We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Villa Meuang Lao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Meuang Lao
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Very good value compares to others hotels in Luang Prabang. Rooms are cleans and big enough. Close walk to the Mekong River. I would definitely recommend this place to all my friends who plan holidays in Laos.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALEX C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

Luang Prabang seems to have two kinds of hotels, the overpriced ones that claim they are 4-5 stars and the budget backpacker guesthouses that cater to different tastes. Doing a little research I stumbled on Villa Meuang a lucky find, if you are looking for a clean hotel room with private bath and do not want to pay for the overpriced hotel rates in LP then Villa Meuang is your choice. The hotel is relatively new, the rooms are very basic but clean, private, the A/C works great and the location is superb within a few minutes from the main action/night bazaar etc. do not expect a 3 star resort this is a basic small family run business and be advised due to its newness many tuck-tuck drivers still have a hard time finding the place. The hotel does not serve breakfast and the staff has a limited grasp of English but they are not show stoppers, the only negative was that the TV(in your room) channels have very poor reception, the hotel staff indicated it was the satellite signal. If visiting LP again Villa Meuang will be my choice.

Room Tip: Non issue with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cruisinbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and for the price I thought it was excellent. Recently built and beautiful rooms that reflect Luang Prabang. Close walk to the centre, Mekong River, Mt Phusae and markets. Only flaw is that they don't serve breakfast, but with nice bakeries in the town, it's not all that important. In comparison to other hotels this one is unbelievably cheap. I would definitely recommend your stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joneill19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel is the best one among the four I have stayed in my 8-day Laos trip. It's accessible by 3 min walk from the main road Sisavangvong Road where night market and morning almsgiving ceremony are, but this short distance is dark at night, shabby, messy and dirty especially after the morning market finished when lots of debris were left behind with flies. I would have given rating 5 to this hotel had the neighbourhood been tidy and clean.

Hotel itself is good, an oasis. Staff's appearance handsome and tidy (this is rare as I observed in Laos, ha!), friendly and speaks English well. Room clean, spacious, bed comfy, 2 water daily, air con cool and quiet, TV channels plenty. Price is excellent USD27 per night via Agoda (my room is standard twin).

It may not be easy to locate this hotel for the first time. From the main road Sisavongvong Road, enter into the side road Sathoutan Road which is between the National Museum and Vat Mai. Walk passed Ramayana Boutique Hotel and turn left (you now begin to be in the shabby dirty area). A few steps more, you will see the hotel sign at a junction pointing you to the lane on your right hand side where the hotel is.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissHK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

A very nice and quiet hotel in the center of Luang Prabang. This family-run hotel in actually located in the small quiet street, away from the busy streets. As many before me already mentioned. The location is simple great ! you are in the middle of the town, yet in a quiet area. The price is perfect and the quality of sleep is excellent. Once you're dead tired of roaming around the whole day, I can tell you, you will feel happy and comfortable in your room.

Although I have spotted much nicer hotels around (of course at much higher prices), I could personally recommend this small hotel as it offers a high value for money. One thing though, this hotel has no restaurant. So, no breakfast or dinner. They do offer free coffee and tea. But don't worry, 2 minutes away, there are hundreds of small street restaurants offering whatever your heart desires: from pizza, to Lao food, to even a Mochachino if you want to.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Dr_MAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

We were really impressed with the hotel. It seems really new and clean. The room was perfect, everything (ac,shower,etc.) worked perfectly. Location is great, about 2 mins walk to the main street or 1 to the mekong. We went all around luang prabang and villa meuang Lao looked way nicer than every other guesthouse!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anilchavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel is perfectly located between the Mekong and Sisavangvong Road. The room is clean and spacious with bread, coffee, and eggs for breakfast. The staff is otherwise indifferent,lying around on sofas watching Thai soaps so don't rely on them for any sort of assistance with travel or dinner plans, and you'll have to walk down to the Mekong to get a tuk-tuk to the airport.
Make sure your tuk-tuk driver drops you off at the right hotel - I saw three hotels and had two drivers before getting to this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EydneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#24 of 71 in Luang Prabang
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#40 of 71 in Luang Prabang
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#39 of 71 in Luang Prabang
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 71 in Luang Prabang
904 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
#38 of 71 in Luang Prabang
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Meuang Lao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Meuang Lao

Address: Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £29 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Meuang Lao 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Meuang Lao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing