We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful rooms but consider location”
Review of Lao Lu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lao Lu Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delightful rooms but consider location”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here off and on for quite a few nights while going off on various trips. Overall, it was good.

On the plus side, the rooms are very nice. They're modern, clean and have a sense of character. The whole place is very charming.

The best way to get around is by bike. It is however cheaper to rent a bike from down the road rather than through the hotel, which seems an unnecessary mark-up.

The location is good in terms of access to the markets. However, most of the bars and restaurants are located near the river the other end of town (near Utopia bar). The Main Street is near though... I guess it depends on what you want.

Finally, the staff.... One of the guys is very friendly and helpful (Carlo I think, but I may have got that wrong). I'm not sure if the other guys wants to be there though! When leaving for the airport, I discovered that another guest was on the same flight as me and we were leaving the hotel at the same time. It would have been helpful if the staff had advised us of this so we could have shared the transport. Despite realising that this was the case an hour before leaving, they still wouldn't let us cancel one of the vehicles... Less commission I guess!

On return to Luang Prabang I'd probably try somewhere else at the other end of town.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    85
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
104
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at Lao Lu Lodge for the first 2 nights of our trip to Laos and enjoyed it so much we booked it for the last 2 nights as well.
All the staff members are friendly, speak English very well, and genuinely want to make your stay pleasant. We loved the free breakfast and considered it was the best during our stay in Laos. Every morning we found a different type of delicious snack on offer, in addition to the delicious baguette, egg, salad, fruit and jam.
The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Free water, tea and coffee offered all day, as well as free internet which was the most reliable we had experience during our holiday.
The only thing, I believe, that would improve this establishment would be a small fridge in the room.
The guesthouse is located in a quiet lane between the river and the morning market street. The next street over is the main street with the night market and restaurants. Between these two streets is the Night Buffet where you can help yourself to as much as you can eat for around 10,000kip per plate (with many vegetarian options to choose from).
Next time we visit Luang Prabang, we will most certainly stay at Lao Lu Lodge. Well done to staff and management and thank you for making our stay most enjoyable.
Helpful Hint:
Look for Joint Development Bank for ATM withdrawals as there is no charge (all others will charge 20,000kip per transaction). Maximum withdrawal is 1,000,000kip but you can withdrawal up to 5 times per day (maximum per day is 5,000,000kip). Even though it is an ATM, it follows the bank hours so you can only use it Mon - Fri from 8.30am - 3.30pm. so you need to get your act together if you want to take advantage of the freebie. You will find an JDB ATM in the main street next to the library.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armandapanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knesselare, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The location in great. Right near the river, next street down to the morning market and 2 streets away from the main street where the night market is. But the greatest part of the location is that it is quiet! We slept well, except for a gekko that sang his little song for us now and then. The staff is very friendly and speak good English. Khao helped us out with booking day trips to the Waterfall, he organised our trip to and from the airport. He answers emails very quickly too. We had a very nice airy room on the first floor. Breakfast was sufficient and with a few variations. We stayed for 4 nights. Luang Prabang is a very nice place, laid back and easy to get around as it is small and well laid out. Renting a bike is a good thing for a day exploring the little town. Guest houses in Luang Prabaang are all a bit more expensive than in Thailand, but you must shop around to get the best for your dollars. We were very satisfied with our choice and would recommend it to anyone wanting a simple but clean and friendly place to relax and stay. If you walk down the street towards the river you get to the great value BBQ restaurant. We went twice, all you can eat for 60000 Kip a person. (Beer was 20000 kip a big bottle).Can't beat that and good clean safe food too.

Room Tip: First floor is usually a bit airier, but in the cooler season I am sure the ground floor is fine. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotters01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here twice, our two stays separated by a short side trip to Sayaboury and they let us leave our luggage there with no hesitation. The Lao Lu Lodge is a very nice and nicely decorated place in the quiet center of Luang Prabang, close to everything on foot if somewhat hard to find at first if you don´t know the little alleys well. We stayed upstairs and then downstairs and liked the downstairs option better, especially because the water pressure upstairs was simply too low. The breakfast are basic, but tasty and the staff, especially Mr Kao, is very nice and friendly. Mr Kao deserves a special mention though. He works crazy long shifts and still is able to greet you with jokes and a sincere smile, what a guy! He surely made me give the extra fifth star and if I had a guesthouse I would hire him straight away! Thanks for you kindness!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marckid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We could not have chosen a better place to explore LP. Located right next to the day and night market, the Mekong, and almost anywhere - this little hotel really makes you feel at home in Laos. The room was very comfortable with fantastic beds, and we loved having breakfast in the sunny garden. Coffee and tea offered all day at the reception. Friendly staff willing to help with travel arrangements. The only downside was the bathroom with no 'shower wall' but this is usual in SEA. We stayed in the room downstairs and were not really bothered by the noise - but if you can book upstairs indeed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oeilaiguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The room was clean and cosy - make sure you get one on the upper floor. Sleep quality was very good, due to a quiet neighbourhood. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. Pricey but good value - 32$ for a doubleroom per night.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5months2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The rooms are clean and relatively quiet with regard to exterior noise. However, because of the location near the 5:30am monks procession (and this may be true with many other hotels too), your fellow lodgers may be up with the birds and they aren’t always as considerate as they should be (it seems to be a favorite with Chinese groups, at least when we were there around the Chinese new year). The lodge is next to the palace but a 10-15 minute walk to the rest of the historic downtown and good cafes/restaurants, and although you are close to the river, it’s not in a particularly scenic area. Hot water is provided at reception so you can make instant coffee or tea. The internet connection is unreliable. Also, be forewarned that the bathroom is so small that there is no separate shower area: You stand in the shower to use the sink, which means water everywhere if someone has showered. The usual developing country toilet situation - no toilet paper should be flushed.

On the plus side, staff is very polite and helpful, and willing to call restaurants to make reservations. (One warning is that their local map shows some restaurants in the wrong locations.)

Overall, the lodge is inexpensive and not bad, but on balance we would try something else next time, and in the older section of town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2trvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#32 of 69 in Luang Prabang
213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lao Lu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Lu Lodge

Property: Lao Lu Lodge
Address: Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lao Lu Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lao Lu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing