We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this guesthouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Meuang Lao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Meuang Lao
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love this guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Perfect location.The river, market and the alms giving ceremony just nearby.Our room was big with two beds,a/c, hot water and very clean.We sat in the balcony for a couple of hours and it was quiet and lovely we feel that we were really on holiday no stress.We booked for two nights but stayed for three as we really liked it.Staff were friendly and helpful and there is a free coffee downstairs.No breakfast but there's a lot of restaurants around.For the price its unbeatable.Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badsnickerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    92
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
89
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Very nice little hotel near everything in Luang Prabang. You can walk everywhere very easily, which is a big plus in Luang Prabang.
Large room with all the confort needed, airco, large confortable bed, clean bathroom, hot water (not always garanteed in Laos) .
The owner ?/receptionist speaks excellent english and gives very helpful hints.
No breakfast, but there are plenty places very near. There is complementary tea/coffee at the reception all day.
Excellent value for a very modest price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pajole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampang, Thailand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

After a long bus trip from Lampang we arrived here early and were met with tea and coffee, most welcome. We were able to check in early, again most welcome and the hot shower was bliss.

The room was great, quiet clean and spacious with good lighting and natural light. We had to move after 2 nights, we knew this in advance, the second room was slightly smaller but no less delightful. The owner/manager is an excellent photographer and his photos are placed throughout the hotel, his English is excellent, thank you BBC.

This hotel is close to the main market but on a quiet side street. stroll to the market and stroll to the river and restaurants.

Advice on where to go, where to eat and what to see was spot-on.

The free tea coffee bananas and rice cake a pleasant addition.

My rented bike was taken inside at night, which I appreciated.

Cheap by Luang Prabang standards; this is not a cheap town.

Nothing not to like at this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Really enjoyed staying here. As others have said, perfect location and good comfy rooms.
Air con slightly noisy but you do need it. Shower and bathroom is OK but Mossy screens in Bathroom need replacing really - a bit taped up but in January, no big issue.
Friendly staff and comfy bed at very reasonable price.
Would stay here again. Loved Luang Prabang - well worth a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike0467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashleymartabano
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

For an expensive city, villa meuanglao was very budget friendly and all I was looking for was good wifi, working ac and a hot shower and it easily provided all three. The staff were so friendly as well. They also provided complimentary coffee, tea, bananas and rice cake snacks in the lobby all day which was helpful. The location really couldn't be beat. Very quiet but literally steps from the morning vegetable and fish market and night market, half a block from the mekong and national museum, as well as being a few blocks from the alms giving ritual. I would definitely stay there again. Because they leave the shutters and windows open when rooms are empty, sometimes there are a few Mosquitos in the room on arrival, but it wasn't any kind of problem. Similarly, when I left a cup of coffee out overnight, the next morning there were maybe 10 note sized bugs on and around the cup but when I wiped those out they were gone. Clearly not any kind of problem there and more my own fault than anything. Otherwise it was clean, spacious, quaint and wonderful. I still unquestionably recommend the hotel to anyone headed to lp.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleymartabano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

As everyone else has said, this is a great place to stay in Luang Prabang. Most importantly for us it was extremely quiet. The room was comfortable and the shutters meant that it was completely dark at nice which was great.

The location was excellent, just a couple of minutes walk away from everything and right next to the morning market. After the market, the street was a little dirty but if you wanted to avoid that it would be easy to walk the other way out of the guesthouse.

The only problem with this place is that the shower was not so good. However, it was good value for money and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This place is rated as one of the best value guesthouses in Luang Prabang and it deserves its reputation.
Its located up a small dead end road off the main Mekong River road only a block or so from the National Museum complex, so very central but quiet.
The room was very spacious with a large flat screen TV and ceiling fan as well as AC. The bathroom was particularly nice with a partition separating the shower and a counter around the sink - two features very much appreciated.
The bed had a wonderful duvet and was very comfortable.
The rooms are modern with tiled floors, but there are nice decorative touches to soften the feel.
The front desk clerk spoke good English and was helpful. I wanted to stay on longer but alas, the place was booked up. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emptynester48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#34 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#36 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namkhan Riverside Hotel
Namkhan Riverside Hotel
#40 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Meuang Lao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Meuang Lao

Property: Villa Meuang Lao
Address: Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Meuang Lao 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Meuang Lao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing