We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extra Special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Xiengthong Palace

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Extra Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Facing the famed Mekong River, located in a former palace, this boutique hotel maintains a royal standard by providing the extras that make the difference between average and superb. Even before we arrived, we received several welcoming emails confirming our reservation over the New Year holiday plus one inviting us to the hotel's complimentary gala celebration. The evening began with a cocktail reception that featured a performance of traditional music and dance and continued with a carefully prepared, five course gourmet meal.

While the dinner was a grand gesture, it was the little touches that meant even more. In addition to the celebration, we received a keepsake of Laotian art. Then there was the daily breakfast buffet that included homemade specialties and a variety of delicious hot and cold dishes to cater to the diverse tastes of its international guests. Even on cool mornings, it was possible to dine on the terrace facing the river -- braziers filled with burning embers kept us warm and comfy.

All upscale hotels provide robes, slippers, luxury toiletries and turn down service, but here, instead of just candy on the pillow, there was a tiny, handmade straw artifact - a rice basket, a sea weed catcher - all with a card that said hanging it on your door would bring prosperity to your home. Every evening, the staff also placed a unique device in the room that kept away insects and other critters.

Another big plus is that at sunrise every morning, on the street behind the hotel, there's a parade of saffron robed monks carrying bowls to receive offerings from the local people and tourists who want to participate in the ritual. (Hint: Do not miss this once-in-a-lifetime experience.)

On the surface, the hotel has everything we require: location combined with a competent and generous staff, a pleasing atmosphere, tasteful, comfortable furnishings and a well maintained property. But here, it was the little touches that really enhanced our experience and made it so extra special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winger2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Winger2010,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

I am delighted to read your review, and I thank you for having taken the time to publish it on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to read your comments and see how much you enjoyed staying at our property, the little gifts, the dinners and our service.

As and advice for our future travellers, indeed the monks pass just in front of our hotel every morning. Please, in order to respect this tradition and keep it alive, avoid buying any products offered to you by street vendors, as they turn this tradition into a business, charging tourists awful amounts of money for poor quality things that monks actually don't need. We are lucky to be on a side street in which mainly locals, neighbors, come to offer their sticky rice and other food to the monks every morning, and if we all collaborate this tradition will last long! Of course everybody is welcome to participate in the offering of alms if they want to, let's all try to do it the proper way as I know Winger2010 did.

Thanks again for your review, and I hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    79
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
167
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

It's a toss between excellent and very good; maybe the only thing which stopped me from going to excellent was the decidedly very western menu at the restaurant: hamburgers and fries! Some Lao items -which were excellent; try the stickyrice and banana dessert!- but not too many. That's a pity given the rich Lao cooking tradition. Having said that, for Christmas eve we were treated to a magical cocktailh music, dinner on the terrace overlooking the Mekong -with thousands of lights in the trees- which was delightful and lantern release in the sky! Can't recommend enough for a Christmas evening event!
The room we got was large and very pleasant overlooking the interior garden; fruit plate; little gifts every night taken from Lao culture...Very pleasant staff; bicycles; Very clean. Close to everything...
Great breakfast with delicious little coconut custards, fresh fruits, croissants etc

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer-north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Wanderer-north,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, sharing your experience in the hotel with the online community. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay during Christmas and I will transmit your comments to our team members, as online feedback is a great source of motivation.

I take very good note of your remark concerning the menu. While we also have some great Lao food available on our existing menu, we are developing new Lao Discovery menus which will showcase the delicious Lao food with much more variety.

Looking forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, and with best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights in this wonderful hotel. The hotel staff were so helpful and welcoming. The room we had was large and very comfortable. Wi-fi was connected in the room. The breakfast buffet each morning was delicious. The hotel was close to the Mekong River and also to many restaurants.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony towards the street and we were able to watch the Alms procession each m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Robgab,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience in our property with the TripAdvisor community. I am delighted to read your comments.

The hotel is just facing the Mekong river on one side with Xiengthong Temple right at the corner, and as you say, main street with plenty of dining and shopping options is just two minutes away, making our location very attractive and convenient, as well as quiet.

I wish you will return to this lovely town of Luang Prabang and that the hotel team will be able to say "Welcome back!"

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was so perfect with attention to every detail. We went to our room with the greeting of fresh smelling lemongrass...in the room fruit was presented with folded banana leaves that looked like a crown....The significance was because this hotel was once a palace...the serviet was folded like a dinner jacket on a beautiful square white plate , every night we were given a special miniature hand made gift relating to the area...fishing and being right on the Mekong .We also had been given a tamarand lollie each every night and they were exquisite. The staff were wonderful, the setting was right on the street where the monks take alms, and beside the Mekong...which spoils you for choice of where to eat...food is fresh, and dirt cheap...the town is so beautiful and relaxing...This was my pick for our whole trip of 4 countries.

Room Tip: Get the ones facing the street with a top floor and you can watch the monks go by early in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Rhonda S,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

It is a pleasure to read your comments shared with our future visitors, and I am delighted to see you enjoyed staying in our property. Indeed you can witness the monks procession from some of our rooms, and enjoy the authenticity of this tradition as the locals come out of their houses to give their offerings to the passing monks.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We looked hard into finding the right place for our family of four traveling to Luang Prabang for the first time. The reason we chose this hotel is because of its location, size and history. We are not disappointed. The main reason, however, is because we found our e-mail communication with Ms Noy to be most helpful and reassuring. And she turned out to be the most gracious host, along with GM Guillermo and their entire staff. Located next to the fabulous Wat Xiengthong, and graced by the Mekhong river, almost at the end of the peninsula, it's very convenient and yet tranquil. The grounds are well kept and the rooms impeccable. We stayed in the grand suites; #109 provides more privacy (the whirlpool faces an enclosed garden) and #110 has beautiful view of the property from the balcony. We love the homemade yogurt and chef Rasika's New Year's Eve dinner. They prepared lanterns for us to release to the sky to mark the New Year. Plenty of bottled water, ipod loaded with wonderful music, and bamboo bike rental complete our satisfaction.

We looked at other properties: Burasari Heritage on the Nam Khan side = the rooms seem to be too close to one another, Luang Say Residence and la Residence Phou Vao are both serious contenders, and we would have chosen these for their enticing pools, but their location is further away from the town center (albeit still within very reasonable distance), Kiridara is tempting for its commanding view but again since we travel with our parents, we prefer to be closer to town, and finally Amantaka property looks stunning in a very understated Aman style, but we prefer Xiengthong's riverfront location. Amantaka is situated on a very busy street near Dara market, and it would have cost us much more.

Room Tip: Choose Mekhong suites if you like spacious balcony facing the river. Choose grand suite for more pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigellaCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear NigellaCB,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

It was a pleasure to host you during your stay in Luang Prabang, and I am delighted to read your comments praising our services. I thank you as well for having shared them with the TripAdvisor community.

Just to inform as well our future travellers, the Grand Suites have now renamed to Xiengthong Villa, as part of our integration in Victoria Hotels & Resorts.

We look forward to having the chance of welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

nice location in this relatively small town. as with all of the nicer hotels in these parts (Thailand, Laos, Cambodia), the service is fantastic. every morning the monks (mostly novices, ie <20yrs old) pass by for alms. the tourists line the streets to give them food provided by the locals. it's very interesting. we were able to watch the proceedings from our balcony on the morning that we did not participate. the room was clean and each night they come in to turn down the bed. we happened to be in the room on one occasion and it was very cute to watch. the people are so nice. they have bicycles to rent at a whopping $3 per day! great way to meander around the town taking in all of the life.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank al g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear al g,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you for having shared your comments about your recent stay at our property with our future visitors. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your time in Luang Prabang, and also to read your feedback regarding our team.

Indeed our bicycles are for rent at a price, being really special bicycles handmade with bamboo rather than metal. Luang Prabang, as you say, is a wonderful city to cycle - or just walk - around enjoying the local life.

I look forward to having the chance of welcoming you back soon if your future travel plans take you again to Laos.

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This is a well looked after and carefully preserved boutique hotel. We stayed for a couple of nights, enjoying Christmas Day in this fascinating city.

The hotel is an ex palace as the name suggests and has been lovingly restored to give a wonderful glimpse of its former glory. The rooms are spacious and well planned, with amenities abound. The staff are amazing and very keen to help you get the most of your stay. We had a problem with a lack of hot water and the manager promptly ensured that our stay was not impacted by moving us to another room.

The restaurant overlooks the Mekong River and the quality of the food is as good as you could enjoy in a large city. The hotel is also yards away from the Wat which houses the most amazing architecture and that coupled with the monks who walk by for their morning alms makes this a place to cherish and remember very fondly.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rkgkrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear rkgkrk,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you for your review and comments about your stay, I am glad to read you enjoyed Christmas with us as well as the comments about the hotel team. I regret the inconvenience with hot water during these remarkably and unexpectedly freezing days in Luang Prabang, but I am delighted to see you were satisfied with your second apartment.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future, shall you decide to return to lovely Luang Prabang,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#14 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Xiengthong Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Xiengthong Palace

Property: Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Address: Kounxoau Road, Ban Phonehueng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Xiengthong Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Luang Prabang, surrounded by the golden spires of the town’s famous Buddhist temples is Victoria Xiengthong Palace, the last residence of the Laos Royal Family. This beautiful boutique property has been lovingly restored to its former glory, and once more sits proudly on the banks of the Mekong River. The 26 elegantly appointed rooms and suites capture the essence of Laos’ unique culture and style, with local materials and fabrics used throughout. Look out upon the majestic Wat Xiengthong – the town’s most famous temple, or simply sit back and soak up the ambience of this UNESCO protected palace, the perfect place to discover the wonder and charm of Luang Prabang – the Jewel of Indochina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Victoria Xiengthong Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing