We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely location, great food”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Went here for dinner one day while staying in luang prabang. Amazing food and really friendly staff. Amazing view.

Staying here for sure the next time I'm in Laos.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VaruniV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for visiting Kitchen by the Mekong & taking time write a review ! These comments will boost our team moral & do better in the future . Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    80
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
62
170
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during our stay in Luang Prabang. The only reason I can think why this hotel is not in the top 5 in Tripadvisor is because it is a new hotel that was only opened in December 2011. As a result the premises is obviously very new and modern but at the same time does not lose the touch of the Palace history.

The location is ideal as it overlooks the Mekong River and very quiet but still walking distance to the hustle and bustle of the night market area. The daily monk alms giving procession also took place right in front of the hotel.

We both ate at the hotel restaurant and it was great - we were also treated to a special menu that was organised by the general manager Mr Srilal which was typical of the friendly and accomodating nature of their staff. The entire staff always had a smile on their face which was refreshing to see and as mentioned above, special mention to the General Manager Mr Srilal and the hotel engineer who made our stay very comfortable and ensured all our requests were met.

We both also used the spa one day and were very satisified.

Overall if staying in Luang Prabang, staying at the Xiengthong Palace is a must.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank prabu1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your review, these comments will keep us moving towards better heights. Looking forward to welcome you again to Xiengthong Palace !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The hotel is stuning. The service is perfect. Staff are really friendly and helpfull. Everything for small children is available, high chair, baby cot, etc...
The best place to stay in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 222Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your comments & compliments ! These comments will bring our teams motivation levels high. Thank you ! Looking forward to welcome you again to Xiengthong Palace !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Xienthong Palace is a very nice hotel. Breakfast was good, service was good, maybe not a 5 star hotel but certainly 4 +. The weather wasn't great but the staff always made sure that we had an umbrella. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Suite. It was an interesting and well designed room. Ask for an upgrade. The staff se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Siam-Orchids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for valuble comments, Your comments 'll be defineatly bring some motivation & encouragement to our team for us to bring this to 5 star deluxe hotel . Looking forward to welcome you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang, Laos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Lovely hotel, staff friendly and very helpful. Spa treatments were amazing. Mekong Kitchen, food very good and service impeccable.

Would recommend this hotel for your stay in Laos.

Room Tip: We had a suite overlooking the Mekong River, very large well air conditioned and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank glenn311057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review Your comments make us motivated & energized. Looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again. The rooms that are facing Mekong are 3 Mekong suites & the two Palace deluxe rooms; Rooms from the original Palace rooms of the Last King of Laos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

What a relaxing week end between the most beautifull Temple on the Peninsula and The Mekong River.

The Staff were all charming and usefull.

We tried the restaurant 2 times and the Lady Laos Chef made sure that we enjoyed it all...and we did. It was excellent!

Room Tip: Mekong Suite facing the Mekong and next to the Restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soapopera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review ! These comments make us happy & motivated. Looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong palace again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We were a family of 6 people and stayed at Xiengthong Palace for 2 nights in May. This is truely a beautiful hotel and one of the best in Luang Prabang. We were greeted by the General Manager-Mr. Gamunu and his team upon our check in & check out-What's A Special Touch!!! Since, we have 2 kids ( 7 & 10 years sons), they upgraded us to the Mekong Suite-which is spacious and the room is very clean. We love the small little things that they added into the rooms-the flowers on the beds, small bamboo fishing traps as the gifts for the kids and daily fruits basket in the room. Their team has really made our stay very memorable. We also ended up having 2 lovely meals at the hotel (lunch & dinner). Again, the sous chef came to talk to us and we really gave her the credit for making sure that everything is going well. The foods were all delicious!!! We strongly recommended Both-Xiengthong Palace Hotel & their Kitchen by the Mekong Restaurant to everyone who comes to Luang Prabang. What's a Special Treat, WE HAD!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TPanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your excellents comments, Hope your children will take back home the memories of charming Luang Prabang & the beauty of Xiengthong Palace. Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
794 reviews
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
727 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
622 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#5 of 69 in Luang Prabang
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Xiengthong Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Xiengthong Palace

Property: Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Address: Kounxoau Road, Ban Phonehueng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Xiengthong Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Luang Prabang, surrounded by the golden spires of the town’s famous Buddhist temples is Victoria Xiengthong Palace, the last residence of the Laos Royal Family. This beautiful boutique property has been lovingly restored to its former glory, and once more sits proudly on the banks of the Mekong River. The 26 elegantly appointed rooms and suites capture the essence of Laos’ unique culture and style, with local materials and fabrics used throughout. Look out upon the majestic Wat Xiengthong – the town’s most famous temple, or simply sit back and soak up the ambience of this UNESCO protected palace, the perfect place to discover the wonder and charm of Luang Prabang – the Jewel of Indochina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Xiengthong Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing