenyouwishuponastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#21 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hillside - Nature Lifestyle Lodge
Hillside - Nature Lifestyle Lodg...
#1 of 135 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mekong Moon Inn
Mekong Moon Inn
#25 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria

Property: Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria
Address: Mekong River Road (next to museum), Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Hotel Class:3 star — Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mekong Holiday Villa is just right at the center of Luang Prabang, the world heritage town, next to Royal Palace. It's 3 minutes by walking to night market and post office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing