We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service, great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, great facilities”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The Xiengthong Palace is located right next to the Mekong river, right in the middle of the old part of Luang Prabang. All the sites are within easy walking distance.

The staff is very attentive and friendly. Always willing to help, and welcoming you with a smile. The director, who comes from Spain, greeted the guests during breakfast time and provided us with very interesting information about Laos (difficult to have obtained from anyone else!). He does a great job!!

Rooms and facilities are very good. We even got an upgrade to a suite, as we were travelling in a party of three.

Breakfasts are sumptuous and delicious. You can sit in the gardens with views over the Mekong, which is just around 10 metres away from you. Could not be more romantic!

I would definitely recommend the Xiengthong Palace to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanarioViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo B, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear CanarioViajero,

Sabaidee! Warm greetings from Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you for your lovely comment, I am glad to read another review from another satisfied guest. Indeed the Mekong river is just in front of us, and travellers can experience it at its highest water level during summer months, or as from now on with a low level which makes sand-bannks appear, where locals grow vegetables or enjoy a freshly made green papaya salad during sunset.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and with best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    80
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
62
170
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We arrived as part of a group and we all had wonderful rooms. We had a suite which overlooked the street but it was still a nice view because you could see the river. Staff were excellent, food was excellent, in fact everything about this hotel was excellent. The Spanish manager was also very attentive he should be very proud of his staff. Our only disappointment was that we were only their for two days, we will be back in the not too distant future. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo B, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Barbara R,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you very much indeed for your review and for having taken the time to share it with our future visitors. I am delighted to read your comments and to see you enjoyed your stay at our property. Indeed I am very proud of the hotel team, comprised mostly of Laotian youth.

As you say, Luang Prabang deserves a long visit. Not only because of all the attractions, which are many, but also in order to allow the traveller to truly feel the city, learn and enjoy the Lao relaxed way of life, participate in community events, explore, or just relax as time goes by in this little jewel along the Mekong river.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, and with best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angaston, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Absolutely everything about this beyond 5 star hotel makes it easily the best place to stay in Luang Prabang. The hotel is beautiful, the location is fantastic and well situated and close to everything you could ever want, the rooms are beautifully appointed but it is the staff that are simply the best! There was nothing that was too difficult for them - all of our requests for assistance, advice, bookings, transfers and anything else, were rapidly met above and beyond expectation. Noi in particular was the most beautiful and helpful girl who ensured we were looked after impeccably. The town itself and its surrounding countryside warrant lots of exploring - and the hotel ensured we were able to do this comfortably and affordably. If this hotel was elsewhere in Asia, you would pay a lot more. Congrats to the hotel team for a wonderful stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: The Mekong Suites are an upgrade worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo B, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Stuey B,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Xiengthong Palace!

It was a pleasure to greet you during your recent stay in our property, and it is a pleasure to read your comments on TripAdvisor, comments that I have shared with our team. Everyday we try to improve, by learning new things and by inspiring our local team to provide their best. We sometimes struggle, like everybody else, but I am glad to hear and read the recognition from our customers, as so are the team members.

We have three Mekong Suites, as well as six Grand Suites which are a nice upgrade for our guests, each category with its own character but within the hotel Lao contemporary style, representing luxury amidst tranquility.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Luang Prabang and to Xiengthong Palace!

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed in August for 2 nights on the first occasion and then returned following a couple of nights in a eco lodge further up the river. Staff were great - check in was incredible efficient and the lady on the desk when we checked in had prefect English and very friendly. The room was very spacious, comfortable bed, great air conditioning and Wi-Fi great most of the time. The couple of things that didn't quite work sometimes like hot water, Wi-Fi and occasional power loss are all part of the Laos experience and the inconvenience always short lived.
The staff in the bar/restaurant were so lovely and always keen for a chat which was nice. Even the chef's were often around and really interesting to chat to. Food was good quality.
Only very tiny complaint is the room was a little overpowering with citronella on our first night.
We borrowed the bikes for the day and toured the town - was the best way to do this. I was a little nervous (not a confident rider) on the bamboo bikes and they found a bike I was more comfortable with and it was a great ride - the others also said the bamboo bikes were great. Nice gentle walk for cafes and the night market at night.
Would stay here again is we return to Luang Prabang

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellou33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo B, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Mellou33,

Sabaidee and warm greetings from Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you for your comprehensive review of our property, staff and services, and for having shared your thoughts with the TripAdvisor readers. And also thank you for having selected our hotel for your stay in Luang Prabang.

I have shared your comments with our team members, as the international recognition of TripAdvisor reviews really motivate our people. I also take good note of your remark regarding the lemongrass / citronella scent and will follow up with our Housekeeper.

It will be a pleasure to say "welcome back" to you in the future, if ever you return to Luang Prabang.

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Laos was not exactly a place we usually go to, but we were glad we did. There was so much unearthed gems in this country and this hotel was one of them. It was a luxurious getaway, yet we were experiencing that inside an uncluttered, non-attention seeking designed hotel. The aesthetics was perfect. The amount of vegetation brings a light feel to the experience and the vibe of the hotel. It was complemented with the crisp linen and the fresh and clean rooms that we were assigned to. We had a small balcony where we could have a great view of the property. It was tranquil and quite spiritual if I should say. Truly lifechanging.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha_8AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo B, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Marsha_8AL,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our property and in Luang Prabang with the online community. I am delighted to read you decided to come to Laos, a lovely country with plenty of things to discover and enjoy.

Your comments help us in continuing giving our best to our customers, and I am glad you appreciated the design and relaxed character of the hotel.

I look forward to having the chance of welcoming you back in the near future, if ever your plans include another visit to the lovely Luang Prabang.

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Xiengthong Palace and loved it. The hotel is beautiful and the location is perfect - right where you would want to be in Luang Prabang, but it was the staff that made it so special. There was some rather severe weather when we went so we confirmed our plane was departing as scheduled. Despite this, our plane and the subsequent plane we were on were cancelled, which meant we found ourselves at the airport after waiting around for about 6 hours. This is apparently very unusual and has never happened before. Anyway, we phoned Xienthong Palace who told us to come back, they found us another lovely room and the next day gave us a delayed checkout so we could relax properly until our 2nd attempted departure - and all for the same rate we had paid before rather than the walk-in price! All was well second day round and we departed on time. But I will never forget the kindness of the staff when we came back from the airport feeling tired and hungry after the flight cancellations - it felt like we were coming back home! I would highly recommend this hotel, it just goes that extra step which makes it unique. A big thanks to Guillermo and his team for looking after us so well. Cop jai la la!

Room Tip: The downstairs balconies are covered so go for those in the rainy season, the upstairs bedrooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dulwich_bhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo B, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Customer,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Xiengthong Palace in sunny Luang Prabang!

Thank you very much for your review and your comments about our team. I am glad to hear you finally made it home safe and sound. Indeed flight cancellations are very rare. I trust you had a nice stay in lovely Luang Prabang and you enjoyed your time at our property.

Looking forward to having the chance of welcoming you back soon, and with best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahway, NJ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I agree with all the positive reviews of this hotel with one exception: lack of hot water. At a hotel of this caliber, there should be hot water in the shower. We stayed in a standard room and are not finicky travelers. Did not expect powerful water flow, but the hot water was either non-existent or just trickled out of the showerhead with a one-time exception when all of a sudden it came on, albeit lukewarm at best.

Otherwise, the hotel is superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahwayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo B, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Xiengthong Palace in Luang Prabang!

I would like to thank you for having shared your comments about your recent stay in our property, and I apologise for the inconvenience encountered with the hot water. We have experienced some issues which are now solved, and we keep on working to improve our services and to avoid this type of things to happen again in the future.

I trust you had a nice stay and a lovely time in Luang Prabang, and I look forward to maybe welcoming you in the future shall your travel plans drive you again to Laos.

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
794 reviews
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
727 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
622 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#5 of 69 in Luang Prabang
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Xiengthong Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Xiengthong Palace

Property: Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Address: Kounxoau Road, Ban Phonehueng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Xiengthong Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Luang Prabang, surrounded by the golden spires of the town’s famous Buddhist temples is Victoria Xiengthong Palace, the last residence of the Laos Royal Family. This beautiful boutique property has been lovingly restored to its former glory, and once more sits proudly on the banks of the Mekong River. The 26 elegantly appointed rooms and suites capture the essence of Laos’ unique culture and style, with local materials and fabrics used throughout. Look out upon the majestic Wat Xiengthong – the town’s most famous temple, or simply sit back and soak up the ambience of this UNESCO protected palace, the perfect place to discover the wonder and charm of Luang Prabang – the Jewel of Indochina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Xiengthong Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing