We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expert recommendations and a lovely room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aham Corner Guesthouse (Aussie Sports Bar & Guesthouse)
Ranked #72 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expert recommendations and a lovely room”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We, like many other reviewers, extended our stay in Luang Prabang because we loved this guesthouse. You can only book directly with them and not through any booking website, so after a quick internet search I found the email address: aussiesportsbar_luangprabang@yahoo.com
After we arrived, John's tips on what to see, where to eat and how to get around were all spot on.
The room was great! We were upstairs and enjoyed hanging out on the common terrace. You can hear the motorbikes and tuktuks speeding by in the morning as the town comes alive- but that's a small price to pay to be in such a convenient location.
Be sure to have a meal there too if you tire of Asian food--you can taste the yummy homemade Baileys drink too. Thanks again John! Gracias

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PatoPatoPato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    13
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
25
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
342 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here by chance as there was some goof up in the hotel we had reserved and they accommodated us here instead. What a lucky find. Good sized and comfortable room, great location where you can watch tak bat from. If you make it in time, you can watch the first alms of the day with hymns being recited a few steps ahead of the hotel. Staff was courteous, efficient and prompt.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldiscoverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent 2 nights here and loved everything about this place! Perfect location, clean room (we were upgraded for free due to a cancellation and the owner's kindness) and a huge bathroom. We ate dinner here and it was very good as well, with excellent service. But, what sets this place apart is the owner, John. He is SO kind and beyond helpful. When I arrived, I had been dealing with food poisoning for 3 days and wasn't getting better. He told me immediately what kind of medication I needed and then gave me several pills to get started! He was right, my own antibiotics, prescribed by my MD in the US, did not touch whatever I had and if it hadn't been for John, I might have been sick for another week, or longer!!! He was so friendly and helpful in every way. An added bonus, the monks in the morning are visible from the balcony upstairs, you don't have to leave the guesthouse to see them! Highly recommended place to stay in Luang Prabang!

Visited December 2013

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a slightly larger room, with a very nice bathroom! I believe it was room #4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelforfunSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

After arriving in Luang Prabang we were surprised to find a place that was showing the All Black Ireland rugby match. Once there we didn't leave. John the owner went out of his way on a daily basis to help us out with anything we needed. Nice and clean accommodation, good food and the hospitality shown to us by John and his friendly staff made our stay at the Aham Corner Guesthouse definitely one I would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Phil_S937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

It was such a warm welcome when I arrived in this guesthouse. The people, the place, the room!
You might think: 'hm, Aussies, sports, Western food? Do I want that on my trip to Asia?'. Yes, you do! John, his wife and staff will do everything to let you have the best stay in this beautiful city. The bedrooms are beautiful, cozy, spacy, all made of dark wood and they have a rain shower!!
Try to make a choice looking at the menu card, I dare you to pick what you want within the minute. You can't, it is all so good! Do try the fish and chips and the Kakkadew stew.
Yes, at this Aussie you pay a bit more then you might in another guesthouse. But come on! Treat yourself to the best stay at the most beautiful spot you will find in LP.
If you have your doubts, just drop by. Have the staff let you show the rooms. Have a chat with John. Taste his food. You know that you are home.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nickyjansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

You don't get any rooms as good as these for the same price.
The staff is welcoming and very friendly! The rooms are fashionable and clean with lots of light.
There's no doubt about it. This must be the best place to stay in Luang Prabang within this price range.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanTorvald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Run by Aussie, John Crozier, and his lovely wife, Jenny, the Aussie Sports Bar offers rooms in a lovely, traditional old teak building. Free wifi, clean, comfy beds and a bar with pub meals available downstairs. It's in a great spot to walk to all the best haunts and John is a charming and extremely helpful host.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#33 of 69 in Luang Prabang
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khongsavath Guesthouse
Khongsavath Guesthouse
#63 of 260 in Luang Prabang
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#47 of 260 in Luang Prabang
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 260 in Luang Prabang
496 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aham Corner Guesthouse (Aussie Sports Bar & Guesthouse)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aham Corner Guesthouse (Aussie Sports Bar & Guesthouse)

Property: Aham Corner Guesthouse (Aussie Sports Bar & Guesthouse)
Address: Ban Aham, Sisouphan Rd, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique guesthouse is situated in the heart of the old town at the base of Mt. Phousi. Several entertainment venues are within 100 metres. The guesthouse is an original Lao/French 2 story building dating back to the early 20th century. There are 3 large double rooms upstairs surrounded by wide spacious verandahs and a further 2 bedrooms on the ground floor. The guesthouse mainly caters for the mid range traveller. The rooms are beautifully furnished with all mod cons including LCD screen, fridge, reverse cycle a/c, twin showers and comfortable bedding. In June 2014 an adjoining Guesthouse was purchased and refitted to cater for the more budget minded traveller. There are 3 downstairs rooms with full ensuite and fan only. Upstairs there are four more rooms with full ensuite, fan, a/c and t.V. Reception is from 7am until 11.30Pm and overnight security service is provided. A sports bar providing direct satellite coverage of most world sporting events is on the ground floor. An adjoining modern restaurant serves western cuisine from 7am until 10.45Pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aham Corner Guesthouse (Aussie Sports Bar & Guesthouse) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing