We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here twice during the week we stayed in LP. It is perfectly located right by the river and close to everything.
The breakfast was nice. We had the Asian, as well as fruit.
Free tea and coffee all day is a plus point.
Fridge in rooms and tv air con etc.
Good service, with very quick check in and out. Owner even took us to the airport for the same price as a tuk-tuk except in an actual car - this is a nice touch.
Competitive pricing too since they amend their prices as per the high/low season

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claphamaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hostel itself is perfectly clean, spacious room, and the most comfortable beds I've slept on for a long time. Across the street from the beautiful Mekong River and a 2 minute walk to the market. To top it off the staff was amazing--Dan (the owner, Canadian) is about as good as it gets and totally went out of his way for the guests well being. Only stayed for three nights but could have stayed for weeks! Highly recommend Mekong Holiday Villa.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasegharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria is a perfect little guest house with 10 rooms right on the Mekong River. Location is key with this Guest House. The river provides a slightly cooler breeze than the rest of town (such as in the bar area), and you are still very close to all attractions. In reality, you can walk to just about anywhere in town. A moments walk away from the morning and night markets, great eateries across the street. Bike rental and tour operators just down the street - there is nothing missing from the location. Sunsets are spectacular - grab a coconut shake or dinner at one of the riverside restaurants just outside the property and enjoy!

The staff is very friendly and attentive and will help in any way they can. Dan, the hotel owner/manager is great to talk to and deal with. He definitely enhanced our experience.

Having looked at MANY guest house rooms in person (there are literally hundreds in town), Mekong Holiday Villa, for the price paid is definitely one of the best budget accommodations available. Stayed here for 1 week, and it was just perfect. The perfect amount of time to experience everything in Luang Prabang. I would definitely suggest this Guest House to others.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the river side are spacious and really nice. 204 was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for several nights in March 2014. We were on the second floor and had a view over the Mekong River. The room was very large with ample cupboards, power points, fridge and the bathroom had a shower curtain and a good size so that two people could use the bathroom at once. The location is very central and very handy to morning and night markets. The desk staff were very helpful and very friendly, always with a smile and asking how your day went or wishing you a good day, speaking English very well. We were leaving early on our last day and they organised for us sandwiches to take away, which was so very nice of them. There is tea, coffee and fruit downstairs that you can help yourself to. We had not problems here at all and highly recommend it. The best room we had during one month in Cambodia/Laos.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff, nice and clean rooms, good location in a quiet area (but only a 5 minutes walk from the night market and walking street). English channels with good reception. Wi-fi was really slow, that's the only thing we weren't happy with.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The location is perfect . It is near many tourist spots and night market. The Kong River is just across the road. Using the stairs down to the river, there is boat service. The ride for one hour cost us around 400 Baht (approx 12-13 USD).

For the room, since we were three persons together, they arranged big room on the second floor for us. The room was clean and neat. Everything worked well except WIFI signal. The WIFI signal was very weak.

Breakfast was provided. They would prepare for one by one so it would take such a long time. Please be prepared if you have early plan.

Staffs were very friendly and service mind. They tried to give us the best service.

Overall were great!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jum_ruji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This place is right on the riverside, just behind the National Meseum, theatre and walking street so it is ideally located.

The rooms was not great - no external windows, a bit cramped, but they did have tea/coffee and internet.

The staff were great, especially Mike on reception.

Breakfast was an issue. The service was painfully slow and there was no menu to order from.

Note: they can aslo book transfers and tours on reception which I found very useful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
283 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#10 of 71 in Luang Prabang
839 reviews
0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 71 in Luang Prabang
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria

Address: Mekong River Road (next to museum), Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Hotel Class:3 star — Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mekong Holiday Villa is just right at the center of Luang Prabang, the world heritage town, next to Royal Palace. It's 3 minutes by walking to night market and post office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mekong Holiday Villa by Xandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing